We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veda

Veda
H-27, Tropical Buiding | Connaught Circus, New Delhi 110001, India
91-11-41513535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 8,224 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don't be disappointed by the decor of the place which makes it look like a haunted house. The restaurant offers amazing food and great service. Daal Makhni and Rara Chicken is a must try. The zafarani puloa is also very well done. The portions were limited though.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    133
    45
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good only if you like really spicy food and very dim lighting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Six of us went there for a family lunch in December. My first impression was not very good - it was very poorly lit and that immediately made it a no no for lunch as far as I was concerned. We ordered a large platter of kebabs to start. They were VERY spicy so it's great if you like very spicy food. We couldn't eat much of it and the children couldn't eat any of it. We're Indian so it's not like we can't eat a bit of spice but this was way too spicy for us.
After that we had to request them to prepare milder curries for us and the rest of the meal was ok though I wasn't particularly impressed.
I must say something about the service - even though the restaurant was empty when we arrived and remained empty(except for us) for a good while the staff was rather inattentive preferring to stand at one end and not asking us if we needed anything. Every time we wanted something we had to turn and call them. Except for after the main course when they promptly got the bill. I was surprised at that since we were yet to order dessert. I had to tell the waiter to bring us the dessert menu and wait till we asked for the bill.
Not really the experience I expected but then I guess if you love spicy food, low lighting and very average service then you might enjoy it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peripatetic: you name it
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Over the top decor, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited with a big group and I was initially worried that a place with such overwrought decoration might not deliver on the food side. I was wrong. The fried okra was universally wowed by the table, the mixed veg and mixed non-veg starters were roundly loved, and everything from the dal to the meat dishes were wonderful. We were a mixed group, from the US, Delhi, Kolkata, and Chennai, with a wide range of food tastes to choose from (including one rather selective child) and we were all happy. What's more the staff did a wonderful job dealing with our ever-changing and rather unwieldy table, including said child crawling around beneath it. They never missed a beat, never seemed flustered, always maintained the utmost professionalism and good humor. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to eat with great food! Place is a nice classy restaraunt with clean bathrooms and a pleasant atmosphere. Portions can be big so best to share with your freinds instead.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy/Stylish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was recommended Veda from a friend from Delhi. Im glad I took his advise! the restaurant its self was very stylish, get decor and ambience. You have to try the fried whole leaf spinach with a yogurt and tamarind sauce - its to die for. Also the tandoori chicken, cooked in a proper oven was heavenly. Nothing was so chilly hot that it just burnt your tongue, it was more about the favours of the spices. Oh, and the William Tell cocktail was just wonderful (apple, vodka and cinammon smoke!). there was 4 of us (2 kids, 2 adults) we ate like kings and the bill was £70. You know wehny ou eat something so good and the flavours stay with you and you keep thinkin about that dish, well thats what happened to me after visiting the Veda. Go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veda also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Veda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.