We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taipan

Taipan
The Oberoi Hotel | Dr. Zakir Hussain Marg, New Delhi 110003, India
+91 11 2436 3030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 5,910 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Like taipan . Service was excellent . Staff couteous and helpful.
Love it. will come back again

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ordinary, every time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This lovely roof-top restaurant serves up the most ordinary food at the Oberoi Hotel's 5 Star prices!! We've been here for lunch, dinner, their Sunday brunch and I have to say- can't decide which meal was the most uninspiring. It has it fans, but I'm not one of them.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Review of Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I like to stay in hotel and satisfied with the service provided by them.. I prefer to stay whenever i plan to visit New Delhi again.. I also ask my friends to stay at there. I even ask my relative who is going to visit delhi in june 2012 to get accommodated here.. I like to stay.. don’t know much about the others…

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Way too expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

You pay for the name, ambiance and service. Food is average. Portions are baby sized and the restaurant is overly priced. On top of that, they ended up serving us stale (re-microwaved and re-fried) chicken. A negative on the feedback form stating creates a ripple and we were stopped by Ms. Neha asking about why the negative feedback and were offered coffee on the house (which we politely declined).

All in all, not a very good experience. Could be a one off thing but serving re-heated food in a 5 * restaurant of repute didn't go down well with us.

Won't go again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with YourSingapore.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“OK but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This may not be a fair review since I have had wonderful Chinese food elsewhere. The food was good - a good change after all the Indian fare we had been eating in the previous 2 weeks on tour. Very expensive. No real view of the city from our table.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipan also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.