We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible xperience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Singh Sons

Save Saved
You added Hotel Singh Sons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Singh Sons
7A/10, W.E.A., Channa Market,Near Mtnl Telephone Exchange, Karol Bagh | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India (Minto Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible xperience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

Unfriendly reception staff, poor house keeping, cold room, filthy bathroom, staff make noise at odd parts of the nights, terrible breakfast, I had to ask my agent to find me another hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    26
    18
    13
See reviews for
11
22
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

An average hotel with very basic facilities. Very cold in the room. Things not provided: no iron even if you request from housekeeping, no hot water jug in the room, no tea bag/instant coffee powder.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotels in Delhi are expensive so it is hard to find a good clean hotel for a modest budget. I had arranged a taxi to pick me up at the airport for my 2:30 am arrival and they were there waiting on me with no issues. Always a plus on international flights.

An Indian tour operator I had used before made the arrangements for me so his standards are not the same as my western expectations. He assured me it would be fine that he had taken several groups there and they loved the property.

I had one the larger corner rooms (a mini suite, I believe) it was very comfortable. The a/c worked well and the king sized bed and comforter were very clean and nice. I was charged in the $60 USD range. I'm sure a higher rate because of the commission structure for the tour operator. The bathroom smelled of urine the first night until they cleaned it again the next morning.

The included breakfast was average at best and limited. I saw several cock roaches running around on the buffet table so it was a big turn-off.

The hotel staff was accomodating to my needs. But one of the tuk tuk drivers the door man recommended kept taking me to tourist shops so he would get a commission on what I purchased. This irritated me but I understand it is common practice! Be aware.

I'm not sure about the safety in the area, but I didn't feel comfortable walking the streets. Probably because it was mid August and the temperature was scorching and when rain fell it quickly flooded the streets.

Be careful ordering a salty lime soda. They use an Indian salt that smells like rotten eggs. I sent it back not knowing! I ordered room service a couple of times during my 5-nights here and it was edible but nothing more.

Wifi was good and fast.

I would probably stay here again if I could not find anything else available in my price range, mainly because of the nice room I had and the kindness of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini suite corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were starting our Kumuka, Highlights of India tour at this hotel and was a bit scared as to what we may experience by the past reviews. The staff were very helpful and we were greeted with a smile every time we came into the lobby. India is a different type of place and you certainly don't expect gushyness from the staff.....it's not in their culture, but they were certainly very helpful upon request.
The rooms are of generous size compared with some motel/ hotel rooms I've stayed in Australia and were clean. Yes there is scope for some renovations but this is not a 5 star hotel and everything was in working order in the two rooms we occupied at the start and end of our trip.

The bed linen and towels were clean, actually the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we slept in on the whole trip. The towels are hard but this is India and even when we stayed in the Hilton in Delhi, they were the same....its just the water they wash them in I think.
We did have to phone to turn the hot water on for the first time we used the shower but this only took about 3 minutes to heat and then it was kept on for the rest of our occupancy of the room. In actual fact there were a number of other hotels in India where we had to do this too, so it is not unusual.
The whole room has marbel tiles throughout as does most hotels in India, making it have a clean fresh feel. There was 2 full rolls of toilet paper and a hairdryer and soaps, so the vanity was well equiped.
We ordered room service for dinner as the restaurant/ breakfast room is not very nice.....feels like a dungeon. The room service food was great and very inexpensive in Australian standards.
On our return stay after the tour, we chose not to eat the breakfast in the breakfast room as it was not very nice at all and the food was awful, however order room service of an omlette, toast and tea....this was lovely. It would be suggested not to go out after dark as this is not a safe neighbourhood.
Whilst the Singh Sons wouldnt be my first choice for my next visit to Delhi, it was comfortable enough for one night and whilst we were prepared for the worst, it turned out ok...

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a window in your room, there are rooms in the centre of the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The only reason to stay here would be if you really have no money to go anywhere else. The rooms are just terrible! It reminded me of the days I went backpacking in nasty hostels....
Don't even bother with the breakfast.
However, the reception were friendly and helpful in giving restaurant recommendations, the security at the door were also helpful (basically making sure we don't wonder out in the dark as its apparently not a safe area.....) and the room delivery food middle of the night awesome. Still, I would just spend the money to have decent place next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

a very basic hotel not at all comfortable - although it is a bed and breakfast facility - breakfast is really exceptionally basic.

would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

pricey for what is offered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The bedrooms are ok, they are very basic, but reasonably clean. The bathrooms on the other hand did not feel clean and were very average .

A mouse was observed in the breakfast room. Breakfast was basic, but acceptable and quite tasty.

The customer service of the front office staff leave a lot to be desired, in fact, it seemed that the front desk staff had no concept of customer service.

Wi-fi was chargeable and only worked part of the stay.

The area was ok, but there are definitely better areas.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Singh Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Singh Sons

Address: 7A/10, W.E.A., Channa Market,Near Mtnl Telephone Exchange, Karol Bagh | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Minto Road
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Singh Sons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singh Sons Hotel
Singh Sons New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Singh Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.