We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foot Steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gandhi Smriti

Gandhi Smriti
5 Tees January Marg, New Delhi 110011, India
23012843
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #8 of 259 attractions in New Delhi
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mahatma Gandhi's home while in Delhi and the site of his assassination.
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Foot Steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Gandhi.s last steps have been implanted on the ground, fasinating and full of history if your in Delhi its a must.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    157
    50
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love it. Walking at the same places Gandhi did or seeing his glases or his sandals, It was subreal. I love this place so so so much. I had to walk a lot though. Despite this inconvenient I enjoy it very much. The entrance is not free but you pay what you want or you can. It´s amazing, breathtaking.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, NJ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“A Great Presentation - multimedia high tech & basic simplicity. The combination works!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved Gandhi Smriti - only wish I put aside more time to do it justice. Lots of great quotes from Gandhi & helpful 'docents' explain the attractions in every room. It was nice to visit something that is so 'forward thinking'- kind of like Gandhi himself.

We were there during an art exhibition & many painters & book sales people created a festive feel to this otherwise serene place. Staff is helpful & the museum is free - (no hidden tips/fees/charges - which is rare *and welcome* in Rajasthan.

So much to see & do is tucked into the indoor space - my only suggestion would be to have better outdoor signage (as we wandered a bit around before finding the indoor museum & almost missed it).

I highly recommend & if i revisit New Delhi, I'd likely swing by again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Serene and respectful place that, knowing the history, should be on everyone's itinerary. The museum contains lots of information about Gandhi and the interactive exhibits are excellent for kids of all ages (we loved it!).

Take time out to consider your own philosophies on life.

Use Racecourse metro and it should cost you 20R's for a rickshaw or if you know the way a walk of 20 minutes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ghandi smriti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a good place to visit ans interesting to read and see the different parts but I got groped by a random school child and had another random male take a picture of me. cover up if you are visiting anywhere as men think they have a right to touch you!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Smriti also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gandhi Smriti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gandhi Smriti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gandhi Smriti to your Saves list