We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hats off to Shanti Home - wonderful hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FESTIVE SEASON SPECIALS
Ranked #3 of 607 Hotels in New Delhi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hats off to Shanti Home - wonderful hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Shanti Home for the second time - it was my parents first visit to India - and there could not have been a better welcome to this country! The service which personalized everything from our arrival, our transfers, the cooking class we did, to the booking of our massages in the hotel made us feel at home. Every level of the hotel has an area dedicated to comfort - a lounge, a movie room, a computer area etc. The rooms are spacious and homely. Everything has been accounted for! And Chef Adel and his talented team - never have we eaten curries / tandoori so delicious! Breakfast was also a wonderful start to each day. An incredible place I would highly recommend - we can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    163
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
86
381
158
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed at Shanti Home in New Delhi twice in May as I traveled in India and flew out of DEL. The hotel is located on the outer northwest section of New Delhi so is a bit further from central New Delhi but was very nice home base for my time in Delhi (both Old and New). Lobby is in the lower level (from street) and other 3 floor go up from street level with elevator available. Roof top restaurant is on what would be the 4th level.

Rooms I stayed in on 2nd floor were well appointed and had individual AC units (critical in late May or June summer temps) along with ceiling fan. Bed and sheets were very nice as was the bathroom with rain style shower head and individual hot water heater for the room. Ceiling fan in bathroom turned out to be huge help as I washed a couple shirts on the sink and they were dried under the fan breeze within 30 minutes.

Complementary bottled water in room every day was great. Also, plenty of power outlets for the computer, electronic and photographic charging needs. Complementary WiFi worked well in both room I stayed at.

Common area on each floor is really a nice space with room to spread out, AC and nice artistic touches along with India and Delhi-related information and historical reading materials.

Staff was excellent, very attentive and went out of their way to ensure every need was met at all times. This includes not just the hotel staff but the security folks, and all restaurant staff as well.

Rooftop restaurant (The Lantern - Terrace Garden Restaurant) had incredible food with very large portions (chicken Satay appetizer is a meal in itself), ice cold glasses for a chilled beer and fans for cooling on a hot May night all made for a very relaxing and enjoyable meal. Great selection of food both for breakfast and dinner and everything I had was excellent.

Nice selection of silk scarves and other souvenirs on the lobby to choose from.

Only drawback (and this is only applies if you want to explore the nearby area) is that the hotel is in a residential area that is not normally frequented by tourists. The hotel itself sits away from the road in a gated area and is very safe but make sure to talk with staff regarding areas to avoid and if going out at night.

Room Tip: I stayed in a premium room (Goa) which was very nice. They have a step up "Luxury Room" f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Shanti Home exceeded my expectations by far. The staff helped plan our short stay in Delhi and organized a city tour and trip to Agra/Taj Mahal. We were also provided a mobile phone for our stay. The rooms were eclectic and felt authentic. Not just boring hotel decor. The massage I had was wonderful and the rooftop restaurant was excellent. Nothing bad to say. Comfortable bed, clean room, modern bathrooms. It was an oasis in Delhi. Only 25min drive to airport so perfect for early morning departures. I would certainly stay here again if I found myself in Delhi again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I will give them A+ , every thing was better than we expected, food, rooms, staff, every thing was wonder full, I recommend this small family like hotel to the people who likes nice and friendly hotel, we had very good time and enjoyed every bed of it, thanks to Pooja the manager with very special well com.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed at about a dozen different hotels and guest houses in Delhi and Shanti Home is the best by far. The hotel itself is very clean, quiet, set back from busy roads, and beautifully decorated. The hotel staff were incredibly accommodating, going out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The rooftop kitchen serves excellent fare and they even offer a cooking class where you make your own dinner. It was a really fun experience! They have clearly thought through the needs of travelers, offering complimentary airport pickups, great wifi throughout the building, complimentary laptops in the lounges, and even mobile phones on loan. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Exceptionally friendly and comfortable, Shanti Home is a wonderful place to stay. Great rooms -each with a different decor - and a fantastic restuarant on the roof terrace. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great couple of days and couldn't have been better.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best service, value for money, helpfulness, great breakfast, nice dinners, we were given a complimentary upgrade on our last stay to a premium room which was lovely however the standard rooms were exceptional as well. Clean, private, ambient, wonderful interior design, free wifi and computer access, comfortable beds. Great people. They gave us a mobile telephone to use for the duration of our stay in India even when we travelling around and not staying at the hotel. Helpful with directions, advice on getting around Delhi, airport transfers. Our perfect hotel. If there was a Shanti Home in every city we travelled to, we would have stayed in it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.