We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Save Saved
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 598 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and multiple staff had stayed up to greet us warmly. They took the time to show us around the gorgeous facilities including the yoga room, massage room, library and general sitting areas. The place is decorated immaculately, the rooms are extremely clean and well-furnished. The restaurant at the top of the building is lovely. We were disappointed that we could not stay longer, but we only had one night scheduled in New Delhi. The one downside is the location of the hotel away from the prime tourist and shopping spots. For a quick trip in and out of the city, this is a great place to stay. For those wanting to be located in a more central area this may not be the right option, although we would not hesitate to recommend it for the impeccable hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    158
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
366
156
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cannot fault Shanti Home, from arranging to pick us up from the railway station near to the hotel rather than fight away through the crowds at Old Delhi station, to giving us the loveliest welcome of any hotel in India. The hotel is gorgeous, full of really beautiful artefacts and furnishings, with stunning lounges to read, play games, watch dvds or go online. We were delighted to be upgraded to premium rooms that were large, very comfortable, beautifully presented, pristine and just lovely restful places to recover in, with big modern bathrooms to enjoy. Great food on offer at the rooftop restaurant and I was so well looked after when asked about shopping. A Metro map was produced, the relevant stops were highlighted, shopping suggestions offered and I was accompanied to the Metro station by a member of staff. Shanti Home is only a short walk from a Metro stop and a half hour Metro ride from Connaught Place. Had only a brief stay here and enjoyed every minute, the staff were friendly and helpful, and would have really liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

As a starting point,on line booking direct with the hotel works very well so do not hesitate to contact them direct.
The rooms are reasonably spacious,especially the bathrooms and there are the very comfortable beds with their marble bases.Everything is spotless.
If you have the time,try the massage and the cookery course ! Breakfasts are above average.
You are very much looked after here,for example,the offer of a very pleasant staff member to walk us down to the metro on the first morning.Do use the metro to travel into the centre ; it has air con and is fast.
We would like to especially mention the help we had from Pooja when our booking for the next hotel we (thought)we had booked fell through.Basically,she got on the phone/web and sorted out an alternative for us ! Really beyond the call of duty !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

An oasis of peace away from the noise on the streets, this hotel offers a very warm welcome and superb service. The rooms and lounges on each floor are beautifully furnished and decorated with traditional carvings, pictures and icons to give a sense of stylish history. Large bathroom with walk-in shower was bliss after a long journey, and free pick up from the airport made our arrival very smooth. We were greeted with garlands of marigolds and an inhalation of scented oils - nice touch. The hotel organised very reasonably priced, air conditioned car trips to Agra to see the Taj Mahal and Red Fort, and sightseeing around Delhi to maximise our limited time. We also took advantage of an Ayurvedic massage in the spa room after a long day out in the heat. The rooftop restaurant has its own tandoori oven and cooks really tasty dishes, with your particular needs in mind. The only downside is that although great for getting to the airport, it is quite a long way from the main sights of Delhi, and it can take 1 1/2 hours by car to get to these from the hotel, particularly in the morning rush. However, overall, it was a really comfortable place to stay and the staff couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived at Shanti Home from the airport. We'd heard that Delhi can be overwhelming and exhausting. The serene calm of Shanti Home meant we found Delhi delightful. Pooja and her team really take trouble to make sure guests are well-looked after. Its about 40 minutes away from the centre of town by metro, and on the first morning a member of staff came with us to the station and helped us to buy our tickets. We also had a wonderful cookery lesson with the chefs - great fun. All the food in the restaurant was very good, but the Tandoori Chicken was the best I have ever tasted! We returned for the last night of our holiday, and it was a perfect way to end a wonderful holiday. One of the staff came with me to the local sweet shop to help me buy Indian sweets for work colleagues. Such kindness. I know there are cheaper places to stay, but I am really glad we chose Shanti Home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've been to lots of hotels but shanti house takes some beating. Firstly, it's a guest house and not an antiseptic McDonald's style international hotel. So you feel you are in India rather than a hotel anywhere. It's owners stress home style accommodation and you feel you are staying with friends who try and ensure your stay in Delhi is a good experience.
For instance, I was having problems as an overseas applicant trying to get my Indian rail tickets to Jodhpur, Jaipur and Agra. For those of you who have tried you'll know what I'm talking about. It's a real pain. So I emailed shanti with my chosen rail times (the schedules are easy to find on India rail) and Pooja at Shanti booked all my seats. I offered to send her payment but she said no, I could pay after I arrived. A lovely surprise in this day and age.
They arranged my transfer from the airport seamlessly. Next they transferred me to a conference hotel where I had to attend using that chain of hotels. The contrast was striking. Next they transferred me from my conference hotel to old Delhi station for the start of my train journey. The driver taking me to my booked carriage. Brilliant.
After 7 days travelling they met me again at Delhi station for my last night at Shanti before flying home to Brisbane. It was just like coming home.
Shanti welcome you and take care of you in every way. There are no TVs in the rooms, but there is a library and TV room. The rooms are large and decorated in tasteful Indian style with en-suite bathrooms. They have a spa and massage if you want them. The terrace restaurant on the roof is a delight. The food is superb and the service excellent. They can't do enough for you.
As for the metro it is just a short walk away. On my first day there, Pooja allocated a young man to take me to the station and showed me how the system works. It's also a good way to get used to the hub hub of Delhi. I suggest you get the tourist or pre-paid tickets rather than the single journey tokens. It's much easier and saves time buying tokens at each station. Queues can be long and they like small change. So buy an all day tourist card at 100 rupees or minimum 150 rupees for a pre-paid, but not time lapsing card. Rush hour is a squeeze, so expect it. Otherwise the metro is a good way to beat the traffic jams.
The staff at shanti they are superb. Nothing is too much trouble. Advice offered is to save you, time, money and make your stay in Delhi enjoyable. They booked me a cyclo tour of old Delhi and it was well worth while. Highly recommended. Pooja is a gem and she kept track of me throughout my travels by email. She also gave me a mobile to use in Delhi (in case I got lost or needed help) and on my trip. I returned it on my last day. Beat that for service!
If you come to Delhi you can't beat the Shanti House. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Delhi.
Jim

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is tidy with beautiful rooms and an extremely friendly and helpful staff. When we arrived there we were a little bit exhausted after nearly four weeks in Nepal and India, but what we found there was beyond any description. It started with a wonderful wedding cake the staff had prepared for us a s welcome present (it was our honeymoon...). During the following two days we spent in this hotel this place met all the high expectations evoked at the beginning with considerate and friendly people, be it at The Lantern (the wonderful restaurant on the roof top), at the reception desk, or the masseur and the cleaning personnel. There is just no other option than awarding full 5 out of 5!
Daniel & Marie (Germany)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#6 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.