We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Five Star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On The House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added On The House to your Saves list
On The House
B-4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110029, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 918 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Totally Five Star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

On the House B&B is totally worthy of five stars. The owner arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport (we paid of course) and he waited even though our flight was over 2 hours late. We arrived around 9PM and the staff was helpful and friendly. They carried our bags up the stairs and got us settled in for the night. We were in the pine room which was so lovely and spotlessly clean. There is a TV, mini fridge, and plenty of clean towels and a lovely basket of toiletries. I was most impressed with the staff who were so helpful and cooked an amazing breakfast of parantha, omlets, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee and tea. Loved the breakfast! It is very easy to get an auto rickshaw to the Green Park metro station from here as well, or a 15-20min walk. Internet is also available. I am very happy I stayed here and would definitely stay here again if I return to Delhi.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were beautiful. There are five in all and all have a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    59
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
54
50
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A colleague recommended On the House for our forthcoming overnight trip to Delhi and we emailed to ask if we could stay. We were delighted by the prompt response - and once we got to the B&B, we were even more delighted by the decor and the facilities on offer. Comfortable, friendly, great price, wonderful breakfast, good location - what's not to like? The only problem, though very slight and perhaps limited to just our room - was the slow shower. Everything else was great and we plan to go back - again and again. (They have only three rooms to rent at a time so we plan to give as much advance notice as possible).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed at 'The House' for the first time in Oct/Nov 2011 for a total of 9 nights, a family of 5, two adults and 3 children (age 15,12 & 5). Within minutes of arriving we knew we had made a good choice and felt very at home. We had two large en-suite bedrooms next to each other which were very clean and had everything you could need and more. Breakfast was very nice, especially the aloo parathas! Ashish cooked us some lovely dinners at a very reasonable price and Roger was great at helping us order more western food for the children. Location was great for us and easy to get around from on 3 wheelers/taxi's. There is an atm, money changer, photo shop, beer shop etc within walking distance of 'The House. We were lucky enough to be there for Diwali, the older children had such fun with Deepak and Roger with the decorations and fireworks, it really made their holiday special.
I would certainly recommend the House for anyone wanting a comfortable homely stay in Delhi with excellent staff, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at 'On The House' for 2 nights recently. It's a very nice B&B with a helpful staff (they even arranged for our taxi to airport transfers and for intra-city travel), great location (South Delhi), good breakfast and an overall nice and comfortable experience. I would definitely recommend this to fellow travellers, or even for first time visitors to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed at the On the House during Oct 12 to Nov 2, 2011.

I basically look for the following: cleanliness, good home-cooked food,
helpful staff and location. On all these counts, I found the place
meeting my expectations. In addition, the place is so tastefully
decorated with almost spritual, beaufiful art objects. Kalra family,
our family friends from our younger days, are prominent
interior decorators based in Delhi who visited me at the
guest house. They were all praise for the way the place
is decorated, they spent 30 minutes just looking at the
objects!. The choice of the art objects and their
arrangement by Ms Aradhna Lanba makes the
the whole experience so pleasant.

Ashish cooks food "from the heart" - in his own words.
Delicious, hygenic food. Roger cheerfully looks after
general needs. Deepak is a happy young man keeping
the place clean and shinning.

Their drawing room (living room) is a great place
to enjoy a cup of tea very properly served by
Ashish who always remembered my tea time!!
I thoroughly enjoyed my many tea sessions
there making full use of the small library in there.

I look forward to staying there on my next visit
to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very friendly stuff. Beatifull rooms, original design.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

After searching for the perfect place for a small family gathering and place to stay, I saw the On the House Bed & Breakfast. I love the homey bedrooms with all the needed amenities. My fiancee and I stayed during the hottest month in India, and even in that August visit, we were comfortable. The staff is courteous, and went above and beyond our requsts, the owners are easy to communicate with for questions, and the place was incredibly delightful. I love the themes of the rooms, and it feels incredibly like India. The rooftop terrace has all the incredible details perfect for our needs! LOVE IT! Excited to return many many times in the future. The view out of the Pine room balcony is lush and GREEN! You're in the trees! (Bonus - I have been to Delhi many times, and the location of this B&B is a cleaner, greener, better Delhi then I have ever seen.)

Room Tip: All the rooms include bathrooms, Pine room has no room next to it - which is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to On The House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The House

Address: B-4/120 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110029, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 918 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'On The House' - More than just a place to sleep. A place to rest your soul! No hotel, however grand, gives you the feel of home like this lovely South Delhi bed and breakfast does. Centrally located in Safdarjung Enclave, it is situated in a modern park facing building convenient for morning walks in a quiet, peaceful and secure environment. It has five luxurious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms, broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, In-house Library, Colour LCD TV, electronic safe & refrigerator. Welcome Drink, complimentary breakfast & Tea/Coffee anytime is 'On The House'. For other meals you can order in-house or delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your On The House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On The House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.