We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shanti Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Save Saved
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shanti Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our first stop in India, the Shanti Home was a perfect place.

We have experienced a very high level of personal attention and genuine desire to make things happen , they really do listen, every single member of staff knows who you are and what your plans are so everything happens when you want it to, they genuinely seem to care. We have left some of our bags with them , as we traveled to the tiger reserves and on returning for 1 night again left some bags as we traveled to Darjeerling. They dropped our bags at the airport on our outbound flight again.

The terrace restaurant was fabulous, lovely food and a ice cold beer shandy .

The staff at the Shanti go above and beyond, the facilities are excellent, our rooms were perfect, clean .
I would definitely choose the Shanti Home if staying in Delhi again and recommend it to anyone. It is so much nicer to stay in a small establishment with personal attention, Well done

Room Tip: Any room , they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    153
    35
    15
    4
See reviews for
85
357
153
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was very impressed! Drivers were waiting right on time to pick up me and my family. I had cramps when I arrived at 4am and the receptionist immediately provided aspirin free of charge. The room was comfortable, clean and stylish, with lots of nice cultural touches and little snacks. When my family's driver was delayed departing by airport parking attendants the hotel management offered us a free massage for our trouble. An English speaking driver for a tour of Delhi was quickly arranged at a reasonable price. The rooftop restaurant was cute, obviously some effort had been put into the design, and the mojitos were great!!! It is rare to find this level of customer service. Staff were uniformly warm and welcoming, and I appreciated the personalized letter in the room asking us not to tip individually, but to leave something for the whole team at the end if we were happy with the service, which we definitely were and did! Only downside is the location is out in the suburbs, but well worth the taxi ride into the city center.

Room Tip: This is a boutique hotel; each room is special and individually designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and as a lodgings it was very good with clean rooms, comfortable beds and good size bathrooms. The shower set up is a sunken bath that you have to step up into and then step down into. If you are a bit unsure on your feet this could be a potential slip hazard.

Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of fare, and some decent coffee!

Collection from the airport was on time and waiting for our arrival. We had a delhi day trip booked and when we arrived the reception did not know about it even though I had a confirmation, all quickly sorted though.

AC in out original room started to drip water and we had to be moved to another room, all handled very smoothly, but still inconvenient as it meant extra packing and unpacking.

The most worrying thing for me was the onset of 'delhi belly' when I left the hotel at 2am to catch my flight home, as we had not eaten at any other food establishment since our arrival in Delhi I can only presume it was contracted here. I saw some dubious food handling at the Tandoor area on the roof. The chef moulded sheek kebabs onto the skewer and then put it beside the prep area with the tip of the skewer on the ground while he did something else. I am not saying this was the cause but it was contracted here as I am best placed to know how my body reacts.

There seems to be a communication problem here because as well as the day trip confusion we were asked what kind of tea we would like at 2am with our wake up call. Our choice was relayed to us by 2 different people at 2 different times and on its arrival we were provided with some other type of tea. I know its trivial, but it does highlight a breakdown in communications.

All in all a pleasant enough stay marred by an incident that has tarnished my stay. I would recommend this to others for a well priced hotel reasonably close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is brilliant, the hospitality is warm and welcoming and the food served in the rooftop restaurant is fantastic. The staff are all friendly and polite and they will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your visit. The rooms are traditional in style ( I stayed in 3 different ones on separate visits) they are spotlessly clean and bottled water is provided in the room. The en-suites are also very clean and shower jel, soap & towels are provided. The rooms I stayed in did not have a TV, it didn't matter to me, but there is a great TV lounge with large flatscreen TV if you want it. Laptops and wi fi are available free of charge. You can get advice and book trips and drivers through reception and airport pick up and drop off can also be arranged - which is great if you feel you need that little bit of extra support with organising things.The hotel does not have a swimming pool but If you are looking for a small hotel as a base which provides excellent customer service and offers a safe, friendly place to stay then I highly recommend the Shant Home in Delhi :) Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: The rooms all have names, try Goa, big queen bed, good AC and small balcony with street views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Shanti Home recently and very much enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is quite a distance from Old Delhi; it was a good 50 minutes by car (with heavy traffic) and is a 30 minute metro ride from the old city. The metro is high quality and makes up for the distance out of the city center. It is located in a neighborhood, which gives the visitor a realistic sense of Delhi; dirty, fly ridden fruit stands and all. But that is part of what India is about, so don't be put off by the walk; it is perfectly safe.
The service was absolutely excellent; very attentive staff, friendly and always ready to help. After being told that it was my wife's birthday on the day we arrived the staff greeted us with a birthday cake and a round of "Happy Birthday".
The food at the rooftop restaurant was excellent; the best we had in our 10 days in India. Our room was spacious, with plenty of hot water and comfortable bedding.
We highly recommend this pleasant place away from the commotion of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side but were never bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Delhi was the last city of our itinerary in north India, it's not so easy to find there a very good accomodation at a reasonable price.
Shanti Home has been the best solution, it is located not so close to the city center but it is well connected, with a metro station in the nearby and the possibility to get pick-ups and drops from and to either the airport or the train station.
Even if your arrival time is quite late in the night you receive a warm welcome with a garland of flowers and the possibility to have something to eat from the restaurant served in the room.
Our luxury room was very clean, wide and traditionally furnished. We even found a very kind welcome letter from the hotel on our huge king size bed.
The area around is very quiet and we strongly suggest to have a dinner in the roof restaurant of the hotel, a very smart and romantic place with reasonable prices and a very kind staff.
If we will be again in Delhi we will surely stay again at this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had a wonderful time in India. I traveled throughout India with New Delhi being my first stop. The staff at the Shanti Home helped make the first leg of my journey very memorable. I'd like to send a special thanks to Pooja Rajpal for helping me with my toy give away. All in all, if you're planning a trip to India, you should seriously consider the Shanti Home. Oh, the food was top notch as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Charming, Roman...
Show More
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
City Center, Po...
Show More
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#5 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, City...
Show More
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#3 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Biden Pura
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#13 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#18 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.