We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with basic facilities at the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel
Save
You added YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel to your Saves list
Ashoka Road, Next to Bangla Sahib Gurudwara, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent property with basic facilities at the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed at YWCA several times and loved it. If you are there for business, want to be in a clean, safe and comfortable place with more than basic facilities for just Rs. 2500 ($50) then this is the place for you.

The breakfast is good and non spicy, can't tell enough about the location since its walking distance from Connaught place.

Rooms a big and bathrooms a very spacious. Service was good and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
5
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's a clean, safe hotel. The food is horrid. The front desk staff is very unpleasant and unfriendly. The Royal Support travel agent did a bait and switch on the car we rented. We were shown a nice spacious car which we agreed upon but on the day the car was not as we had agreed upon (a small unsafe car). This place is extremely rigid and unaccomodating. We wanted to stay a few hours beyond our scheduled departure and they wanted money for an extra day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It is a good budget place for your first or last day in India. In walking distance is the Metro station where the express line connects directly to the airport (only 60Rs) or the central rail station (20Rs).
The hotel is a good lower budget place. It is clean and safe and there is AC and hot water. The breakfast is included and really good. From there you can explore the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I have stayed at the Blue Triangle many times over the years. It is very basic, no frills, but the staff could not be nicer or more helpful which makes all the difference. The location is great because you can walk everywhere in the core area around Connaught Place and is very close to the excellent State Emporiums. Good place for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Hostel is an oasis of calm in a chaotic city that can assault the senses.

I stayed here 9th to 19th February 2012, part of a group of 14. It was my second stay (previously visited in 2009) and I found it as good as my first visit. It is basic, but what else would you expect when staying at a YWCA? Excellent value for money and breakfast included. If you are looking for 5* accommodation, there are plenty of hotels in the area to choose from. The staff are great and do a good job of keeping everything ticking over. Most speak a little English, but not enough to hold long conversations. I would feel very safe if I stayed here as a single woman. On the same complex is a Hostel for Indian women taking various adult training courses. The complex has guards at each entrance which is reassuring but unobtrusive.

Tip: if you are leaving India after your stay here, be generous and leave your toiletries, extra foodstuffs, old shoes and clothes behind with a note giving permission for the room lady to have them. They will be pleased, and will probably sell them on in order to make some much needed income for their families. We have so much and they have so little.

Room 309 is huge with a good sized shower room (the loo leaked when you pulled the chain, but it wasn't a problem, this is India, get used to it). The beds are quite hard; ask for an extra mattress topper which will help. Clean cotton sheets and towels each morning. The room was large enough for 14 of us to meet up every morning. We didn't require A/C at that time of year, so can't comment. There was only one visitor not of our party on our floor who joyfully joined in our game of corridor cricket one evening!! Such fun.

The Hostel is a little worn, but don't let that stop you enjoying yourself. India is an exhilarating, rollercoaster of an adventure from the time you land to the time you depart and the Hostel is part of that experience. You will soon tune out the constant car horns and traffic noise which are unavoidable in Delhi.

We had several excellent dinners in the restaurant during our stay, all ridiculously cheap.There are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance. Be brave, try different foods each day, some you will like and others maybe not, but all are worth the effort. Buy bottled water from the restaurant before you go out for the day, much cheaper. Order Chai Masala tea from room service upon your return; it is delicious and restorative after a long, tiring day and costs a few rupees.

This time we travelled in from the airport on the superb Metro which is spotless, cheap and efficient (not usual descriptions when describing India!); Hostel is within an easy walk from the station.

Just opposite the Hostel entrance within the grounds, is a small travel agency who will arrange all sorts of trips to suit your requirements; also transport if you can't face the haggling necessary when using tuk-tuks. Lovely guy runs it who speaks excellent English.

Don't pay more than 30 rupees to go to Connaught Square by tuk-tuk; if they won't take you at that price walk away and wait for another one, there are millions of them around and they will all try to get as much as they can from you. Haggle like crazy. The drive is a life changing experience in itself! Try walking to places to get the flavour, smells and vibrancy of the city in a different way

I loved staying here, it is a microcosm of Delhi and India. Forget all things European; throw yourself into the melee and chaos of the city, you will fall in love with it and return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Gudjwara next door as that side of the Hostel can be quite noisy. Third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Nice quiet place, away from the noise and crowd. Clean, quiet and reasonably priced. Very spacious A/c double room with balcony and a huge bath room. Close proximity of Connaught Place (main shopping area) and airport Metro Station. Restuarant is clean, with good food and service, reasonably priced. Both staff at the front desk and the restaurant (Kishore at the resturant in particular) are pleasent and helpful. The only draw back is the noisy A/c, which we had to put up with during the first night, but replaced the following night. We stayed here from April 1 to 4, 2012

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is basic accommodation - yet has comforts of a good bed, very large bathroom, personal balcony, and satellite TV. We ate here for a week while participating in work meetings on-site and the food was excellent - well prepared and clean (not always the case in India). The Hostel is situated in a quiet part of town in a leafy area, yet is a comfortable walk to the busy shopping areas on Cannaught Place. Well worth staying at this place if you want clean rooms at a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel

Address: Ashoka Road, Next to Bangla Sahib Gurudwara, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Ywca Blue Triangle Family Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.