We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great and satisfying experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Save Saved
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great and satisfying experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is the 'Jewel in the crown' of a visit to Delhi. Peace and tranquility deep in this vibrant city yet only some 25 minutes from the international airport.
Very much a 'boutique' style hotel, family owned and managed; the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for the weary visitor.
The vibrant roof top restaurant serving wonderful food 24/7 allows for a clear view over the rooftops into the city. Very peaceful and a delight to visit.
Cannot praise this hotel enough and a refreshing change from the rather boring 'international' style hotels so many of us are used to.
Tony and Stella Williams March 2013

Room Tip: Stayed twice and didn't have a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    153
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
357
153
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was a great find. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The décor is absolutely fantastic with themed bedrooms and beautiful old Indian antiques throughout. The bathrooms are much better than they appear in the photographs. All the staff were friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived to when we left - nothing was too much trouble. We were given a guided tour of the whole hotel on arrival and notified of what was available there. The restaurant is also excellent on the roof top and in our opinion it offered the best food we had eaten throughout our 3 week holiday in India. We will certainly be taking advantage of visiting again and booking in for some cookery lessons next time. The waiters and kitchen staff were extremely helpful making great suggestions for what we should eat. It was so lovely that when the staff found out that it was my birthday that they brought a surprise birthday cake to our dining table and all the staff came out to sing happy birthday - it was just magical and I can't thank the staff enough for making my birthday very special. We also appreciated all the help we had with the hotel organising and arranging our full day of Delhi sightseeing. We have stayed both here and at the Radisson Blu Plaza and we can confirm that the Shanti Home beats the Radisson Blu Plaza on all service levels and in our opinion costs too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bollywood - it was great with a 4 poster bed. No view out the window but that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A colleague and I stayed at Shanti home while visiting Delhi and Agra. The hotel staff was extremely attentive and gave us excellent service! We were greeted with a welcome drink and hot masala tea and cookies brought to my room after check-in. My room had a lovely 4-poster bed, which was very comfortable. It was on the street-side, but I never had any issue with noise.

The first day of our visit was Republic Day, and the hotel staff planned a lovely 8 course dinner of "old" recipes for all of the guests in their rooftop restauarant. It was a really nice event to meet other guests and exchange stories. The rooftop restuarant is half open-air, the other half (main-dining area) is covered. Even in the cool evenings, the heater lamps work work very nicely. All dinners and breakfasts were delicious, and the service was extremely attentive (but not over-bearing).

The hotel arranged taxis for us to visit Agra and - on another day - to visit Delhi. They took care of the taxi fees in our hotel bill, which elimiated our worries about haggling over the price at the end of the day. And the prices for the all day taxis they got us were very good.

Shanti Home also offers yoga and cooking classes. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to take advantage. They also have a small "store" where you can pick up any souveniers you might want.

I would highly reccommend Shanti Home as a base for visiting Delhi and Agra! I would reccommend it for couples, friends, families with children, and solo travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in Shanti Home two times during my trip and both times everything was perfect. The rooms were beautiful, service very friendly, breakfasts and dinners delicious (you can also eat and watch Indian movie in a tv-room...) All people working in Shanti are really professionals and doing their best. The metro is near but we also had pick ups from airport, trip to Agra and whole day shopping in Delhi by car, Shanti took care of all this. Thank you, Shanti people!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tricky to find but once you're there it's fabulous. Very very good food, gorgeous roof terrace, uber-attentive staff who couldnt have done more to make us feel more welcome. We had mendhi done on the roof whilst having a drink before dinner and there was also the opportunity for yoga and cookery class which we didn't have time for. The perfect place to stay in Delhi as it's near the airport. Western standards all round with authentic Indian charm throughout. We loved it and cannot wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We (one couple) stayed at Shanti Home two nights while in Delhi from 12-13 Feb 13. We chose Shanti Home primarily based on Tripadvisor reviews. I feel the positive reviews are accurate and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We booked Shanti Home directly via email and arranged for an airport transfer thru the hotel. When we departed the baggage claim area at approx 0100 hrs, a driver was waiting for us. The hotel is located in a quiet location. Our room on level 1 was about 10x11 (feet) and adequate for our needs. There was a common sitting area outside our room. This area expanded our living space. There is a laptop computer in the common area for use by
guests. This common area was especially nice since it gave me an area to sit and read or browse the internet without disturbing the spouse. Breakfast was included. We ate our other meals in their restaurant and the food was very good. Shanti Home also made arrangements for a car and driver, which we used for day touring in Delhi, and a separate car and driver which we used for a two day trip to Agra. I would suggest that any agreements you make with Shanti Home regarding the use of the vehicle are conveyed to the driver in your presence. I I would stay at Shanti Home again, but my spouse would prefer a more central location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Four of us stayed at Shanti Home recently. A real feel of India in a local small hotel. Quaint, cute, interesting with lovely attentive staff. Take breakfast and dinner on the attractive roof top bar / dining room. Terrific food from very skilled chefs. We can't recommend this hotel enough. We loved it! And they are to open one in Goa soon. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.