We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Hospitality... Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koti Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Koti Resort to your Saves list
Koti Resort
Village Sadora, Shimla 171007, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Noida, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simple Hospitality... Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Nice resort in the hills... 45 minutes drive further up Simla. Wonderful rooms & view (we stayed in the top category) and the staff is simple and courteous. Ask for a room on the first floor as opposed to the ground floor for better views. Simplicity brings its own charm and homeliness but also means a little falling standard in professionalism. You won't get much advice on what to do, so you should be well prepared before. Staff is laid back. Food quality is nothing to talk about and could certainly improve (perhaps because we were in off-season). As in all "hill" places, costs are higher, so you may not find the place value for money as compared to other places specially in the plains / beaches. Also hope that you don't run into noisy groups that the resort lays emphasis to in its marketing. There is a nice river rafting spot just an hour and a half drive down and you can go for small treks. Or opt for a day spend to Simla. Good for about 3 nights stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on top are better. The highest category have the best view as they are at the corner with a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranbeer, General Manager at Koti Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Dear Sir/Maam
We sincerely appreciate your kind gesture of taking time out & writing your opinion & suggestions on Trip Advisor. Though I regret that your experience was not as good as you expected, but yes certain problems as you have only pointed out yourself are also locational disadvantages. Generally Sir we are known for our food, but I once again regret that we could not live up to your expectations.
Anyway sir! We assure you that if given a chance again we shall for sure give you a much better experience.
Regards
Ranbeer Arya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
20
16
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We had booked our rooms for 13-15 August 2011 for 2 families-we had booked the resort based on the online information provided and had even paid a 20% advance. Unfortunately, the moment we entered the property, we were so disappointed with the unhygenic lobbies, torn carpets, scattered tissues in the hotel lanes and really bad service at the reception that we decided to leave the property at once. My advise would be to not get swayed by the website advertising, the property in reality does not live up to its mark and would not recommend it for a pleasure stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My Friend booked this Hotel through an agent . I was not sure about the Hotel as I had never heard of it before.
The location is a bit (about Half hour or so) off Main Shimla City ie Mal road and all.
But it is worth Traveling that half an hour. The Location is great , Roughly located on a hiil cliff. The Cottages are Spread around the Periphery of the Cliff , with safe distance from it.
The rooms were Good an with proper facilities.
And there is a huge open space where we had a bonfire and DJ which was absolutely amazing

The food is not that great though, rather usual and with limited stuff.
The staff is Polite and Helpful.
Overall a nice place to stay for a Beautiful Location and Fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at Koti over the long Independence day weekend. It was a pleasant and relaxed break ... the property is situated some 20 km further ahead from Shimla and so is very peaceful and far from the crowds. The hills were a lovley lush green thanks to the rains and low clouds were floating by making the surroundings beautiful. The hotel's location is nice and picturesque with good views from the rooms. We stayed in the premier rooms which were very spacious. On the positives, the room was nice and the bathrooms were very clean and modern. They seem to have a good chef although the menu was largely basic, the food (Indian) was very tasty! The staff was quite helpful and would get us our food in the room if we could not go to the restaurant as it was cold and raining and we were travelling with an infant. On the flip side however, the resort needs much better maintenance. The property has a run down appearance with broken window panes in common areas not fixed and discarded furniture dumped in the grounds in open view. The curtain rods came down in our room and the bathroom jacuzzis did not work (as another reviewer mentioned, it is a bad idea to have them in the first place!). It looks as though this property was started off very nicely several years ago but not much money is being pumped back in to keep it up nicely ... that's a pity as it is a pretty little place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I booked this hotel after reading about it on this site. While most aspects have been rated as 4, you may wonder why I have given it an overall 3. To begin with, the hotel promises a heated indoor swimming pool, multiple games for kids. Well the pool was there but the water was in the 20s, not really hot. The games room had a badly maintained TT table and an old carrom board. There was nothing to keep the kids occupied really, even the TV though present, had channels which were mostly fuzzy. The restaurant/room service menu was extensive but most items on the kids menu were not available. The room had a jacuzzi but there were restrictions or water was not available - thus defeating the purpose (but these should not be there to begin with as they are wasteful indulgences in places like this where water availability is problematic. Some of these experiences could be attributed to the fact that we were amongst the only guests throughout our stay, although there are supposed to be more than 50 rooms.

The rooms were well equipped with good facilities and clean,fresh linen. The staff was extremely courteous, cheerful and friendly. The quality of food was very good and the chef must be complimented. Each dish was quite tasty and the helpings size was good too. The rates for the food were also quite reasonable.To make our stay better, the manager did offer to set up a bonfire for us with music on the last night before our check out.

In sum, the Resort is located far from most places and really enjoyable only in a group or if you are a couple wanting time to yourselves.

Room Tip: Good if travelling in a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

good location
virgin hill
pool
garden ends with the hill edge
nice bar
Spa
Cottages are fine

Always prefer Room No. 204 of Cottage. its superb

visit this place with no worries.

my balcony view was avesome

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

To every one reading this..... I visited this property after being refered by a very good friend of mine. We were a extended Group of 5 Families in all 20 heads. Friends to make it short and sweet it was" A HOME AWAY FROM HOME". The property/ The Location my God is so so Apt for a perfect Family Holiday. It was a much better experience than staying in any five star property in Shimla. Their Serive - We were Pampered. Their Food- We put on 3 kgs in 5 days. The one Man who makes the difference is Mr. Ranbeer Arya (GM ) who ensured that all his guests were very very Comfortable. Thank you Mr. Arya. Be rest assured if I ever come back to Shimla it would be to KOTI. Cheers. You have a Great team and Team work WORKS. ( Mr. Bellani- Chennai)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koti Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koti Resort

Address: Village Sadora, Shimla 171007, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koti Resort is a magical hideaway in an extraordinary setting, just 30 minutes ahead of Shimla, on the Mashobra - Naldhera road. Located on a hilltop with the most spectacular panoramic view of the Himalayan ranges, surrounded by forests & apple orchards, makes it the ideal retreat for a family holiday, a romantic honeymoon, or a corporate sojurn. The Resort consists of 54 rooms with all the amenities required to make our guests' stay luxurious and relaxed. Depending on their preferences, guests can use the Resort as a base to explore ancient villages and forest trails, or enjoy the lively Mall road of Shimla and the hidden churches and temples, or even try their hand at adventure sports, which can be arranged by our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Koti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koti Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.