We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nxt destination for sweet lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengali Sweet House

Bengali Sweet House
27-33, Bengali Market | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
011-23311855
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 5,910 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Silchar, Assam, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nxt destination for sweet lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Bengali sweets are always famous for there taste and texture of the sweets. its a must visit place when u r in Delhi, There is a variety of choice in sweets as well in snacks, my personal favorite is "pani puri" which is really extraordinarily yummy with the combination of " tamarind chatni".Other option of chats and "cholley batore" are also very inviting.and these goes very well with variety of fruit juice options.
although the ambiance is not very good..but the food is very tasty.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    43
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Chole & Gol gappe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

You can enjoy good chole & also Pani puri or Gol Gappe.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dilli ki chaat...wah bhai wah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Love the chaat here more than anything else..bhallas are wonderful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh fruit juices and Indian sweets -- but mediocre, avoidable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The pomegranate juice, the mixed pomegranate fruit juice, and the orange-pineapple-sweet-lime juice are just the most brilliant glasses of juice I've had in a long, long while. I haven't had fresh fruit juice anywhere else in Delhi that's half as fresh and sweet and smooth as that in Bengali Sweet House. It's a large glass that costs between Rs 30 and Rs 40, and is cooling, filling, energizing, and refreshing. I lived near the Bengali Market for four or five days recently at a guest house, and I had almost ten to fifteen glasses during the entire period! It's totally worth it, especially while enduring Delhi's draining heat.

The food, however, was average, and I wouldn't recommend eating anything much here, to be very honest, unless you're in this part of town and really hungry, or don't have any other choice. (Bengali Market mostly has only sweet shops and if you want to eat something proper then this is the only option available in the vicinity, I guess.) I ordered a "stuffed potato roasted", which turned out to be a disappointment. It was overly salty, a little burnt, and not very appetising at all. I was expecting something much more different. I ordered a grilled vegetable cheese sandwich and the guy messed up the order by getting me a toasted cheese sandwich and not even bothering to change the order despite the fact that it was the mistake of the staff in not being clear. Most of the dishes on their menu are also over-priced.

The mixed vegetable uttappam tasted nice, but it was heavy, oily, and not very well-cooked. This place is good for the juices, as I said above earlier, and for the Indian sweets, like the halwas and the gulab jambuns and rabris, but not for main course items. I'm giving BSH an aggregated four star ranking, considering that they've got 2/3 things on their menu right, and the location. But they will remain deprived of the excellent rank until they improve the quality of food on the main course, as well as their lethargic service!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Big fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I always try to visit to this place whenever I am in Delhi. I particularly like the choley-bhaturey. This time I got also bought some sweets for my friends in Chennai and they were really good. The service could be a bit better though.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengali Sweet House also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Bengali Sweet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengali Sweet House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.