We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as the reviews make out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Singh Sons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Singh Sons to your Saves list
Hotel Singh Sons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7A/10, W.E.A., Channa Market,Near Mtnl Telephone Exchange, Karol Bagh | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #391 of 643 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the reviews make out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were starting our Kumuka, Highlights of India tour at this hotel and was a bit scared as to what we may experience by the past reviews. The staff were very helpful and we were greeted with a smile every time we came into the lobby. India is a different type of place and you certainly don't expect gushyness from the staff.....it's not in their culture, but they were certainly very helpful upon request.
The rooms are of generous size compared with some motel/ hotel rooms I've stayed in Australia and were clean. Yes there is scope for some renovations but this is not a 5 star hotel and everything was in working order in the two rooms we occupied at the start and end of our trip.

The bed linen and towels were clean, actually the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we slept in on the whole trip. The towels are hard but this is India and even when we stayed in the Hilton in Delhi, they were the same....its just the water they wash them in I think.
We did have to phone to turn the hot water on for the first time we used the shower but this only took about 3 minutes to heat and then it was kept on for the rest of our occupancy of the room. In actual fact there were a number of other hotels in India where we had to do this too, so it is not unusual.
The whole room has marbel tiles throughout as does most hotels in India, making it have a clean fresh feel. There was 2 full rolls of toilet paper and a hairdryer and soaps, so the vanity was well equiped.
We ordered room service for dinner as the restaurant/ breakfast room is not very nice.....feels like a dungeon. The room service food was great and very inexpensive in Australian standards.
On our return stay after the tour, we chose not to eat the breakfast in the breakfast room as it was not very nice at all and the food was awful, however order room service of an omlette, toast and tea....this was lovely. It would be suggested not to go out after dark as this is not a safe neighbourhood.
Whilst the Singh Sons wouldnt be my first choice for my next visit to Delhi, it was comfortable enough for one night and whilst we were prepared for the worst, it turned out ok...

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a window in your room, there are rooms in the centre of the hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
12
22
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The only reason to stay here would be if you really have no money to go anywhere else. The rooms are just terrible! It reminded me of the days I went backpacking in nasty hostels....
Don't even bother with the breakfast.
However, the reception were friendly and helpful in giving restaurant recommendations, the security at the door were also helpful (basically making sure we don't wonder out in the dark as its apparently not a safe area.....) and the room delivery food middle of the night awesome. Still, I would just spend the money to have decent place next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

a very basic hotel not at all comfortable - although it is a bed and breakfast facility - breakfast is really exceptionally basic.

would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

pricey for what is offered.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The bedrooms are ok, they are very basic, but reasonably clean. The bathrooms on the other hand did not feel clean and were very average .

A mouse was observed in the breakfast room. Breakfast was basic, but acceptable and quite tasty.

The customer service of the front office staff leave a lot to be desired, in fact, it seemed that the front desk staff had no concept of customer service.

Wi-fi was chargeable and only worked part of the stay.

The area was ok, but there are definitely better areas.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

For me too: "never again".
The hotel was booked by a (good) travel agency, but from Mumbai, maybe that's why...
Yes, it's really cold in the rooms
Yes, in the area you will find a lot of other depressive little hotels, nothing to eat, nothing to do, some suspicious fellows walking around at night (also felt unsafe).
Yes, no wifi, internet only downstairs, payment needed.
For eating you have only a very expensive room service, food arriving from some other place...next time I'll rather go to a backpacker guesthouse than in another hotel like this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

WOW!!!! What a disappointment booked as the first 2 nights of a tour ... we were not prepared for this hotel..Unfriendly staff, dark & dingy rooms, did not feel safe @ all.. Would never stay here again if it was for free & would never recommend it to anyone..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed in this hotel as part of a tour group. Location is ok and close to the metro. We were all very unimpressed with hotel due to the rooms being dirty, power plugs not working, filly tiled rooms mean if staying in Dec/Jan you will be freezing, downstairs cellar breakfast room which is the most depressing space you can imagine. The manager was loud and had an argument in the lobby. I would recommend the tour operators think twice about this hotel. We met a number of people while in India with different tour companies who also stayed at the hotel and some checked out early cause it was so bad.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms and they do not have windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Singh Palace
Hotel Singh Palace
#127 of 643 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel SunStar Grand
Hotel SunStar Grand
#15 of 643 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bill Palace
Hotel Bill Palace
#172 of 643 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 643 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rupam
Hotel Rupam
#98 of 643 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Suncourt Corporate
Hotel Suncourt Corporate
#19 of 643 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Singh Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Singh Sons

Address: 7A/10, W.E.A., Channa Market,Near Mtnl Telephone Exchange, Karol Bagh | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 643 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Singh Sons 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Singh Sons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singh Sons Hotel
Singh Sons New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Singh Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.