We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport to your Saves list
Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi 110 037, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #547 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Air India was entirely at fault for my missed flight, and they made me stay in this dump. I am including pictures of my room--paint peeling off the wall, dilapidated ceiling in the bathroom, dirt on the bathroom floor. Elevator does not work. Terrible internet. Front desk staff gave me incorrect time for return to airport. Swimming pool green. Landscaping a disaster. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    19
    25
    116
See reviews for
27
26
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEWDELHI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I visited this hotel around middle of June to explore the possibilities and viability of organising my son's Wedding Reception in its very big and spacious Banquet Hall. But I was very much disappointed to see the condition of the so called five star hotel. The disappointment started from entry itself. There was 9pm in the night and there was not a single security guard at the main gate to either check the vehicle, it's contents or the bonafides of the entrant. There was complete dark in the parking area and from outside one could make out that not a single room was occupied by guests as not a single light was on any any room.

I did not have to go to parking area to park my car as it was complete dark there and there was plenty of parking space near porch, but to my astonishment I saw one old discontinued Maruti 800 car parked nearly with inches of dust on it, implying as if it was parked there months ago may be belonging to some staff. No guest will come to a five star hotel in such a dilapidated car.

At the entrance gate to lobby, surprisingly, there was no security personnel or Long bearded darban. We just opened the door ourselves to enter the lobby, the view of which was horrible.
I am tired of writing the worst condition of the hotel as a whole with a lift being repaired, atrium ceiling ceilings broken due to seepage all around and stinking everything, dirty sofas lying in the lobby, which were not actually dry cleaned since months.

On the whole, in nutshell, it is not a five star hotel, rather a Godown waiting to be closed down.
It seems there is no management al all to run this hotel.

I fail to understand when there are lot of new hotels come up in Aerocity why the Airindia management not looking for a deal to sell it to a willing buyer ? It will offset some losses of Airindia.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel was in a very bad condition. Poor quality of staff, rooms, furniture, ambiance etc.. Too many mosquitoes in room.. No hot water.. Unlabelled mineral water in room with broken seal.. Will not even give 1 star to the hotel..

Room Tip: Pls find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

first time i came to centaur was in early 90s. i remember the big huge atrium , with fountains running,, all the passengers of with cancelled flights were accommodated there for free from the airlines. hotel is very very big. my father ordered onion pakoras in which 8 pieces were there for 60 - 80 rs. there was a bible in each room. it was a great experience.
lately, i went there to stay again in November 2012. i was lost in my old memories of playing & running everywhere.
this time after more than 20 years, the shine , spark of the hotel has gone. the water fountains were dry,, something is missing,, maybe the X factor.. i am not able to describe. the rates were reasonable 5000 per night. the restaurants are ok.. the ice cream is too expensive. the waiters are older than the hotels most of them in 50s, with silver hair... the rooms are old, there is no bible in rooms now.. technology is not there,, bathrooms are big. rooms face the swimming pool ..
in the end its a very nice government hotel.. i wish the government spends money on renovation, changing all the old carpets, the decoration ,, the restaurants,, get young energetic staffs.
since all the latest brand of chains of hotels are coming near IGI airport,, centaur will be the "big daddy of all hotels" if it is still the same,,, or renovate,paint & scrub the building and give give tough competition to the rest... i will still stay in centaur,,if i get a chance.

ALL THE BEST

Room Tip: love the hotel,,,it stands alone, in its place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I landed up here instead of landing in Ahmedabad from Delhi due to flight overbook by an airline. It might have been a beautiful rich hotel, but now a disgrace. It was sad to see horrible state of such a huge property at the prime location of Delhi.
Food is bad, service is poor, cleanliness is bad. But if you order anything outside their set menu is exorbitantly priced. At least AC worked and bed was there to spend 6 hours!

Room Tip: On reception area looks good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was placed in this hotel by Air India since my connecting flight in Delhi was cancelled. Had I known what I was in for I would have stayed in the airport at the MUCH nicer, and cleaner, and more convenient Eaton Smart Hotel (it is a bargain too, considering it's about $12 an hour to stay there).

The Centaur looks like it's from the Soviet-era Communist regime. The lobby area looks deserted and dark, with stained furniture that looks filthy. The room was not much better; the bathroom was dirty and there was no hot water. I was delivered a bucket of hot water when I complained.

This place should be a last resort but as I said, the Eaton Smart Hotel inside the airport itself is such a nicer and more pleasant place to stay. I'm not sure how this Centaur place is still in business to be honest.

The one plus side to my visit was the delicious Indian food buffet served in the lobby's restaurant (the brightest and most pleasant area of the entire hotel). The butter chicken, roti bread, paneer and other dishes were some of the best indian food I have ever had (and I have eaten a lot of Indian food, because I love it!). Who knew a place like this could deliver such a good meal, but it's a shame the rest of the hotel is not up to the restaurant's standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is only fit for one thing - to be torn down. We were given no choice but to go there when an Air India delay failed to connect us for our London flight. Air India told us it was a five star which it may have been 40 years ago. Now, is a crumbling, mildewed wreck.

The whole, huge building reeks of damp. There was no hot water in any of the four bedrooms that we were shown. Walls were crumbling owing to damp, on all floors, in corridors and bedrooms. Loos splattered everywhere when flushed. The 'business centre' is the size of a cupboard with seriously dodgy wiring hanging like spaghetti. The food, let's not even go there; five bowls of stuff sitting on a dirty table. Pool; closed of course but wouldn't have swum in it if paid, ugh.

This is a seriously dirty, nasty place and only by dint of bursting into genuine tears of distress did we manage to get away.

Shame on you for even being open, and shame on Air India for forcing hapless travellers to go there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport

Address: Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi 110 037, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centaur Hotel, Igi Airport Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel New Delhi
Centaur Hotel Delhi
Centaur Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centaur Hotel, IGI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.