We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of United Coffee House

United Coffee House
E-15, Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
011-23441605
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 4,085 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went one night just for a coffee and liked the atmosphere, so decided to return on our last night for dinner, big mistake, very busy and staff very attentive. But the food was dearer than our 5* Hotel, the food was ok nothing out of the ordinary but so overpriced, i was told it was happy hour so ordered a glass of wine, and they put one by, so i still paid happy hour price, what they failed to say was there happy hour price for a glass of wine was dearer than our hotel !! One course each, 2 glasses of wine, 2 coffees + taxes etc was£50 !!! Great for coffee but not for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    139
    58
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,122 reviews 3,122 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,052 helpful votes 8,052 helpful votes
“Nice ambience and decor but desserts and drinks not good enough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently visited the United Coffee House in Connaught Place (CP) for dessert and coffee drinks, having enjoyed the atmosphere of this restaurant but also feeling the quality of both their desserts and drinks was not good enough.

The United Coffee House has an interesting historic decor, decked out in 1930-40s era design. Interesting ceiling, chandelier and general atmosphere that makes for an interesting place with nice ambience, giving it the potential to be a great place to enjoy a quick bite to eat and drink.

During our visit here we ordered the chocolate sin cake w/ scoop of vanilla ice cream (290 rupee or US$5.29). The cake was good although the ice cream strangely had very little taste, making this just an average overall dessert (rating 3 of 5).

We also tried the apple pie w/cinnamon ice cream (270 rupee). The apple filling was very nice but we greatly disliked the pizza bread-like crust that was just 'off', not what we expect when ordering a pie dessert. However, the cinnamon ice-cream was very good, making for a mouthful of yumminess when taken with the apple filling. This would have been a great dessert had it not been for the poor pie crust, which sort of spoiled this one (3 of 5).

For drinks we tried aged Indian monsoon coffee (130 rupee) that was nice, enjoyed the nutmeg and hints of cloves taste, surprisingly went well with both desserts, making a nice drink (rating 3.25 of 5).

We also tried a saffron lassi (160 rupee). Sadly, the yoghurt used had turned and was way too sour. One of us found the flavor of this lassi acceptable while the other found it intolerable. Unfortunately, this is India and you sort of expect them to get a lassi drink right, especially when paying this much. We had many good lassi drinks during this trip to India, this was by far the worst and the most expensive (rating 1.5 of 5).

In the end, the decor of the United Coffee House was interesting enough for a quick visit but the quality of the dessert and drinks were not worthy of the prices they are charging. This was a shame as the environment is set for this to be a very good visit for foreign and Indian visitors. However, based on our experience, we would not return and find it difficult to recommend visiting for anything other than a coffee drink.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Elegant ambience and delectable food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful set up, the restaurant gives you an ancient feel. The food mouth-watering and the serving is good enough to feed you well. No wonder it has been able to attract people for so many years. Scrumptious food, polite staff and great ambience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
1 review
“Sedate and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you're looking for old world charm and pace, this is the place to be. You want to catch up with friends over coffee or English breafast head to UCH. A mini party with drinks and continental cuisine, this old place is the best. A business meeting over club sanwiches, a gossipy afternoon over herb naans and pickled meat, an office party free flowing liquer, UCB is a place for all things.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful service! Food and decor was great. We had the famous butter chicken. Would highly recommend!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United Coffee House also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to United Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.