We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as the pictures....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indraprastha Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Indraprastha Hotel to your Saves list
Indraprastha Hotel
17A/54, W.E.A. Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India (Biden Pura)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as great as the pictures....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

the staff were good, expect the driver (night) failed to turn up to pick up from the airport. So do have the full address as the cab driver from the airport could not find the place for ages. Rooms are spacious but dated. The Hi Fi internet did not work- i changed hotels because of that plus the lift was not working. In addition to that u dont get much choice for breakfast and had to stay mainly in the room. The hotel has a day driver - quick and street smart- that helped. Near the tube/ metro.

Draby place with no frills but reflects the price, you should not pay more than 1200 to 1500 rupees including all taxes as abt 500 more takes u into a different class in the same vicinity.

Suggest you book for a day and than extend your stay if you like the place.

  • Liked — NA
  • Disliked — Very Dated,
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indraprastha1, Manager at Indraprastha Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Well we do apologise for the inconvenience caused to the guest but the issues have been construed. The hotel car went for the airport transfer and the driver waited two hours and the guest never showed up. The guest reached the htoel directly in a taxi. The guest could have called the hotel if he did not find the driver. The lift as mentioned was under repair along with the wi fi as there had been a major short supply. This was repaired the next day and this is something which is not in our hands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
7
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Everything it's ok. Room, bathroom, the staff. Good place and good people. They help you with a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelindiaM, Owner at Indraprastha Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the warm words of appreciation.
We were fortunate to have you stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

The airport pickup guy had to wait 2 hours for our late plane - no problem, he was there and we connected easily (this was at 2am in the morning!). The middle of the night arrival at the hotel (we came from the U.S) was a bit of a shock, but it turned out to be perfectly ok. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is right within easy walking distance to all kinds of shopping as well as to the (excellent) subway station. (subway costs 8 roepies one way). The only (sort of) complaint is that there was a bit of noise up until about 11pm. The clean rooms did not provide top sheets on the bed (we did not care as we carried our own). The food at the roof top restaurant is marginal (we only tried breakfast), but there is an excellent restaurant within walking distance on the same road (called "Tempting").
This hotel also arranged a car for us to return to the airport (750 roepies). All worked out great!
For a day auto rickshaw drive for around $20, we would highly recommend Bill, phone [--]. He is quite trustrworthy and will show you a great time! Tell him, Dutch recommended him!

  • Liked — The very friendly personel
  • Disliked — a bit noisy at times - not really a problem for us.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelindiaM, Owner at Indraprastha Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the warm words of appreciation.
We were fortunate to have you stay with us and hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

I came back from a one week trip to New Delhi and surrounding areas. We stayed in a budget hotel called Indraprastha at Karol Bagh. Its situated on Tank Road nestled between Ajmal Khan Road and Gurdwara Road. Right next to it is the Bengal Sweet Center. The hotel is decent. I travelled with my whole family (wife, 2 kids and mom). We stayed in a double room with extra bed. A/c room. The room size was not big but given our family size I have no complains. The hotel is generally clean and the management in general helpful. They have a 24hr travel desk and offer airport pickup for a fee. For Rs 1740+12.5% tax it was a decent deal (inclusive of Rs 350 for the extra bed and including breakfast which was not that great and served by a very serious guy) . Karol Bagh is quite central and the hotel is right next to Ajmal Khan road with can be a shoppers delight. Plenty of restaurants around. Their website is
[--]

Don't go by the pictures in their website for room size. My double room had a single queen size bed

Of the big indian cities I have visited, Delhi seems to be the cleanest, seems to have the best roads. Drivers also seem to follow traffic rules in general within the inner city and also seem to be mindful of the omnipresent traffic cops. People sitting in the front seats have to compulsorily wear seat belts.

The people in general here are tough. Plenty of street arguments especially traffic related. They don't seem to smile much and they have a very in-different attitude to providing service. I'm told that people here are very status conscious and money matters a lot. Although I didn't take a auto-rickshaw I heard they are a rip-off. Delhi has a lot of historical sites. For the kids there is Zoo, Appu Ghar, Doll Museum etc. Although I didn't try it, there is also a boat trip along the lake next to the old fort. The most impressive of the places for me was the red fort for all its history and fall from grandeur.

I visited Haridwar/Hrishikesh/Agra/Mathura/Brindavan. Very impressed with the roads/highways. Concrete and the trafiic moves very smoothly. 100kms is vey do-able.

I stayed overnight at Haridwar at Ganga Azure near the railway station and in the market. Not bad. Again clean and reasonably spacious for the prize. Rs 1500 for 5 (incld kids) for one night inclusive of taxes. The Har ki Pauri (Ganges) is a decent walk from here although there are plenty of rickshaws for Rs 15/-. The restaurant at the hotel is pretty Ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Indraprastha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indraprastha Hotel

Address: 17A/54, W.E.A. Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation with 3 star facilities and personal touch to all the guest is our motto and service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Indraprastha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indraprastha Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indraprastha Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.