We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spacious rooms and quiet green spaces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel
Save
You added YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel to your Saves list
Ashoka Road, Next to Bangla Sahib Gurudwara, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice spacious rooms and quiet green spaces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at the YWCA Blue Triangle off and on for about 3 weeks and got to sample 4 or 5 different rooms. In general I was pretty satisfied. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are surprisingly spacious and the newly renovated ones border on luxury--especially the bathrooms. Most of the doubles have a balcony as well. A couple of the rooms need new mattresses as the old ones are very hard. The free breakfast was really greasy and unhealthy and after a while started making me ill, so I'd give it a miss if you're staying for more than a few nights--this is really an area they could improve. The location is very convenient--a 5 minute walk from the metro and a leisurely 15 minutes to Connaught Place (though I simply don't understand what the attraction is there!). All around a very nice stay, and I'll be back next time I'm in Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
5
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Located right in the heart of the city, it has compensated by cutting on the facilities offered. Rooms are old, furniture antique and fans noisy. I believe that one floor is called 'international' which is better but for most others, it is just a so so.
The hotel does not accept telephonic reservations and wants a check to be sent in advance which could be a big pain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

If a central location in New Delhi is more important to you than high quality accommodation then this is the place to stay. The YWCA Ashoka Rd is right in the heart of the city. Pick up an auto rickshaw and see the sights. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff are friendly and there is 24 hour check in and cafe. This is very cheap accommodation so don't expect too much. The downstairs rooms have newly refurbished bathrooms with good showers and hot water. Don't forget the earplugs, the noisy traffic is non stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This place is pretty basic, but much to be preferred to the alternative budget YWCA property nearby, the International Guest House (at least until the latter finishes a renovation that I was told has now been going on for four years). The Blue Triangle can be noisy with sounds from the nearby temple, and the breakfast included with the B&B approach is pretty basic (think nescafe for your coffee); but for its price and reasonably good location (walking distance to Connaught Place) it's good value. In the course of 90 days in India on this visit, I stayed here 3 times, and would do it again unless I felt like a splurge elsewhere. (No elevator, however, so you may have to climb up two floors of stairs to get to your room; ask for a ground floor room if that over-taxes your abilities.)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Staff is ultra friendly and helpful (especially night staff). Our room was huge, had a newly remodeled bathroom and balcony. The beds though were as comfortable as a a piece of plywood. After a few nights I got used to it. Other colleagues of ours had not so comfortable and spacious rooms. We lucked out I guess.

The meals were delicious and we even chose to stay and eat at the restaurant a couple of nights since the food was delicious and ultra affordable. Order the Vege Thali!!! mmmmm

The hostel is enclosed in a compound so you are completely safe. There are large lawns on either side of the hostel and a few times I took a book and sat in the sun to read and relax, no one bothered me.

The auto rickshaws from the YWCA to any other place in New Delhi should be about 60 to 80 rupees, max. But you have to barter the drivers down to get this price. Just tell them where you are going and then tell them your price. After a few times, they usually agree to your price.

Connaught Place is about a 10 minute walk away. Right next door to the YWCA is a Sikh temple which is definitely worth visiting.

Make sure to have plenty of small bills while traveling in India. NO one likes to give change.

Oh, and you can access the gym at the YMCA just around the corner. Just walk in and if the guard asks you, tell him you are staying at the YWCA. It is FREE!

Namaste!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed in YWCA - Blue triangle hhostel for one night in Dec-2010. Earlier also we stayed there in three occassion. Roomsare big and compartivly clean. You can not expect the 4* category cozyness - but it is Ok type and homely. With better mangement it coul;d have been made cozy to stay. Very safe for family. Location is great - closeto CP. Foods in th restaurant is not great but "solta hai" type. They put lots of spice - which was not favourite for our family. Altogether it is worth value for money

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beandelhi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

I read a review on this and thought that the person writing it was being unfair. After all it is a youth hostel. Having now stayed there her review could have been my own. The place has made me cross enough to write about it.

I got there and the the staff were very unfriendly, not a smile among them, the man who dealt with me was even glaring at me.

The room was nice thou, could have done with a lick of paint but otherwise clean there was a tv and a comfortable bed and an attached bathroom all very nice and reasonable or the cost.

However the tv remote didn't work and neither did the hot water. I complained the next day and they offered me a bucket of hot water. I'm sorry but I'm paying for a bathroom with hot water because I want a shower. They managed to get a trickle of hot water, not fast enough for a shower but enough to fill a bucket and wash.

The heater blew up when I turned it on, with a flash and a bang and smoke. When I went for dinner on the second night the food was barely edible and as I later discovered the waiters had charged me 20Rs for 15Rs water and claimed not to have 5Rs change so they cheated 10Rs out of me. When I challenged them they became quiet aggressive, as I was the only on in the restaurant I paid and left.

In Delhi as a single western female you spend all day trying not too get cheated or insulted. It would have been nice not to have had to deal with that at this apparently 'Christian' hotel.

Upon checking out they held me hostage claiming there was a towel missing from the room. I had to be somewhere and after 10 minute of this stupid towel business I walked out. At the gate I was stopped because they needed a checkout pass, which I hadn't got, by this point I didn't care if I never saw the place again but finally got away the checkout having taken half an hour.

The place had it's good points, I stayed for 2 nights and while the first night breakfast (watery porrige, cold toast) was vile the second one was very nice (ommelette, nice porridge warm toast) The tea served was stone cold.
The dinner food is fairly reasonably priced if pretty vile. The restaurant is a bit dank, think greasy spoon cafe and there was limited cutlery.

I'd say stay here but don't eat dinner here and check the hot water when you are shown your room and I hate to say it but I think if female, it would help to have a man with you to deal with the staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel

Address: Ashoka Road, Next to Bangla Sahib Gurudwara, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 581 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Ywca Blue Triangle Family Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA Blue Triangle Family Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.