We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget hotel in Shimla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapil Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kapil Hotel to your Saves list
Kapil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elysium Hill, Bharari Road, Near Jass Radisson | Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best budget hotel in Shimla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room service & location of hotel was very good. Facilities which hotel provided was amazing & not expected. They have also provided 1 day Shimla tour. Food quality was good & especially masala tea was good. Overall it was very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    182
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
181
195
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Good rooms, Excellent view of the hills and snow clad mountains. Good service and cordial staff. Very reasonable. 3.5 star amenities in 2 star rates. Vegeterian Food can be better.
Also the Car I book from the Hotel (Alto) for 5 days was drive by Mr. Dev. Would recommend this person as he is very cordial, knowledgeable and accomodating. He did exactly as we saud yet gave good advice and guidance. Nice Tip with him.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I chose Hotel Kapil after reading reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel certainly does not disappoint both in price and location. It's slightly different in a way that it has very small lobby, but the rooms are of decent size and very clean. The bathrooms were clean too. The staff is always eager to help you and make you feel comfortable. The hotel is only 15 mins away from ridge and the hotel gives you a complimentary drop to a point that's almost halfway to ridge. Local sightseeing can be arranged easily. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, the food is prepared to your liking and served in room. The taste is also quite nice. Overall very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I chose Hotel Kapil after watching the ratings on Trip advisor. The other Top hotels were out of my budget so booked family suite @ Hotel Kapil. True to review the room was excellent, Clean furnishings, Good valley view and clean bathrooms. The Staff was helpful and served mouthwatering food in the room. The hotel is all it takes for a happy stay. The only glitch not on the mall road but believe me its not far either. Just 15 mins walk to ridge.They also arrange for good local sighseeing. Overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I visited whimla with family in june'12. there were a lot of options available to us , but we chose kapil as it had good reviews, affordable accomodation and good views. The family suite is reccomended , especially for families of 4. It is basically a super deluxe room divided into 2 bedrooms . The food on offer is tasty , and has good quantity . The view from this room is VERY GOOD and you can see the Shimla hills and all surrounding areas from here . it is located close to the mall , lakkar bazaar and all other attractions . Although the service wasn't that great , the manager made all possible efforts to make our stay comfortable . It is located a slight distance from the Sanjauli road (the closest main road), and is very quiet at night . although the toilets were not the most comfortable and spacious , i'd reccomend this place for a good family vacation.
P.S : Beware of monkeys!!

Room Tip: If travelling with family , go for the family suite .they have large windows with good views and goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had stayed in this place for 2 days in april 2013 and it was an awesome experience.
we were two of us travelling from delhi overnight by volvo and reached the hotel early in the morning.
we didnt have any hassle in getting a room. This is a small and compact place having just the right needs for a short stay.
The view from the super deluxe room was simply amazing. The staff there are simply down to earth , always had a smile in their face to whatever we had asked.
We had availed the sightseeing package which the hotel had and it was a very nice experience. Not to forget our Cab driver Mr. Dev ( hope I got the name right ) who was very kind and courteous to show us the places . We had actually asked for him only next day also as we very comfortable with him. Hotel serves very nice in-house food and it was very good. The hotel is 5 mins walk from the mall road and in the evening one can take a stroll to the mall road.
hotel is some 15-20 mins from the old ISBT , the taxi cost should be aroun 150-200. The room rates are very reasonable even though it was season time. On the whole this is an amazing place to stay . I am pretty sure I will be staying there the next time also.

Room Tip: Choose the super deluxe with a valley view. nice to place to have a coffee in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in Kapil hotel in the first week of May 2013 for two nights in a deluxe suite. The view from the room was very good. The suite was reasonably big and could accommodate 3 adults and 1 kid. It had TV with cable connections which was good but I would wish some channels like Set Max much more clearer, as it was IPL season. The food was good and price was reasonable. The hotel staff were good and quite helpful. On the day before our departure, my kid who was not feeling well vomited on the bed and the staff cleared the bed and put new bed spreads mattress etc without extra cost to us. I wish there were hotels like Kapil in every city.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite on basement was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapil Hotel

Address: Elysium Hill, Bharari Road, Near Jass Radisson | Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small budget hotel having 15 guest rooms, room service and site seeing arrangements only. Public Areas: The hotel does not have large public areas. In room facilities: The rooms do not have mini fridges. Only the Pent House suite has an attached balcony. 24 hours hot running water available in the washrooms. The rooms are not centrally heated, however we provide complimentary hot water bed bottles for the night and Heat Convector for Rs.200/- per day extra. Dining: We offer in-room dining only as the hotel does not have restaurant space. Both fixed meal plan Menu and Ala Carte menu options are available. Vegetarian and as well as Non-Vegetarian dishes are prepared in our own in house Kitchen. Room Service – 7:30am – 10pmBreakfast – 7:30am – 11:30pmLunch – 12:30pm – 3 pm. Dinner – 7 pm – 10pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Kapil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.