We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for vampires...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Asian International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Asian International to your Saves list
Hotel Asian International
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Janpath Lane, New Delhi 110001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not for vampires...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

As soon as I entered the room, there was a smell of garlic. Vampires, beware!
The bathroom was good. The TV didn't start which doesn't bother me. breakfast was okay-ish.
Like other reviewers mentioned, yes, the bed sheets had stains... pale yellow... enough to gross you out ;-).
What's shocking is that they have 4+ stars! ...hmm, I wonder!
The only good thing about this place is the location. You can walk up to the India Gate, etc.
There are a few polite people here but mostly the politeness hints towards tips... if not paid or paid less, they give you a look that's quite capable of making you feel guilty. Don't look into their eyes!
I don't know much about the hotels in Delhi and their standards, so I can't compare. The same evening I had dinner at the Indian restaurant, 'eau de monsoon', at Le Meridien(a 5 star hotel close by), which was another depressing experience. The waiters literally started hitting each other in front of the customers :-D... not sure what caused the fight, but that got me thinking, may be Hotel Asian International is a decent hotel in Delhi? :-).

Room Tip: Carry your own bed sheets and towels if you don't want to be grossed out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
3
4
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Colleagues and I in Delhi on business stayed for a few days at the Hotel Asian International. Reception is antiquated - details have to be entered into a book - no computerised system. Rooms were spacious but not clean. Beds were comfortable, Breakfast was okay but the dining room was in need of renovation. The elevator broke down in between floors and I'm claustrophobic so that was scary. One of the staff prised open the doors and we were faced with a solid brick wall - not happy about that! We got out after a few minutes but after that I walked up & down 4 floors. Needless to say, on our return to Delhi after a few days in Chandigarh, we changed hotels. The Most Magnificent Hotel Marigold comes to mind!

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHINA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

If you are not looking for extravagance with gyms, pools, lavish restaurants, then Hotel Asian International is a very good bargain; approx US$65/night with breakfast. The people at the hotel are very courteous and helpful.

It is right next to Royal Plaza hotel, which is twice the price as Hotel Asian. I didn't find much of a difference between the rooms at Royal Plaza and Hotel Asian International. The rooms here are clean and concise. The view may not be pleasant but tolerable.

One has to walk past the four local shops and the milk bar that serves locals; espcially the taxi drivers lurking around Shangrila and Royal Plaza hotels. Not the most clean atmosphere but if you approach from the Janpath lane from the Connought place side, it is not as bad.

Located on Ashok road has quick access to Patel Chock Yellow line or Janpath Violet line Metros. Connought Place is a 5-10 minute walk with easy access to bars/restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The hotel is located in the center of the city. The room looks good, but the cleaning leaves much to be desired and the sheets are dirty. I doubt they ever change them. We spent just one night and for sure would not stay longer. The price is relatively high for this level of cleanness.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Recently traveled to Delhi for a client meeting!stayed in Asian international hotel on Janpat marg.
Hotel rooms are very small.The tariff was very high with the amenities provided to me during my stay.Location is a real advantage but tariff seems to be quite high.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights..Rooms had everything you can desire from a hotel located in downtown..friendly front office staff..food deserves special mention..The frills like a swimming pool gymn are missing but they have everything you need..great location, 2 minutes walk from the metro, wifi, tea coffee in the room, courteous staff..hearty buffet breakfast spread..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A tired hotel with broken TV and wifi service not at all good suggested the wifi problem was ours not theirs booked in but left after a hour not impressed.
The room, lobby, lift just everything just didn't have the friendly hotel feel
Towels grubby I could go on but guess you've got the picture

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Asian International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asian International

Address: Janpath Lane, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asian International 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want a hotel in downtown New Delhi, near Connaught Place and India Gate then look no further than Hotel Asian International. Hotel Asian is one of the most centrally located hotels in New Delhi in a peaceful neighborhood just off Connaught Place. In this privileged position, Hotel Asian offers a friendly atmosphere, just a few minutes’ walk away from Connaught Place, Hanuman Mandir, Jantar Mantar or local shops at Janpath. The nearest Metro station, Patel Chowk is 300m.Founded in 1977, Hotel Asian International prides itself on high levels of personalized service and good food made with passion. What makes us stand out, however, is the genuine hospitality and authentic warmth which is part of our cultural heritage and inspires the feeling of being home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Asian International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Asian International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.