We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great introduction to Delhi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Oakville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A really great introduction to Delhi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Kudos to this lovely little home away from home for doing it right! My daughter and I recently bought the package that included 2 nights' accommodation, breakfasts, a dinner, an ayurvedic massage (fantastic!) and a sightseeing tour of Delhi, and it was all good! The rooms are clean, the small hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff is so attentive and pleasant! Shanti gives you a tranquil setting with good security in a decent residential neighbourhood not too far from the airport. And, bonus--the great Metro system's blue line has a station just 5 min walk to the hotel so it is easy to get downtown. Plus their rooftop restaurant is an awesome place to have breakfast and dinner. A really positive experience!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    164
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
86
384
161
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

a family hotel and it's the staff that make it. We used it for an overnight stay but it's some distance from the airport so not a great choice. Food good, rooms very pleasant. They took time to make us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were very happy with our stay at Shanti Home. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful in any request we had. I had to go to a Citibank branch, and they were nice enough to personally take me to the bank to make sure everything went smoothly, without me getting lost or needing to wander around alone with a sizable amount of cash. I had the feeling that they would go out of their way to ensure that pretty much any reasonable request a guest has is fulfilled.

The room was extremely nice and clean, and the restaurant's food was excellent. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the moment you step out of the airport pickup taxi into the sidewalk of the hotel the staff begins their exceptional service. They greet you in their traditional ways and make you feel welcomed. Room was clean and so were the hotel common areas. Again, the staff was helpful in all ways you can possibly think of - from itinerary to souvenir/gift shopping. The food at the Latern rooftop restaurant was by far the BEST Indian food I've had in India and in NYC (where there is an abundance of Indian restaurants). Their food was never over salted and anything that comes out of their tandoori oven is ah-freakin-mazing. Believe the hype of the previous reviews. The restaurant staff was BEYOND exceptional. Complimentary breakfast always included hot food - eggs any way you like, and an Indian breakfast special different every morning). Their lassi was refreshing. We went on a day trip to Agra and they provided water and fruit for the road! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Shanti Home should be on the top of everyone's list when travelling to Delhi, its the most friendly, welcoming and beautifully indian hotel I had stayed in throughout my travels in India during December 2013 and January 2014.

Ravi, Hotel Manager was super helpful and welcoming making us feel like super star guests, we met some incredibily kind and helpful members of staff in particular the lovelyTul, waiter in the rooftop restaurant and Jaya the ayruvedic masseuse who hands are magical.

The decor of the hotel is magnificant, the food was delicious and the helpfulness of the staff was incredible. Thank you all for waving us off and a special thank you to the lovely lady in reception who walked us to the Metro station, we really appreciate your kindness.

Looking forward to staying with Shanti Home every time we are in Delhi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Shanti Home was the first hotel we stayed at on our India trip. It had been recommended to us by our travelling companion who had stayed there the year before. We took advantage of their airport pick up service although this is not a free service. On arrival we were met by the very gracious & friendly Pooja. We were then given a tour of the hotel before being shown our room. All the staff were very friendly & Ravi, Pooja and the team went out of their way to make it a very warm welcome to India. We stayed in the 'Bollywood' room which was lovely. The restaurant is situated upstairs on a roof terrace which is very peaceful. A very social space where you could get to chat with fellow travellers. The food was delicious & we even tried Indian wine which to our surprise was very good! We decided to take the metro to the Red Fort & Preti (not sure of the spelling!) kindly walked us to the nearest station & sorted out our tickets. The location maybe a little out of the way but getting a taxi is very easy. All in all, a really fabulous start to our Indian adventure. We would highly recommend this hotel.



Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Shanti Home after 10 days of traveling in India. We booked the 2 night Agra package. We were very happy with our decision to stay here.

Room/service:

Our flight ended up being 1.5 hours delayed into Delhi, despite us not being able to update the hotel, our driver was there waiting for us. It is located outside of the city, but opposite of traffic, and thus not much different in time to get from the airport to downtown.We were greeted at the hotel with a fresh beverage, biscuits, and bottled water. Bottled water was complimentary for our entire stay.

Our bags were taken directly to our rooms while we checked in and reviewed plans for our weekend. Our room was updated from premium to luxury at no extra cost, as a luxury suite was available. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

The Luxury suite included a soaking tub and rain shower. I was able to take a bath and my husband was able to shower without running out of hot water. Wifi was included and very reliable. I was able to download, upload, and stream videos/photos easily. Two common areas provide computers and library/travel guides as well. They have a movie room with selection of Bollywood and Hollywood films for free.

There is a small shop for souvenirs at prices as good as you will find in the markets, but selection is small. A room service menu is available at no extra cost. Tips are shared among all staff, so you can tip for all services at the end of your stay or leave in jars that are placed in common areas if you choose.

Our flight did not leave until late the evening after our check-out. After our day trip in Delhi, they allowed us to return and hang-out in the common area, use the internet/watch a movie, and arranged our transportation to the airport.

Food: Meals were served on the roof top. The temperature got down into the 50s as it was in January, but they had outdoor ceiling heaters making it comfortable with a sweater. The view was very nice, and we were able to see fireworks from downtown. The food was some of the best we had during our travels, and ended up having most of our meals here as a result. I highly recommend the tandoori chicken. Breakfast is served as part of your stay with selection of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit/squeezed OJ, muffins, eggs, crepes and a daily Indian dish, coffee and tea.

Agra Package: As part of the package we received a 1 hour message, followed by seam room & shower, and then served a pot of green tea in our room. The spa was reserved for just the two of us. We then received our complimentary 4 course dinner on the roof top. They provided bottled water, juice, and fruit for our trip to Agra. Our driver to Agra was very nice, spoke English, and warned us of tourist traps. The car was small for American standards, but standard size for taxi in India. You could request a larger car for $15-20 dollars more. The hotel manager helped us create a plan for sites to see during our day trip in Delhi, and provided excellent suggestions for cafés and restaurants.

Room Tip: Swimming pool rating is error.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#31 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.