We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karim's Kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karim's

Karim's
16, Gali Kababian | Jama Masjid, New Delhi 110006, India
+91-11-23269880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 4,085 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Delhi, india
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Karim's Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Dear Friends,

Karim’s the traditional chain of Indian food restaurant in New Delhi has got its antiquity from the kitchen of Moghul dynasty. Karim’s is synonymous to the taste of moghulai food anyone who visit Delhi should not miss the enthralling feast at karim’s; the dine table has assortment selection to offer you to incite your senses for taste.

As we dropped for the first time in karim at chandni chowk on busy Saturday unknowingly about its significance it took twenty minutes for us to get a seat. The moment we got chair we felt like heaven to inhale the enriched smell of spices which were tempestuous in our surrounding that drive our eagerness to order the food. I like to appreciate the service at karim’s where you find the captain polite and ready to help you to choose the best selection according to your health limitations and serve you to the best of their kind!

Karim’s offer you a large number of dishes which is difficult to mention here but a special patented Signature style of Briyani can be only experience than expressed only at karim; the

Karim’s signature specialty to us is ‘Briyani’ one should not miss if he really wishes to explore the flavors of joy in custom style.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    331
    138
    59
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only Food Quality Is That I Really Appreciated...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Kareems is Very Famous and is Really Appreciated for The Mughlai Delicacies. I Prefer Mutton Dishes then Chicken as I Saw Chickens in Delhi in Very Shabby Situtations... They seem to be Sick and Unhealthy... So I Prefer Mutton.. ( Its Male Goat Meat ) So I Had Mutton Curry.. Which was Very Well Cooked Full of Flavors but too much Oil... So I Had to removed the excess Oil From the Top & Then Enjoyed My Lunch... Service is Good & the People really Dont speak English..but If you like Authentic Mughlai Food like Mutton Kebabs and Tikkas... Just Check the Menu & Order & Enjoy the Food which comes @ Good Price & The Quantity is Ok , So Ignore the Other points which can be Improved or can b better. I do enjoy this Food Outlet Once Im Bored with Every Day Routine.. Though its a Bit Out of the Way in a very buzy Locale near Jama Mazjid ( Mosque ) but its worth Spending and Enjoying a Meal with Friends or Family as The Sitting Arrangement is Very Good... & Its Buzy Most of the Time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but don't believe the hype!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Billed as the place to go for the 'best butter chicken in India', I was expecting something truly spectacular. I wasn't disappointed, but I didn't leave on a cloud. The restaurant is clean, airy and a nice place to be. The service was a bit slow (10 minutes to bring a couple of Coca Colas well before the lunchtime rush. Really?), and the food - while excellent - was not the best in India. The butter chicken was good, but Leopold's in Mumbai and Agonda White Sands in Goa trump it. The mutton sheekh kebabs were lovely, and the naan was up there with the best too. In summary - go there for a meal, you'll enjoy it. Just don't go thinking this will be the greatest Indian meal you've ever eaten, because it won't be. Oh and the prices are just a little bit too high...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great food but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having read about the place and seen it reviewed as one of the best restaurants in Asia - I had very very high hopes but they were not met.

The food was good, the Naan was especially good but it was not the amazing mouth watering experience we expected. Not that cheap considering (over 300 rupees for a half size butter chicken that was nice but not outstanding)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Food awesome...but service is bad. Be prepared to stare at uncleared tables and un attentive servers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I visited Karim's after a long time last month with family. Whereas the whole place was teeming with rows and rows of people, the hospitality angle has taken a severe beating. It is more of a factory now and you can expect servers to pushing and shoving you while you queue up waiting for a table outside the many dining halls.

When we were finally seated, not to mention on a table which had not been cleared....the cleaning of the table took a full 15 minutes as we were left staring at leftovers. On two occasions i had to remind a server who was busy stacking his station just next to us, he coldly ignored even looking at us. The staff is highly arrogant and what I could understand was that our server's shift was over and he was more interested in discussing and making a fuss with his colleague than attending to us.

The food finally came and although not delightful, was satisfying in terms of taste and appeal. We had ordered a host of dishes and the breads kept on coming in a timely manner.

Clearly the success of this restaurant has taken a heavy toll on the hospitality and service angle. Next time around, I would rather have guests go some place else, rather than be treated like hungry people who have nothing better than to be made to realize that we are doing a favor by being served!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karim's also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Karim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karim's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.