We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice well kept property but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Le Royale to your Saves list
Hotel Le Royale
Jakhoo Road, Behind Church | Shimla Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice well kept property but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night after moving from a poor hotel further down the hill, so it appeared great on first inspection. It was cleaner than most in Shimla but definitely over priced for what you get. We viewed the super deluxe which had great views but was over 1000 rupees more than the deluxe which we went for in the end. (And the view was the only difference from what I could see)

It does have a colonial feel and the interior is smart, the beds are still quite hard and did have a few stains (I don’t think they have any proper washing machine facilities around there so I hoped it was still clean as they prob don’t wash in warm water) But overall it was a good standard compared to the other mid range options around.

It’s located just above the ridge, and has a very steep climb to get to it. The staff were friendly, but the phone call at 10pm to ask if we wanted dinner was a bit annoying as we were fast asleep. The breakfast wasn’t great and again very overpriced, overall we weren’t that impressed with Shimla as we got the impression the locals don’t really like westerners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    6
    4
    11
See reviews for
14
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

We booked a last minute one night stay at Le Royale. The hotel itself looks really nice--it has a sort of colonial feel to it. The rooms are well-decorated and fairly clean (except the sheets, which had stains on them), and the beds are comfortable. The telephone in our room was broken. The best part about the hotel was the service--the staff were friendly and professional, and the manager was very helpful and knowledgeable. The food in the restaurant was also good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

we had been to hotel le royale shimla in the long dusshera weekend...vry nice, cosy place,clean,spacious rooms....its located at the vry top,so the view is fabulous, well maintained bathrooms....24 hr hot water...the staff and manager were very courteous and helpful...its 15 min walk to mall road...the road is quite steep...but its nice walk....quite enjoyed the exercise....wud definitely go back whnevr we plan to visit shimla again...food is one area which needs some improvement....breakfast was good though..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.. Got a room for 1600 / night (no inclusions)... Average room, old TV, old furniture.. not well maintained... Only positive is its location.. it is sitting on top of ridge.. the centre point of Shimla..

Bad Service: My room was not cleaned and I had to explicitly get it serviced after I came back second day. The quality of toiletries was bad too... They were using small medimix soap chips.. which are too bad and sunsilk black shampoo which is too cheap and will leave you hair dumb...

The food prices are on high side and food quality and taste is average....

Not have anything good to say about this hotel...

Room Tip: Dont go for this hotel. It only encashes on its location...but for this hotel.. you have to climb a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights. All staffs and manager are very nice and helpful. They recommended any places where I should visited otherwise I must missed Viceregal lodge :).

The hotel is located not too far from mall road just around 5 min walk down the hill.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Excellent service from very friendly and courteous staff. In fact a number of establishments in the ridge would do well to send their staff to the hotel to see how visitors should be treated.
Rooms were clean and comfortable with fresh towels every day. Manager took an interest in guests and was very helpful in arranging taxis whenever needed. Would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone travelling to Shimla although the position at the top of a steep hill may cause inconvenience to some.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensville, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very friendly and comfortable hotel, just 5 minutes up hill from the Mall. A bit tricky to find but well worth the look. Excellent meals in the restaurant and great rooms many with views. We have been back 3 times now and love the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royale

Address: Jakhoo Road, Behind Church | Shimla Himachal Pradesh, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.