We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This one is for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swagath

Swagath
14 Defence Colony Market, New Delhi 110024, India (Defence Colony)
+91 11 4183 0622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 4,085 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Defence Colony
Noida, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This one is for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Lip smacking cuisine and a well stocked bar is all you need on the weekends, and that's what you get at this great place. Adequate space within and fair bit of parking space outside, makes it the perfect weekend getaway. Have Continental, Chinese, South Indian or North Indian cuisines here - whatever you demand, is available. I loved the fish dipped in spinach curry with a Lachha Parantha with alcohol galore. All of my friends and family loved the place. Make it a must visit in your diary on one of these weekends.....Cheers

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    70
    18
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is in nearby Defence colony market not very far from our place of stay. We liked their menu which includes western food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a really nice meal here for a reasonable price, the food was very tasty and not prepared solely for tourists. Which being on holiday can be hard to get away from buffet dinners. Portions were quite large, so plenty to take away if you are around for a few days.
The service was extremely attentive and very professional.
Only negative was that the restaurant appears to be on a few levels and the one we were on was empty, which spoiled the ambience a little. But that can't be helped.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic South Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Swagath has 9 restaurants in the greater Delhi Area, we visited Swagath Defence colony, a busy area known for its restaurants. We were together with our Inidan business patner and she brought us to Swagath, one of her favourite restaurants. We ate fishfood, chicken and dal. The Gassi Pomfret (Fish) was boneless and cooked to perfection, the spices were delicious. So was the crab with rice.

Our next visit in Delhi has a stopover @ Swagath!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb Kababs !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Defence Colony is know for its restaurants n Swagath is quite a famous one. I had ordered their kabab platter which is a mix of 4-5 different types of Kababs and I must say the Kababs were just awesome. A typical delight for a non veg lover.

I would say a must try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagath also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Swagath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swagath, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.