We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the mad rush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krish Rauni Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Krish Rauni Resort to your Saves list
Krish Rauni Resort
45th Milestone (NH22) | PO Matiana, Shimla 171212, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Away from the mad rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well words would fall short of praising the hospitality of the people. It makes you believe that no matter how beautiful your property is . Its the hospitality that makes your stay remembered.
I owe to the owner Vineet who makes you feel like home.
Home cook food and amazingly great place to have a good break away from the mad rush of life.
Me and my wife will be there again.
The view of the place is icing on the cake.
Loads to write but again 5 star in real sense is my feedback.
Go for this place guys rather than waisting your time in the concrete jungle of Shimla

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
88
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I arrived at Krishrauni Resort, along with 6 of my friends, on 22nd June, 2014 at 7 in the evening, after an extremely irritable 11 hour drive from Sangla, which was originally supposed to be of only 6 hours but was extended in collaboration by our driver who was unfamiliar with the roads and bad road conditions. We were all ready to fire Vineet, the owner of Krishrauni, when we reached, for making such bad travel arrangements although he had been constantly in touch with me throughout the drive and even fired the driver once over the phone for halting too much.

However, literally 15 minutes after our arrival, we had not only forgotten our anger but were listening in rapt attention to Vineet's answers to our questions about apple cultivation while sipping on the best apple juice that we had ever tasted. Those of us who were not doing this were exploring the rooms with delight and wonder at having found such an incredible little place apparently in the middle of nowhere. After Vineet left to attend to something else, we even considered postponing our flight tickets so we could extend our stay.

Krishrauni is the kind of place which can transform you magically, as you can see from what happened to us, and make you forget everything else as you marvel at the majestic mountains around you while drinking a hot Bournvita or munching on some freshly made paneer pakoras. Here, we could appreciate the beauty of the Himalayas without experiencing the harsher realities of the mountain life that we faced on the trek. The quaint little rooms, which seem like something out of an Alpine cottage, give you a sense of comfort which make you loathe to leave and the hospitality of Vineet and his staff, and of course Rover, the resort's golden labrador, only enhance this feeling.

Another highlight of our stay at Krishrauni was the dinner by the bonfire that Vineet arranged for us to help us get over our unpleasant journey during the day. Since Krishrauni does not have a separate restaurant, the food for the guests is made specially according our requirements using fresh material. And it is delicious! Our dinner lasted well over an hour, despite the prompt service, as we lounged by the bonfire and savoured each and every dish.

We left Krishrauni the next morning, after a mouthwatering breakfast which included the heavenly apple juice, feeling as we were waking up from a dream and re-entering the real world. I intend to return to Krishrauni next year to show the place to my parents and there is no doubt in my mind that I will be a regular at this property over the years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our stay at Krish Rauni Resort is one to remember. We very much enjoyed the tranquility of the place and the service is just excellent. We actually extended our stay from 2 to 5 nights. This is a good place if you just want to relax and recharge to continue your trip in India. Thank you once again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Right from the time you leave the busy traffic of Shimla behind the drive itself to Krish Rauni is wonderful and soothign experience.

As the milestones go past you, the traffic reduces signficantly and mesmerising sceneic beauty becomes a reality.

Upon arriving at Matiana then owner of Krish Rauni (Vineet) ensuring you reach the resort safely with the help of his continious guidance.

Nestled away in middle of the Apple Orchards its a home away from home.

Shiva (The errand guy) ensures your bags move from your car to thre room and is available to cater to your smallest of needs.

Mr and Mrs Vineet kishore ensure you are looked after and all your needs are fulfilled.

If you are looking for a bustling busy market then this is not a place for you. Any one who wants to spend some time in peace and tranquility must visit the place.

My daughter (7 Yrs ) loved the place especially the little play area for kids. We had lovely time on the terrace every evening once the bon fire was lit.

Overall good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We visited Shimla on our way back from Spiti valley and put up at Krish Rauni on 21st June. The hospitality that we received there is simply out of the world. We were welcomed with fresh apple juice and as Krish Rauni is situated in the apple orchard the property is simply beautiful. The rooms are big and provided with all the facilities that one can ask for. We were accompanied by our parents as well and all of us are extremely satisfied with service provided....do have definite plans to go back and spend some quality time there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

When visiting Shimla and looking for a nice and comfortable place to stay, make sure you don't miss out on Krish Rauni Resort!

Located outside Shimla, it's very calm and quiet which makes it an ideal stop for relaxation.

The slight shortcomings one might find on the luxury part (as there is for example only an 'Indian shower), are more then compensated by the rest: a great kitchen, nice rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.

We were even lucky enough to be invited over for dinner and got to play cricket on the terrace!

Hereby we would like to thank Vineeth & Pryrna again for the great stay we had, and we'll make sure to visit again one day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bikaner, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Homely atmosphere is the apt word for KRISHRAUNI. Excellent place to stay, good food. Hosts Mr .Vineeth Kishore & Mrs. Prerna are very nice couple.They surprised us with a cake on our D day . Shiv,one with a smiling face was helpful. Even the ROVER was friendly and playful with our son. Beautiful valley view, neat & clean place,away from maddening crowd. Feel like coming again with family.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krish Rauni Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krish Rauni Resort

Address: 45th Milestone (NH22) | PO Matiana, Shimla 171212, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a home away from home – since it's managed by a family. Krish Rauni Resort is situated at a height of 8,000 feet at Matiana in Himachal Pradesh. Himachal is a part of the Great Himalayas of India. It is on the Hindustan Tibet Road (NH22) – only 45 kms. ahead of Shimla. As the name suggests it is set amidst an extensive Apple Orchard overlooking a vast valley. It's surrounded by Apple trees, lush green fields of cash crops like potatoes, cauliflower, peas, cabbage etc. Stay at Krish Rauni Resort offers a very different experience altogether. Being situated on the ridge one can enjoy the view of rising sun one side and the grandeur of the setting sun on the other side. There is a huge terrace overlooking the valley. A perfect place to enjoy breakfast under the umbrella and spend hours of leisure sitting under the stars during dinner time. During full moon the valley offers an awesome view under the spell of moon light. Food is cooked and served on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Krish Rauni Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krish Rauni Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.