We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 599 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with very efficient staff.We stayed on our last night before flying home so found it a perfect place to relax.Great place to stay at any time.
Best breakfast we had all holiday

Lesley and David . Honiton Devon

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    158
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
368
156
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel Shanti Home is just a cracking hotel. It's not too far from the airport which is a plus, especially for first timers not used to Delhi traffic- just keep looking out the side window in your taxi! It is a boutique hotel with only 12 rooms, very clean, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food served in..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Shanti Home is just a cracking little hotel. It's not too far from the airport which is a plus, especially for first timers not used to Delhi traffic- just keep looking out the side window in your taxi! It is a boutique hotel with only 12 rooms, very clean, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food served in the roof terrace is delicious and fresh cooked and the beer comes in iced glasses. There is a laptop for guests' use and they can even provide a mobile phone for using while in India. They will also provide help and advice for trips in and around Delhi. I spent a couple of nights here before going on a tour and can honestly say I was really looking forward to going back to Shanti and got the warmest welcome from the fantastic staff. The only word of warning is that there are a few steep steps which are unavoidable but there is a lift which covers 3 floors. It is also in a quiet location so easy to get a good night's sleep in the very comfy bed.

Room Tip: I was in a room on 2nd and 3rd floor and both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We liked the Shanti Home hotel in Delhi, particularly its airy roof terrace with views over the surrounding houses, because it was small, quiet, the food was good and breakfast was included (best gulab jamun on the trip and the breakfast buffet was fresh and varied) and the staff were friendly, attentive and smiley. It also provided little extras which more snobbish hotels chains (like the Trident in Agra) don’t, such as flower garlands on arrival, complementary tea (brought to the room) throughout our stay and free wifi. On the downside it was off the tourist trail though a nearby metro station meant it wasn’t totally cut off and our premium room was a tad scuffed (a cupboard handle was missing and the safe didn’t work) and could have done with more decorations, but it was clean, large and relatively quiet which is all we require from a city hotel. We’d definitely stay there again, especially as we really (and surprisingly for us who aren’t urban fans) liked the little we saw of Delhi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just returned from a fantastic trip to India which I began and ended with a stay at Shanti Home. India is pure magic but in the first days after arrival it can be a pretty intense experience for travellers, especially for those visiting for the first time. I highly recommend Shanti Home as the place to ease your way in. The staff couldn't be more kind and helpful, the rooms are gorgeous and the food is delicious. And Pooja, the manager, is super sweet and great at arranging and advising you on whatever you want in terms of your time in Delhi and beyond. They really take care of you. I read the review above about the location not being great. Yes, there's a lot going on in the area--a market and major bus stop--but that's India, so jump on in. The metro is really close and it's a great transportation system with the first car of every train reserved for women only and if you aren't interested in experiencing a little of the crazy Delhi street life, then Shanti Home will arrange a car to take you wherever you want to go and it's very reasonable. In my opinion, Shanti Home is an excellent choice and I'll stay there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first trip to India, a long-awaited dream. Being in Delhi proved to be hectic, noisy, wonderful, challenging and exhausting so that coming back to Shanti Home at the end of the day was a treat. The hotel is quirky and charming with a great rooftop restaurant serving good food. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly and when we returned at the end of our two week holiday it was like coming home! Twice we had to get up at 3 in the morning - once to catch a train and then to catch our flight home - and the staff were so accomodating with early morning cups of tea and snacks. it is some distance from the centre of Delhi but you get an insight into important aspects of life in Delhi you would otherwise miss so I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent our first two nights here on our first trip to India and it was a great place. It was a bit of a splurge for us but it was worth it. The hotel itself is charming. The service was top-notch - manager Pooja was very helpful with booking our train tickets. The food on the rooftop patio was some of the best we had on our trip. The included breakfast was superb.
We also appreciated the use of tip-jars, which avoids the potential awkwardness of having tipping staff individually.
The only down-side is the distance from the center of the city, though we used the metro as our primary means of getting around, so it wasn't much of a problem. A staff member took us to the station the first time - not what I'd call a relaxing stroll, but hey, this is India.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#7 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;