We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic North Indian!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veda

Veda
H-27, Tropical Buiding | Connaught Circus, New Delhi 110001, India
91-11-41513535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 5,451 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic North Indian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was a casual business lunch, we had a couple of hours to spare before out flight. Hot summer afternoon is'nt ideal for a heavy mughal/avadhi food, but by god was it amazing!
The person who took us there was a regualr and knew the chef, we were greeted with crispy spanich papri chat: delish! dahi ke kabab were mild , but had such complexity of flavour, cant comment much on the non veg , but my friends seemed to love it! We were already super full by the time mains got in, but they were all good, the Dal was awesome. Good drinks!
Special mention for the stunning decor, blending vintage Indian with a dark gothic feel!
Would certainly come again , the price seemed a bit steep though!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    132
    45
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good , super overprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I paid more then 1000 rupi for malai kofta and bottle of water.
Very good malai kofta , nice decor , good service

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Untrained Staff can ruin it all. Food is fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I am a regular diner in delhi and own a couple of similar places - usually i do not go on reviews much cos i think its very "person specific" but in spite of SANCHIT mentioning in the review about the pathetic staff they have, i went for that place. I think its very important for the MANAGEMENT RESPONSE team to hire more educated and groomed staff rather than spending time apologising with no real ground work done - 19th april today went for a dinner with 8 of my close family members, meeting them for the first time as they are settled in London and wanted to have an Indian food experience with a nice ambience and authentic food. Well - one person spoils the image/food/ambience of the whole place, the staff is literally abusive on asking for two servings of papad on a table of 8. Thankfully for the foreigners flocking the place they wouldn't really understand. But it was a shameful experience for me and as far as Food is concerned , the least i expect is to be having it around people with smiling/helpful and cheerful nature. Didn't expect that coming from a place so lavish in the heart of Delhi. Food was fine, Crispy Bhindi was good, Only one type of soup available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really nice indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The place is very beautiful, and the food really really nice. It was not very spicy, but tasty. The price is a little bit high, but because it is focused on tourists, but it s worth to go and try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had lunch at Veda on 4 April this year. Coming in off the dirty street, it is a sight to behold. The decor is gorgeous and the food was delicious.

There were only four other tables of diners and as most looked like business lunches, the atmosphere was a little lacking. I'd definitely recommend coming for the food but perhaps it is more atmospheric in the evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veda also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Veda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.