We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful - worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi Smriti

Gandhi Smriti
5 Tees January Marg, New Delhi 110011, India
23012843
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Gandhi Smriti like an insider
Small Group
$36*
and up
Gandhi's Delhi Small Group Adventure Tour
Ranked #9 of 336 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mahatma Gandhi's home while in Delhi and the site of his assassination.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very peaceful - worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Gorgeous surroundings, Gandhi Smriti is definitely worth a visit. Very peaceful and quiet - and you can buy flowers to leave on the tomb as a sign of respect

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    238
    74
    12
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
652 reviews 652 reviews
358 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“An Excellent start to our visit to India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second trip to India and we were determined to learn more of the background that has lead to the creation of The Nation that India is today. We arranged to go to the Gandhi Smriti aware of the significance of the site as the last residence of The Mahatma and where he was assassinated in 1948. On commencing our visit we walked down the covered way that contains a whole series of storyboards relating the whole history of India from early times to the present and we could not have hoped for a better start to our understanding. We ended up spending twice our expected time on this section alone. Following that we spent time in the garden where Gandhi last walked and where the footsteps set in concrete provide a poignant reminder of that time. Later we entered the main building with further detailed exhibits and we particularly enjoyed the series of small scale models depicting important moments in The Life of Gandhi. Very interesting and unusual. As a nice surprise we ended our visit on the Upper Floor looking at and enjoying some of the modern art exhibits explained by excellent museum guides

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful and informative day for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Visited in Summer (June) from 11 til 3:30 (inside closes between 1:30 and 2). Plenty to see and experience both inside and outside. Some of the information repeats both inside and outside. Majority of outside information is under a covered walkway. Outside grounds are large, were well maintained and peaceful.There are a few benches scattered around for a quick rest and picnic. When inside, an interactive area is upstairs. Good for adults and children alike. I used the toilets outside, were reasonable...as always bring own TP, soap etc.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting and inspiring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If I had more time in Delhi, I would spend it at this museum. There was so much information on the walls about this inspiring man, I did not have time to read all of it. The grounds are beautiful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“hamara baapu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

excellent experience...one can hear the baapu's voice. in a recorded tape which is installed in the musuem....

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Smriti also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gandhi Smriti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi Smriti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.