We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay with excellent tandoori restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 666 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay with excellent tandoori restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a short stopover here on the night before our departure back to the UK. But this was much better than an airport hotel....the place is nicely and quirkily furnished....we were staying in the amusingly titled "Oh Calcutta!" bedroom (the rooms are themed). Our stay was short, as we had to depart to the airport early in the morning, but the highlight was the excellent rooftop tandoor restaurant...cooked before your very eyes! The bed was rather hard, and it is worth having earplugs as the environs are noisy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stravaiger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our arrival at Shanti Home was warm and welcoming, especially after a long day of travel. However, before booking this place, there are a few things you should know.

Firstly, the location is terrible. It is a good 35-45 minutes on the metro to get to Connaught Place. The walk to the metro station is another 10 minutes, and through some pretty bustling and busy streets (both vehicles and people). I found this to be a massive inconvenience and if I had known this were the case, would have stayed somewhere closer.

The rooms are nice, however there is no TV in them. I know this isn't really a huge deal, but it is nice to unwind at the end of the day by watching some TV as I head to bed. The only TV is located in a communal lounge room on level 2.

The rooftop restaurant food is tasty, however fairly limited and quite pricey considering Indian prices. The rooftop itself is nice and the waiters are very attentive.

I'm not sure if this was just India itself, but the staff seemed to be trying almost too hard to service your every needs in the hope you would tip them. I'm not sure if this was just me, but the way the staff came across, although helpful and attentive, seemed to have an underlying motive.

The only other negative was the cost of the rooms per night. I think the prices are a little high considering the above mentioned factors.

Overall, I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to the traveller wanting to explore the sights of Delhi with minimal fuss. The distance outside of the main areas of Delhi was far too much of an inconvenience for me.

Room Tip: Level 2 has the TV. Level 4 is the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a fantastic boutique hotel that is beautifully decorated and maintained. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we were even escorted to the nearby metro station over a terrifying main road! It has a stunning rooftop restaurant and bar serving fantastic food (almost as good as food from best restaurant in Delhi). The only downside is its distance from Connaught Place and Old Delhi (30-40 minutes minimum by taxi or metro) but otherwise would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived late at night and were a little unsure of the place - it seemed very bright and although we were shown around, it seemed to lack the welcome we had received at other places, however we certainly changed our minds the next morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful, someone even came to the metro with us and sorted our tickets out. The breakfast was lovely and all freshly made but the highlight was the divali dinner, The owners invited us to join in with their celebrations and made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and the rooftop restaurant was the place to view all the fireworks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Shanti Home on our first visit to India in October this year. It was our first stop on a long trip, and we treated ourself to the two day package complete with sightseeing round Delhi, airport transfers, dinner, massage and trip to Agra.

I have to say that this hotel deserves all of the excellent ratings it receives on trip advisor. Service was very efficient - Pooja on reception was great before and during our trip. We were collected without fuss from the airport early in the morning, greeted at this little haven with flowers, namaste, juice and tea, and given an early check in to our room.

The room was huge, cool and clean. The entire hotel is beautifully furnished, our room included, and wifi works well everywhere.

Our drivers for our two day trips were great, the cars were clean and air conditioned and recommendations from the drivers were good. We even got a packed lunch from the hotel.

The massages were...vigourous...but just what we needed after the long flight, we felt great afterwards.

The rooftop restaurant is just amazing. Then food is absolutely delicious and the ambience is lovely, a great place to retreat after a day's sightseeing.

The hotel owner and the chef make a special effort to come out and talk to guests in the evening which is a really nice touch and makes you feel valued.

My hat comes off especially for the wonderful staff here - smiley, helpful, professional and efficient. I left my phone in my room on my day of departure and had to drive back for it. The staff meanwhile had turned the room over, found my phone, and were waiting for me at the hotel gate with a big smile when I arrived back, hassled and worried.

Congratulations Shanti Home - we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat_W2DWTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Once I found Shanti Home on TripAdvisor, I felt comfortable traveling alone to Delhi after a week for business elsewhere in India. Shanti Home did not disappoint. I was picked up at the airport and greeted warmly in the hotel. After a day of sight-seeing, dinner was fabulous, and the guests talkative and interesting. Everyone was friendly, so I did not feel as though I were dining alone. The trip to Agra and back made for a long day, but my driver took great care of me! The massage was wonderful; a perfect end to a whirlwind tour and a great way to begin my long journey back. I highly recommend Shanti Home. My only regret is that I could not have stayed longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

we have nothing but praise for the staff of shanti home ,we were met at the airport on time with a smile and namaste
we hired the hotel car and a day out was organised for us to see what delhi has too offer
the food is excellent andnothing was too much bother we even had a 3-30 am breakfast before departing .Excelent visit i hope to return christina Folliard

Room Tip: lower rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 666 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 666 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,812 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 666 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#10 of 666 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 972 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 666 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,257 reviews
8.6 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#19 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing