We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spice Route

The Spice Route
Janpath Lane, Tolstoy Road | Imperial Hotel, New Delhi 110001, India
11-41116605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 5,451 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Took a client here for a meal last Friday night.

Decor is amazing, and the food was to die for. The fish in particular was delicious.

Having not been to the Imperial for a few years, I had forgotten how amazing it was. Definitely need to find a way to stay there gain soon.

Still doesn't replace Bukhara as my personal No.1 but very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    114
    48
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience at The Spice Route”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was my husband's birthday and I was all set to give him a beautiful dinner surprise. I had heard a lot about the spice route and it's ambience. I knew beforehand that the food would be average but the paintings on the walls..the decor compensates for it.
This restaurant is highly priced but it doen't pinch your pocket if it is worthwhile. Not only the food is overrated but the quality and taste of the food is highly disappointing and sad. We couldn't even finish one dish completely because of it's bad taste. We had experimented with it's starters, soups...main course and beverages but couldn't even find anything worth appreciating.
We wouldn't go back to this place ever again...and unfortunately I would recommend the same to everyone. This is my first negative review for anybody on Tripadvisor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant has a kitchen with a glass window so you can actually see the chefs working on the dishes. It has a good ambiance and great food. The buffet is totally worth the price! Great service and authentic taste of Indian food...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, but Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I will admit that I am a sucker for ambiance and setting, particularly one with a rich and original ethnic decor. So I continue to appreciate the Spice Route for this aesthetic appeal. The service is also good, and effort is made to accomodate requests i.e. where to sit etc. My main complaint is that the food does not warrant the price. Better to eat at Saravana Bharan for a tenth the price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Truly one of the most amazing restaurants I had dined in Delhi. Really one of a kind. I was taken here by my business associates. Based on Indian Feng Shui the place is divided into 9 sections of life. It also depicts the spice journey from the "Malabar Coast in Kerala through Sri Lanka, Malaysia, and Indonesia to Thailand and Vietnam." (plague in restaurant) Absolutely awesome. Food was VERY good, but we thought the ambiance and service was well worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Route also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The Spice Route? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spice Route, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.