We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the Main Bazaar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Yes Please

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cottage Yes Please to your Saves list
Cottage Yes Please
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1843-44 Laxmi Narayan Street Raj Guru Road Chuna Mandi | S.R.T. Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the Main Bazaar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We have been staying in this hotel for many years in fact since it opened.
It is reasonably clean and generally OK. Typically things are not as good as when it was new with taps, light fittings etc not repaired when needed. No rooms seem to have twin beds so you have to pay for the very large family rooms. No food but not a problem as there are loads of places to eat within minutes.
Dogs barking during the night can be a problem so better to be at the back of the hotel.
Owners and staff are very helpful and cheerful.
Considering most of the hotels in the Parahganj this one is pretty good value for a better standard.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    124
    93
    28
    21
See reviews for
26
93
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I wouldn't stay in Paharganj again but if for some crazy reason I had to, I would go back to Cottage Yes Please.

We stayed in a double AC, TV, private bath room for 900 INR. The AC worked well and thankfully the power didn't cut out for any length of time. The room was cleaner than many of the places we've stayed in India.

It took us a day to find the train station but once we found it we found relief from all the touts outside. We found Paharganj to be the most challenging place we've ever traveled in the world - upon leaving the hotel we were surrounded by touts and it didn't help that it was 47 degrees Celcius. The fact that this hotel is walking distance from the metro and the rail station is a blessing because you don't need to trust any of the liars and scammers hanging outside the hotel. You can do it yourself.

They also had free wifi - a strong signal which allowed us to make calls and tell people we made it to India in one piece.

My suggestion? If you are on a budget, stay here and make sure you have a map and compass and do it yourself. We would probably skip the AC if going back and save money. If you are not on a very tight budget, stay in a nicer neighborhood. And take the prepaid taxi from the airport if you're just arriving - it was approx. 250 INR.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

The best place to stay in Pahar Ganj, not the cheapest for sure, but you won't regret it. Clean, safe and the staff are very helpful. WIFi is available for 100 rupees a day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We landed in Delhi to stay one night before heading to Agra to see the Taj Mahal. We found this "hotel" in a back street of Dehli amongst all the filth. Firstly they didnt have our booking, we were very tired and just wanted to get some sleep and certainly didnt have time to find another place. When we eventually checked in as the staff were not very helpful we walked up the stairs to our room. From the outside the entrance to the room looks deceptively nice however the inside is a whole different story. The sheets were dirty (luckily we had sleeping bags and pillow cases with us which we used), the bathroom left a lot to be desired, no hot water and the airconditioning pipe leaked water everywhere. The place honestly was awful. We backpack where ever we go and have stayed in some basic digs but this one left a lot to be desired. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varanasi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our friends first told us about this hotel because it has a family sized room with a bunk bed. Our kids love it for that reason. The rooms are decent and clean but not overly impressive. The bathrooms are pretty basic and the A/C's work but are outdated.
The lobby of this hotel is gorgeous and the layout is good. there's no restaurant but the hotel has worked out a deal with the restaurant across the street which has good food.
The location is super close to the Train Station but far enough to not hear the trains. It's very close to the metro as well which makes getting to Canought Place a breeze. They have other family rooms as well which make for a great weekend with the kids, everyone gets their own bed and the rates are competitive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Firstly, the hotel is clean, room service (if that's what you like) is brilliant, the service was amazing, bathroom was clean - the showers were cold but in that heat, it was welcomed (I think we had two hot showers the whole time we were in India), brilliant loaction, right in the centre of Parganj, though surprisingly quiet - all we could ask for for our first few nights in India. As mentioned, the staff we brillaint, friendly, helpful. I got really sick after three days(not from the hotel i'd like to stress), we had checked out of our room and were waiting for our 6pm bus to Manali in the Himalayas. It turned out I was too sick to travel, we returned to Cottage Yes Please in the hope of a room but they were fully booked. However, they searched the local hotels for us and got us a lovely room at their sister hotel Crown Cottage (I think it was called) - they carried our bags there (as my finace had to carry me!) they told my finace what medication to get me and suggested what I should eat. We couldn't thank them enough. Brilliant way (Ignoring the dysentry!!) to begin our trip of a lifetime! And yes, 6 days later, we got to Manali. THANKYOU HOTEL COTTAGE YES PLEASE.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

poor service, several of the staff should not work in hotel business if caring about their customers seems to be so painful for them...
Only the manager gets things straight. Reservation was suposed to be confimred by one of the hotel staff (even had a e-mail about it) but still didn t find the reservation, no sheets on beds, poor air con,...
Avoid the rooms on the streets (too noisy) and negotiate the price.
Overall : will try another one next time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottage Yes Please? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Yes Please

Address: 1843-44 Laxmi Narayan Street Raj Guru Road Chuna Mandi | S.R.T. Nagar, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Yes Please 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Yes Please reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Yes Please Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottage Yes Please, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.