We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,standard rooms with lovely views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel White

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel White to your Saves list
Hotel White
Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Shimla
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean,standard rooms with lovely views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here and had 2 of the rooms. Whilst the building and furnishings are quite old, the rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. The water was very hot and for the chilly nights, thick blankets were provided. The weather was quite wet whilst we were here and the hotel lacks heating, so everything had a dampish feel and towels etc. didn't really dry out, but the hotel can't be held responsible for the weather. The location is good, quiet at night and just a few minutes stroll from the Mall. The views are excellent from the windows and the staff are polite although not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    61
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Its a good hotel with excellent locality, right there on Lakkar Bazar. Staff is very courteous and polite. although rooms are not luxury but are decent and so the bathrooms, it is an old property but well maintained. there is no restaurant in the hotel but they have room service though food is not that great and you have limited options. they just serve snacks not lunch or dinner :-( . we used to crave for our bed tea so it was problem for us. otherwise you can simply walk outside the hotel and you can easily find many food joints. but overall if you are not a luxury traveler this is the best deal for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I recently spent three absolutely amazing days at Hotel white. This is a quintessential hotel. Reasonably priced and superb location. The reviews I read before conforming my reservations for the hotel did not too much justice. They said great things but the hotels even better.
Firstly do not worry about the location of the hotel is in Lakkar Bazar and while driving to the Hotel you may feel its way way away from the Mall but in fact it not. Instead its just a two minutes walk from the the mall and by two minutes I literally mean two minutes.
The view from the hotel is breathtaking be sure to ask for the Deluxe rooms since they come with there own private balcony and room no. 27 is the best only because its balcony is fully covered so even if it rains you can enjoy the view standing in the balcony.
There menu comprises mostly of snacks and breakfast but its reasonably and scrumptious specially the vegetable sandwiches.
Also the hotel is located on the main street so medical shop, eateries are just across the street and by that I mean 5 steps away so even if you forget to pack a few essential you don't have to go far or if you want to have a late night bite you just need to cross the street over.
Lastly i would like to thank Mr. Thakur the manager for hie hospitality. He is an amazing host and most helpful he made our stay and visit to Shimla just that much better.
So do not hesitate before booking this hotel. I assure you you would not regret your decision.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Hotel White is one of the best mid range hotels we stayed at during our trip to India. The rooms are huge with flat screen tv's, clean bathrooms (with piping hot water), fluffy white towels, free wifi in the rooms and even comfy easy chairs to relax in next to large windows overlooking the stunning Shimla Valley. The views are breathtaking!

This hotel is also in a superb location in The Lakkar Bazaar which means there is plenty going on outside your front door and everything you will want is within easy reach by foot. Close to Scandal Point, The Ridge and all of the other bazaars, tourist info, Jakhu Temple etc.

The team at Hotel White are also brilliant and were really helpful during our stay. Booking our onward travel for us. We liked Shimla and this hotel so much we were reluctant to tear ourselves away.

I would definitely stay here again and can't recommend it to you highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel white i have been staying for last 4 years and could not change to any other hotel. just because of few reasons. Good Rooms and spacious, The bathrooms are maintained and with big geysers. the room service is good. The most important the staff of the hotel is very good and manager is excellent to serve you at last minute. overall will give 10/10.

Room Tip: good rooms you choose valley side or road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durgapur, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days. This a marvelous hotel because of it's location, very near to the mall and ridge, beautiful scenic views from the rooms, rooms are good, service is equally good. Mr. Thakur and his team a very cooperative group. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I m great fan of this hotel, have been staying in this hotel every year with family for 3n/4d. Am yet to find a better hotel in same price, rooms are neat,clean,well kept. Staff offers excellent service,help. Mr.Thakur ,manager , goes all the way out to see that u r comfortable and so does his staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel White

Address: Lakkar Bazar, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Shimla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.