We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanti Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Shanti Home to your Saves list
Shanti Home
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“love this place :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This hotel is brilliant, the hospitality is warm and welcoming and the food served in the rooftop restaurant is fantastic. The staff are all friendly and polite and they will go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your visit. The rooms are traditional in style ( I stayed in 3 different ones on separate visits) they are spotlessly clean and bottled water is provided in the room. The en-suites are also very clean and shower jel, soap & towels are provided. The rooms I stayed in did not have a TV, it didn't matter to me, but there is a great TV lounge with large flatscreen TV if you want it. Laptops and wi fi are available free of charge. You can get advice and book trips and drivers through reception and airport pick up and drop off can also be arranged - which is great if you feel you need that little bit of extra support with organising things.The hotel does not have a swimming pool but If you are looking for a small hotel as a base which provides excellent customer service and offers a safe, friendly place to stay then I highly recommend the Shant Home in Delhi :) Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: The rooms all have names, try Goa, big queen bed, good AC and small balcony with street views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    164
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
86
384
161
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Shanti Home recently and very much enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is quite a distance from Old Delhi; it was a good 50 minutes by car (with heavy traffic) and is a 30 minute metro ride from the old city. The metro is high quality and makes up for the distance out of the city center. It is located in a neighborhood, which gives the visitor a realistic sense of Delhi; dirty, fly ridden fruit stands and all. But that is part of what India is about, so don't be put off by the walk; it is perfectly safe.
The service was absolutely excellent; very attentive staff, friendly and always ready to help. After being told that it was my wife's birthday on the day we arrived the staff greeted us with a birthday cake and a round of "Happy Birthday".
The food at the rooftop restaurant was excellent; the best we had in our 10 days in India. Our room was spacious, with plenty of hot water and comfortable bedding.
We highly recommend this pleasant place away from the commotion of the city.

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side but were never bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Delhi was the last city of our itinerary in north India, it's not so easy to find there a very good accomodation at a reasonable price.
Shanti Home has been the best solution, it is located not so close to the city center but it is well connected, with a metro station in the nearby and the possibility to get pick-ups and drops from and to either the airport or the train station.
Even if your arrival time is quite late in the night you receive a warm welcome with a garland of flowers and the possibility to have something to eat from the restaurant served in the room.
Our luxury room was very clean, wide and traditionally furnished. We even found a very kind welcome letter from the hotel on our huge king size bed.
The area around is very quiet and we strongly suggest to have a dinner in the roof restaurant of the hotel, a very smart and romantic place with reasonable prices and a very kind staff.
If we will be again in Delhi we will surely stay again at this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had a wonderful time in India. I traveled throughout India with New Delhi being my first stop. The staff at the Shanti Home helped make the first leg of my journey very memorable. I'd like to send a special thanks to Pooja Rajpal for helping me with my toy give away. All in all, if you're planning a trip to India, you should seriously consider the Shanti Home. Oh, the food was top notch as well!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

If your seeking value for money, this is the place. Authentically decorated hotel with spotless rooms. Staff that really want to make your stay unique and comfortable. Ask for any help or advice, you get it. Restaurant on the top floor with exellent food and breakfast with different choices. The only negative side is that you don't want to leave the place. :-) Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our first stop this time in India, the Shanti Home was a perfect oasis and the ideal place to escape the whirlwind that is Delhi each evening.
Greeted with a drink our jet lag was clear! A little chat and plans were made for later in the day, a tour of the hotel facilities and we were left to rest, when we awoke, later than planned timings were rearranged quietly, a snack on the terrace and our driver for the evening was waiting for us.
We have stayed in some of the top hotels (and did so on this trip) but it has been a long time since I have experienced the level of personal attention and genuine desire to make things happen as we did at the Shanti, they really do listen, every single member of staff knows who you are and what your plans are so everything happens when you want it to, they genuinely seem to care.
We used the hotel cars both in Delhi and beyond and Anou, our driver(hope I am somewhere close with the name!) was an absolute star with a permanent smile, he got us everywhere we needed to be when we needed to be - despite our constant lateness and the hairraising early morning drives... Itinieraries were put together by the hotel managers after listening to what we wanted to do and see. The Metro is close by and if you want to use it someone will walk you there and ensure you have your tickets, maps etc:
The terrace restaurant was fabulous, attention to detail and decore results in an oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle, so much so you can totally forget where you are which is sometimes welcome after long days in Delhi.
The food was fabulous, freshly prepared and varied, breakfasts were wonderful too.
We had a very early start when leaving, half an hour before fresh toast and coffee were brought our room, our driver was ready and waiting and our bags were collected, we left with a food pack and water.
The staff at the Shanti go above and beyond, the facilities are excellent, the room was perfect, clean and constant hot water with a great shower, daily cleaning and change of towels.
The wi fi worked perfectly but there was also a complimentary laptop available if needed.
Mustn't forget the massage!! It was completely different to any I have ever had and did lead to fits of giggles, but I felt absolutely wonderful after....
I would definitely choose the Shanti Home if staying in Delhi again..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at Shanti Home at the beginning of our trip to India and it was the perfect place. Before we arrived the staff helped us book train tickets for the routes we needed as part of our trip and they were very responsive to any questions we had. They also sorted out pick ups and a driver for the day in Delhi.

We arrived early in the morning from the UK and they were able to give us an early check in which was great. The room had all we needed and was very clean.

On the rooftop the restaurant served fabulous tandoori food and the staff were really friendly and attentive.

The location is not right in the heart of things but it is easy to get the metro into the center.

We are back in Delhi for one night at the end of our trip and have booked in again at Shanti Home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanti Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Home

Address: A-1/300, Janakpuri, New Delhi 110058, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#25 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanti Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 exclusively designed rooms & suites, Shanti Home in New Delhi is perhaps the only choice for the discerning traveler looking for more than just a room. Shanti Home reflects India's spirit in a harmonious blend of tradition & contemporary sophistication Exquisite interiors, impeccable service and fine cuisine combine to create an experience that is warm and intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanti Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanti Home New Delhi
Shanti Home Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanti Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.