We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad- but certainly not good either. Only if strapped for cash” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tara Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Tara Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Esplanade Rd, Opposite Red Fort | | Old Cycle Market, New Delhi 110006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
The Hague
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“not bad- but certainly not good either. Only if strapped for cash”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I guess it's all about location. And with that I don't mean the shabby neighbourhood the hotel is located in, with garbage piles, busy small alleys and quite a bit of noise. I mean that it's 5 minutes from the amazing Red Fort, and very close to India's biggest mosque Jama Masjid. What can you expect from a one/two star hotel? It's clean and cheap, and the service is quite well organized. The promised airport pickup turned out to be a prepaid taxi with a hotel employee, since the company car allegedly had mechanical errors. Nevertheless, the guy was there to pick me up, pay for the taxi and guide the driver to the rather obscure alley. Return to the airport was quite a different story: (over) paid 14 dollars for a sleepy driver who nearly fell asleep several times behind the wheel, AND had to get gas just before reaching the airport...

Room is clean and orderly, restaurant is quite good, food is tasty - and I guess they don't have an alcohol license, because you have to pay your beer separate from the bill. Expect to pay at least three times as much for the beer than its real value. But rest of the food is very cheap.

Would I recommend it? Only if you're strapped for cash. It will be easier to get a cab from anywhere in Delhi to the tourist areas. But if you want to stay there, it's not really a very bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    179
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
46
154
78
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

All marble floors, hot water usually comes from the shower as well as the faucet, very good Indian breakfast or okay Western breakfast, located near Chandri Chowk, Jami Masjid and Red Fort but away from other main tourist areas, and hard to find by yourself. WiFi in lobby. Space heaters in rooms for cold nights. Airport pickup and breakfast included in price. Associated travel agent next door is quite competent and can suggest alternatives, just be sure to stress what YOU want.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I have just returned from 5 months travelling, 6 weeks of which were spent in India and now being in a position to compare all the places we stayed, I cannot recommend this hotel.

First, as other people have mentioned, the location is terrible. The hotel is in Old Delhi which is a tough place to base yourself anyway, especially if it's your first time to India, but to make it worse he hotel is a stone's throw from a festering rubbish tip down a dirty alley. When we went back to Delhi a second time we stayed in the area near New Delhi Railways Station which was much better.

Second, the servive left a lot to be desired. We book the hotel because they offered pick-up from the airport, but when we landed there was no-one to meet us and it took several phone calls and over an hour for him to arrive. When we finally got to the hotel, although we had booked and paid for a premium room, they only had standard rooms available and so we had to make do with a small window-less room even though we had paid for a better room.

Third, and along the same lines, is the price. When we booked this hotel from the UK we paid GBP 26.00. After being travelling for 5 months I can now see how outrageous this is! When we returned to Delhi we stayed in a comparable place in a better area for just GBP 5.00. Accommodation is India and Asia is so affordable that for the price of this hotel you could check into a really nice place.

On the plus side, the hotel's restaurant was good, but that's about all I can find to recommend it. There are MUCH better places for your money in terms of location, servive and value - don't make the mistake of checking in here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The hotel provides a free pick up from the airport which was a great blessing given that after flying for 15 hours the last thing we wanted to do was negotiate with a taxi driver and try to find the hotel which is a little hard to find for the first time. The area around the hotel seems awful (which we already knew so didn't get scared) but it is very well located near three important Delhi attractions: Jama Masjid, the Red Fort, and the Chandni Chowk market. From the moment you enter service is incredible, they'll help you with whatever you want. The rooms are spacious and spotless clean. The beds are very comfortable, and our room had a tv, desk, closet, and small coffee table. The bathroom is very very clean, there is no division between the shower and the rest of the bathroom but it is very spacious and has plenty of hooks and shelves to hang your clothes and towels so it's not an inconvenience. The hot water is available 24 hours a day and you don't have to hurry your shower since the hot water doesn't run out. The hotel has a restaurant that serves delicious food plus the breakfast that is included and has like five options from Indian to Western. It also has room service from the restaurant 24 hours a day. Other than the breakfast it takes a while to get the food to you, but that's only because they're cooking it for you fresh and you can order and have them call you when it's ready or take it to you room. The waiters are incredibly nice, like I said service is impecable. Even the day we left one of them ran up and down the hotel to find me a fruit I could take with me.
A huge plus for us also was that it has a website which provides reservation and availability information instantly (no need to write email then wait for reply and also the rooms do look like the pictures in website), besides if you need to contact them they always reply fast. Also, we hired from them a car and driver for the day and all in all was the cheapest price we got for a car for several hours in Delhi.
It has one computer available with internet and printing free of charge, plus there is wi-fi free only in the lobby per India laws. Laundry is also available at a very reasonable price.
I highly recommend this hotel, it has a lot of ammenites and provides comfort you would expect to find in a pricier hotel without the large price tag.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I've stayed at Tara palace on two occasions. It is tucked away in the heart of old Goa down a little alley way. You wouldn't expect such a nice little hotel in this area. The rooms are very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The hotel has an excellent travel desk, staffed by a friendly fellow named Rameez. He organized many of my day trips including a two week tour of Rajasthan. Overall I was really happy with my stay at Tara Palace.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for 3 nights during our trip to India. Based on good opinions I have read on TripAdvisor I booked this hotel directly via Internet (email). The price was 2200 Rupees for a double room with breakfast with free transport from the airport (other similar hotels expect around 400-500 Rupee fee for transport).

The hotel is located pretty far from airport (about 1 hour drive) in a very strange surrounding. Everywhere around, all buildings look old, destroyed and dirty. There is big market around just outside the hotel, where you can buy many different things (especially fruits and vegetables). ATM machine is also very close, we used it 3 times without any problem. Close to the ATM machine is McDonald's (we preferred to eat in Indian restaurants, but they are located farther than McDonald's).

People on the streets are very poor, usually all they possess are their clothes. On the other hand the location is good because it is pretty close to Red Fort and Jama Masjid (about 10 minutes walk to each one). We felt safe during the day, but in the evening we run back to the hotel and preferred to stay there.

The staff is helpful, they helped us to buy train tickets to Agra. The car on the way back to airport costs around 600 Rupees.

The room was ok, nothing special but clean. We were there in January so it was pretty cold, especially during the night, but the hotel staff provided us with electric heater. Good information is that we had hot water in the morning and evening - during other period of the day you just need to ask the reception.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

Loved the hotel, the staff, and room service! For the price, the hotel can't be beat. I've stayed in other hotels in Delhi and they weren't nearly as nice. The hotel is very clean -- the staff seem to be cleaning everything around the clock. The marble floors are very pretty. I appreciated that the hotel was hidden down an alley within the cycle market.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace

Address: 419 Esplanade Rd, Opposite Red Fort | | Old Cycle Market, New Delhi 110006, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#53 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tara Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.