We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He Ram!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi Smriti

Gandhi Smriti
5 Tees January Marg, New Delhi 110011, India
23012843
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Small Group
$34*
and up
Gandhi's Delhi Small Group Adventure Tour
Ranked #7 of 215 Attractions in New Delhi
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mahatma Gandhi's home while in Delhi and the site of his assassination.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“He Ram!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was apparently Gandhi's last words and are inscribed on a piece of black granite at the site of his cremation. I was hoping like some of the last couple of reviews that I would find this place very peaceful and serene but unfortunately experienced the exact opposite. Immediately our guide started telling us about the memorial we were surrounded by teenage boys and although they didnt do anything or even say anything it was extremely intimidating. Gandi's final words come to mind "Oh God"

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    198
    62
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“MUST VISIT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The place has many valued items used by gandhiji. It takes less than 1 hour to complete touring the place.
childern need to be taken as they learn about value of simplicity

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL POINT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Solemn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was a nice stop on our tour. Also the Gandhi Memorial. The grounds and buildings are nice to see, but for the most part, visitors will be reading descriptions of pictures, or words of Gandhi or words about him. Worth seeing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Humbling and serene place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

If you have an admiration for civil rights leader Mohandas Gandhi, or are interested in the freedom struggle in India, this is a must-see. Basically this is the house in which Gandhi spent his later days. It may sound unbelievable, but the place exudes peace and warmth, and that feeling is added to by the surrounding gardens and mini-museum with Gandhi photos, quotes, and memorabilia (his specs, watch, etc..). There is also an air conditioned theater where you can watch a biography on Gandhi.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“we prefered the old Gandhi Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This one is too modern. 6 years ago we wisited thhe old small Gandhi museum and it was nice. We couldn t find it this time. We are not sure if this was the one and it is now modernised.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Smriti also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gandhi Smriti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi Smriti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.