We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Calm and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mainland China

Mainland China
E-4, Local Shopping Centre, Masjid Moth | Greater Kailash 2, Besides HDFC Bank, New Delhi 110048, India (Greater Kailash I)
(+91) 11 29222123
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 3,572 restaurants in New Delhi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Greater Kailash I
Noida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Neat Calm and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everyready folks great you right from the entrance. At every point you are escorted. You are amply helped with the Menu. You are generously served. Exciting ambience, right from the walk up to the lay out. Just bright enough to see and not way beyond to obstruct. Food is as authentic as it gets. Great portions and even better with decent prices. I feel there could have been buffets in the evening too. I heard they are good during the lunches. Worth going again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    24
    44
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great food...good ambiance...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

For a quiet family dinner mid-week, we chose Mainland China at GK-II, New Delhi…the restaurant is set off from the main thoroughfare...a small walk leads one to a grand entrance opening into a porch adorned with large Chinese artifacts. We were advised to head to the restaurant at the second floor using the elevator. The restaurant had impeccable interiors with right degree of illumination to set the mood for an enjoyable dining experience.

As the starter, we ordered chicken with steamed straw mushrooms sautéed in ginger sauce (Rs.495/-) – the dish was excellent in taste and aroma; it was served in good measure, enough for four of us. Next on our menu were a portion each of Eight Treasure soup with seafood (Rs.220/-) and that with chicken (Rs.210/-) - the soups were good with toned down aromatic spices. The main dishes namely, Crab meat braised in sauce (Rs.650/-) and Duck braised in spicy hot sauce (Rs.650/-) along with the wok tossed veg hakka noodles (Rs.340/- for regular portion) worked wonders with our taste-buds.

While the food at Mainland China was simply great in taste, the final bill is little steep with three-tier tax structure (service charge@10%, VAT@12.5% and service tax of about 5%)! A dinner for two without any alcoholic beverages should cost around Rs.2000-2500/-.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service was slow and the food not so delicious.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived during the buffet hours and availed of the same. Starters were served at our table at first but trickled down to few and far in between after that. Got tired of waiting for the starters to arrive and had to go for the main course. The main course too was not much to talk about, one of the dishes in the buffet remained empty throughout the time we were dining there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“From Awesome they are moving towards average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have been going to mainland china regularly for the last 4 years. In the last 4-5 months they have shrunk their menu apparently in a cost cutting attempt. Its still a great place to eat but reducing the options kinda disappoints. Also the last 2 times we went the starters which they serve on the table were cold. We asked him to reheat and what we got were some starters were hot and others on the same plate were cold. Put me off.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In
1 review
“AMAZING MLC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Main Land China is just 2 minutes walk from Sai villa and we tried their food, which we found quite amazing, highly recommended! MLC at Greater Kailash is just next to Kohinoor Mall and Smoke House Grill another superb restaurant with lovely music.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainland China also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Mainland China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainland China, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.