We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great small hotel in a big city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Star Grand to your Saves list
The Star Grand
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   E-8, East Of Kailash | East of Kailash, New Delhi 110065, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“A great small hotel in a big city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Too often big city hotels are limited to the large and expensive or the small and shabby. Many travellers, such as us, look for small, comfortable and welcoming hotels as a bolt-hole from the city chaos and the Star Grand Villa offered this and more. In addition, for travellers, it is conveniently placed for the airport.

We stayed on two separate occasions and in different rooms. Both times the rooms were very comfortable with a large comfortable double bed, desk for paperwork and a good sized bathroom with nice hot shower. Fridge, bottled water and flat-screen TV were complemented by free tea and coffee making facilities (with unlimited top-ups) and good free WiFi.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. On our second stay we arrived at 07.30 am (way before regular check-in time) after an overnight trip on the train from Jodhpur, tired and a little grimy. They gave as our room within half an hour with no suggestion that we should pay any extra - quite unusual in my experiences of India.

There is a small but good restaurant with a fairly extensive menu and a decent breakfast.

When we next stay in Delhi this hotel will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
16
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Too often big city hotels are limited to the large and expensive or the small and shabby. Many travellers, such as us, look for small, comfortable and welcoming hotels as a bolt-hole from the city chaos and the Star Grand Villa offered this and more. In addition, for travellers, it is conveniently placed for the airport.

We stayed on two separate occasions and in different rooms. Both times the rooms were very comfortable with a large comfortable double bed, desk for paperwork and a good sized bathroom with nice hot shower. Fridge, bottled water and flat-screen TV were complemented by free tea and coffee making facilities (with unlimited top-ups) and good free WiFi.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. On our second stay we arrived at 07.30 am (way before regular check-in time) after an overnight trip on the train from Jodhpur, tired and a little grimy. They gave as our room within half an hour with no suggestion that we should pay any extra - quite unusual in my experiences of India.

There is a small but good restaurant with a fairly extensive menu and a decent breakfast.

When we next stay in Delhi this hotel will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I was down for a business trip in August 2011 and booked at this hotel, Loation is very nice as near the metro . Also service of the hotel is excellent. Even on returning late evening I was able to order dinner without making any exceptions. The hotel has its own vehicles so you dont have to worry about hireing vehicles from outside. The rooms are excellent and have all mordern facilities. Overall a very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This was my second stay in this hotel. Both the times the experience was mixed. They took care of some parcels which came in my name even before i checked in. The rooms are big and clean. The food something like 7/10. On the negative side the clothes I had left in the laundry bag for ironing the night before were still not ironed the next evening, but the bag was kept properly on the table by the housekeeping personnel. Then there was an incident where someone else's food bill was charged in my name. I had a hard time proving that the sign and the name on the bill were not mine. But the biggest complaint I have with this hotel is that their waiters' belief that they are entitled to a "bakshish" on the day you check out irrespective of how their service was. They will be hover around you and they will try extra hard on the last day to make sure you give it to them. During my first stay one waiter told me an elaborate story of how he has to buy Christmas gifts for his kids and he hasn't got his salary so i should give him some money. During my last stay one guy was waiting near my cab for fifteen minutes till i finished my work and left only when i gave him some money. But I think its a Delhi thing rather than the hotel's mistake. Overall a good hotel for its rooms and food but average otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Right from check-in to the entire duration of my stay, I had a great time at this hotel. My requests were handled most professionally, promptly and with complete satisfaction to myself. I have absolutely no doubt that I will make use of this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: Most rooms are spacious but some have extra space and seating for entertaining guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Perfect warm welcome, perfect warm reception, perfect rooms with all necessary amenities. Do not go on the exterior of the building, its highly deceiving.

Each standard room has a bath tub, hot water running 24hrs (unlike other hotels who use a geysers / water heaters), hair dryer, etc. The minute things are very well taken care off by the management.

Did i mention the wonderful cuisine that they offer..!! Completely mindblowing food..!!

Please see the pictures, as they say a 1000 words..

All these things in a mere INR 3000 + taxes...!!

Room Tip: even a standard room is very spacious and has all the amenities required for luxury stay..!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I saw good reviews on a website and I kind of liked the tariff. I booked for an overnight stay.

This was an amazing experience. Not only the rooms are spacious and decor excellent, you get two rooms instead of one, So if ytou have visitors, you can entertain in the outside room and keep your privacy intact.

Room Service was prompt and quality of food was great. breakfast in the morning was also very good. Though the restaurant is rather small, great service and good food is served here.

This place is highly recommended,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Grand

Address: E-8, East Of Kailash | East of Kailash, New Delhi 110065, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Star Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Star Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Grand Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.