We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tara Palace

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tara Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tara Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   419 Esplanade Rd, Opposite Red Fort | | Old Cycle Market, New Delhi 110006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Tara Palace for five nights in December. From the free airport pickup the staff at this hotel were very helpful. They offered fast and efficient service at breakfast, with room service and any other requests. The rooms were very basic, and the beds quite hard, but it was pretty clean. The location was good, but sometimes a little overwhelming for female travellers...men everywhere! Most taxis, auto and rickshaw drivers knew the hotel which was convenient. A two minute walk to the wonderful Chandni Chowk. Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    171
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
143
74
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geeveston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Arrived to find we'd booked for the wrong month. No problems, late checkout (10pm) for minimum cost. The staff we all very friendly, not tip pushy, and the front of desk staff were exceptional in providing support and information. Food was excellant. The large roof area with views helped make it very child friendly. Clean, comfortable and excellant value for Delhi prices. Outstanding location - metro, Chandhi Chowk, Red Fort and Jama Masjid - but not touristy or tout filled. Actually easy to find the hotel as everyone knows where the cycle market is and once there all locals know where Tara Palace is.

Room Tip: super deluxe is worth it, didn't find the rooms noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I endorse some of the other recent reviews on TripAdvisor. I thought this hotel was pretty good value at about AUS$40 per night (full breakfast included) given the very convenient location a couple of minutes walk from Chandni Chowk and 10 minutes walk from Red Fort and Jama Masjid. The hotel is 60/70s vintage, slightly dated decor, but very, very, well maintained and very, very, clean. The hotel probably originally targeted the business market. That market has largely moved on and most clients now are travellers who can afford that bit more for comfort & convenience and middle-class Indian families. I didn't see any tour groups while I was there. Service was good and staff helpful. A pickup from New Delhi station at ~2300hrs was complimentary on request. Rooms were not very well soundproofed but the guest profile is not a noisy one. It was not that easy to find down a narrow lane off Esplanade (meaning the pickup was useful), but very decoratively lit outside at night (which raised my eyebrows, but on entry it is clear this was a totally respectable establishment). Security was good. The hotel didn't heavily promote it's restaurant, however I ate there one night because I was tired. The menu (veg) is reasonably comprehensive, well priced and I was surprised how good the food was considering I was the only guest eating there. The menu was available as room service for a small surcharge. I was offered (and accepted) a late checkout (7:30pm) for an extra Rp750. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The approach to this hotel is unpromising, via a narrow alley in one of the most crowded and grungy parts of Old Delhi. Don't be put off however; it is clean, comfortable and excellent value. The first bonus is the free pick-up from the airport, just what is needed to avoid the hassle of hotel and taxi touts. Two of the city's prime sights, the Red Fort and the Jama Masjid, are nearby. In fact if after a long day's outing you hail a rickshaw and want to avoid the usual nonsense about the hotel being burnt down, just tell the driver to take you to Lal Qila and walk the further 5 minutes.

The rooms are spacious and spotless and the TV has more channels than you know what to do with (including Star Cricket of course!) The staff are helpful and efficient; one afternoon when I had forgotten to leave my key at the desk, the receptionist called in the three-man team who made up the room in 2 minutes. The restaurant is quite good too, and worth using because there is little else in this part of Delhi.

The only drawback is that the marble corridors make noises from other guests carry but on the plus side, there wasn't any noise from the street.

Note to Tripadvisor: I would say this hotel is not in New Delhi but Old Delhi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've stayed in more than a dozen different places - from the best hotels in the city like the Oberoi and the Imperial, through pleasant suburban B&Bs and budget place - but this is the one I return to because it's just such a great place.

The location in the heart of Old Delhi will be a bit of a shock for first timers to India but anyone used to the place will love being in an area surrounded by 'real' people. Odd as it might sound I enjoy leaning out of my window to wave to the neighbours having a shave or cleaning their teeth on a roof top.

The airport pick up is a great bonus - don't expect a limo, it'll be a tiny Indica and you might have your luggage on your knees. Reception staff are excellent - they'll give any help you ask for but won't push you to buy tours or rent cars like so many Indian hotels do. The rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy and the small restaurant is cheap and serves tasty food. Breakfast is included in all rates.

For £30 a night for a super deluxe (OK, it's a bit of Indian hyperbole but the room's absolutely fine) this must be the best bargain in Delhi. From the rooftop you can see the Red Fort, the Jama Masjid and the Jain Temple. Sometimes even the Gurudwara. I love this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner corridor are quieter but lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For my first trip to India I chose a more adventurous start by choosing this hotel located near to one of the busiest streets I have ever experienced (Chandni Chowk).
It is located down a dark and narrow alley in the heart of the old cycle market which can be a little difficult to find the first time. The hotel however is surprisingly good for the area. Large and clean room and bathroom. View from the small balcony was on the rear of the hotel between the rooftops but was interesting to see the living style of the people living there.
The little restaurant in the hotel served good food at reasonable prices and there was a wide choice for breakfast.
The hotel is ideally located near to the Red Fort. It is quite distance from the main tourist areas but the metro is not far away and convenient to reach the main attractions.
I would recommend this hotel to the more adventurous type of traveller (if it is a first time trip to India) otherwise it is suitable for all those who are looking for a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We took advantage of the free airport pick up, the driver was not there when we walked out... 15 minutes later we saw him walk over and then hold up our names. We then waited 10 minutes for the taxi to come. Once we were on our way the driver was lovely, got to the hotel and was surprised the reception staff were not as friendly as we read on trip advisor, they also were not very helpful either. Our room was ok, we then ordered some food and was asked if we would like to eat on the roof.. it was Divalli so the fireworks going on and we got to see them all, it was great. This was a good touch to the hotel and the food was good as well.

Room Tip: I would defo recomened you take advatage of the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2-star, Budget...
Show More
Minto Road
Hotel Harjas Palace
Hotel Harjas Palace
#372 of 594 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Hotel Broadway
Hotel Broadway
#165 of 594 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
Chandni Chowk
Hotel Pitrashish Grand
Hotel Pitrashish Grand
#316 of 594 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
Minto Road
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#9 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Hotel SunStar Grand
Hotel SunStar Grand
#32 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Biden Pura
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#13 of 594 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tara Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara Palace

Address: 419 Esplanade Rd, Opposite Red Fort | | Old Cycle Market, New Delhi 110006, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara Palace 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tara Palace is a friendly hotel which provides comfortable accommodation, free breakfast and free airport pickup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace New Delhi
Tara Palace Hotel Delhi
Tara Palace Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tara Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.