We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Ming

House of Ming
1 Mansingh Road | Taj Mahal Hotel, New Delhi 110 003, India
011 23026162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 3,572 restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dining heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant. Where do I start? The welcoming staff, the food and the ambience all add up to a culinary journey that I will not forget in a long time. Particular mention for Sahil who guided us through the numerous vegetarian options like a pro. All of our personal requirements were catered for. Reading the other reviews, another reason why this restaurant is so popular are the complimentary teas/ coffees and desserts and the very large portions perhaps.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    48
    29
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi, Kerala, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Chinese Rendezvous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

House of Ming Dinner at Taj mansigh has jotted a permanent mark on my memory lane. Tastes of the chinese dishes along with the ambience of the hotel made my evening at Taj Mansingh a real stress buster after a long day at FICCI deliberations and discussions. The Chefs special taste enhancers sent in as compliments were of top notch style and grandeur.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pretty Close to Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Ate dinner here while staying at the Taj Mahal Hotel. Everything from the service to the ambiance and most importantly, the food, was top notch. Possibly the best Chinese food I have ever eaten - flavorful, spicy, sweet and sour, without being too oily and filling. A nice break after eating too much heavy north indian food. Plethora of vegetarian options makes it easy for me to come back again and again. Service was excellent and we received a few complimentary teas and small dishes that were wonderful. If you're dining solo, they actually give you a little goldfish in a bowl to keep you company :-) Will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent service with generous food servings. Staff were attentive. We were given a complimentary vegetable dish, crispy spinach which was one of the specialties. Two of us decided to pass on dessert because we have had too much food. Yet the restaurant staff gave us a complimentary scoop of honey nut crunch ice cream to complete our meals. That was such a thoughtful gesture. Thank you for the impressive service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food in Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

While staying at the Taj Mahal Hotel we enjoyed a great meal of Ming. We weren't too sure about eating Chinese in India, but the hotel staff recommended it and so we went. The food was quite good, the ambience was equally good, and the service was typically Indian so we were satisfied.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Ming also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to House of Ming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Ming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.