We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for maney stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shiwalik Regency

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shiwalik Regency to your Saves list
Shiwalik Regency
The Ridge | Near Christ Church, Shimla 171001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
delhi
1 review
“value for maney stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hi!

Stayed over for 4 nights with my friends. Hotel is very near to mall road and ridge. Hotel rooms are neat and clean. Everybody enjoyed and felt like home being in this property. Hotel staff was nice and obeying, specially manager very helpful and respecful. Hotel food is reasonable and better than lots of good restaurant in shimla.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

e stayed here after arriving in Simla late in the evening, on the night of Eid, to find all the hotels of the town fully booked! After an hours fruitless searching around town, we were led here by a hotel tout, and finally found a couple of rooms. Predictably expensive at 2,500/- per room per night, as the management knew that they had us over a barrel, and had no alternative; the rooms were reasonably clean, comfortable, and well appointed with small balconies (as in all of Simla, be very careful to keep the windows and door closed, or you will receive an unwanted visit from the local monkeys, who will break in and trash your room, if you give them a chance!!). The staff were fairly pleasant and helpful. There is no hotel restaurant, but they will serve meals in the room. It's about a ten to fifteen minute walk uphill from the Mall, and is in a quiet area.
Overall, it's not a bad hotel, but there are much better value establishments in Simla, and much nearer to the centre, so I wouldn't bother to stay here again, except in another dire emergency.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this hotel after going through good feedback which this hotel received on various travel websites but believe me , this is one of the worst hotel i have ever seen in my life. I am not sure why this hotel given 2 star rating and good feedbacks. All i have gone through was total fraud and worst services been offered by this hotel. Dont believe any of the offerrings of this hotel cuz none is there and you might be shocked when you stay at this hotel. From the moment of entering this hotel, it looks like 'gareeb labour' class hotel who's management is only after your money. Check out the water geyser avaialability cuz the management has hidden switches for all geysers and they will switch it off in few minutes.Rooms are dirty and smelling with stain marks on bed sheets and pilows. warm blankets are having holes in them and ridden with bugs and smelling so badly and nauseating. Rooms are dirty and nobody cares to clean them during your stay.there might be people actually sleeping on stairs and galleries and you can hear loud noises from them. beware if they provide you any room with bath tub then you can be sure that they wont allow you to fill it with warm water from the geyser.total loss for money and you will end up your hollidays in frustation and anger that you were fooled on all fronts in this hotel. again the hotel manager will force you to ake his tour package and you can be sure that it will be many folds costly then others.
I booked this hotel after seeing so many good feed backs from customers but it looks like that they are all posted by proxies and i am sure that the star rating of this hotel is suspicious as it is in no way near to even a single star , leave alone 2 stars. looks like its due to these travel site conniving with the hotel management to sell and rob this cheap and filthy hotel to the innocent customers.I booked this hotel for 4 days for my stay in shimla but i cancelled my stay in just 2 days and left this hotel as soon as posible as i can to avoid bad smell and tricksters management and also to keep myself safe from whole lot of crowd which dwell this hotel and can be seen sleeping. i only want to advise my fellow travellers so that they are not trapped and robbed the way i suffered.DONT BELIEVE ANY OF THE STAKES AND CLAIMS OF THE HOTEL AND THE WEBSITES OFFERING THIS HOTEL.DONT BE FOOLED BY SUPER DELUX OR DELUX ROOMS RATINGS CUZ THESE ARE THERE TO FOOL YOU AND WHAT YOU WILL GET IS ONLY SMELLY AND DIRTY ROOM. AND OFFCOURSE GEYSER IS CONTROLLED BY MANAGEMENT AND WILL BE SWITCHED OFF AS FEW MINUTES ONLY AND YOU HAVE TO BEG THE SERVICE GUYS OF THIS HOTEL TO SWITCH IT ON AGAIN AND AGAIN EVEN IF ITS COLD OUT THERE.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter AND DIRTIER
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a single night and it was the worst experience during the stay. The owner of the hotel is very ill mannered and do not know how to treat with the guest. He Seems to be over clever and pretend to be very polite but after the guest check in, he shows his real face by speaking rudely and disrespectful to the hotel guest. Therefore i personally suggest people to get aware of the owner to those who have some respects in the society.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hi!

Stayed over for 5 nights with my entire family of 11 people. Everybody enjoyed and felt like home being in this property. The staff was nice and helpful and food reasonable and better than lots of good restaurant in shimla. Thumbs up for this hotel. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

terrible! that's the word. We were forced to hole up here because we landed on a saturday night from our way back from Kalpa without a booking and the entire city was packed, and had to take up the only available "family suit" for four of us. To begin with, the loo was not cleaned since the last use and the flush wasn't working. Even after repeated requests to get the loo cleaned, it did not happen. The room was cramped and smelled musty and bad. One of us started sneezing ten minutes into the room. All the blankets were damp and smelled of fungus. The water they provided in the room was a grey muck with particles floating. We had to scream at one waiter for 15 minutes before he changed the water, but not with something of substantially better quality.
At night when we went out for dinner, we'd left the keys in the reception, and asked them to clean the loo. They did not do that, but went into our room, left couple of fresh towels and left the keys dangling from the door - with all our valuables in the room.
In the morning the balcony door was open and a monkey leaped in and sat on our bed! We had to scare him away with a stick.
The phone wasn't working either.
Most of all the staff was rude and unresponsive.
Take this hotel only if its your last resort!
And ya - the only view it offers is that of a parking space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel is located at the Ridge very close to mall road. Himachal registered vehicles are only allowed up to the hotel. Rooms are very badly ventilated. Rooms are very dirty. Mattress stinks very bad. Blanket is not washed since ages. Electrical sockets are pulled out and are very dangerous for small children. If you happen to visit shimla please dont stay in Hotel Shiwalik, it will spoil your vacation

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiwalik Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiwalik Regency

Address: The Ridge | Near Christ Church, Shimla 171001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 95 Hotels in Shimla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shiwalik Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiwalik Regency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.