We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chanchal Continental

Save Saved
You added Hotel Chanchal Continental to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chanchal Continental
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8524, Arakashan Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in a family room. The room was fine, but we couldn't figure out how to use the AC. The location being close to the train station and the market was convenient, as well as the free wifi and breakfast included. The staff were also friendly. If you go to this hotel or any other hotel nearby, I would recommend the prepaid taxi from the Delhi airport because they charge less (around 150 rupees versus 670). We also did the city tour, just for convenience ($20) and the Taj Mahal tour with them. I'm sure we overpaid, but we didn't really know where else to book these and we just wanted to do them without stressing too much.

Onto the bad: there were cockroaches. Baby cockroaches, but cockroaches nonetheless. The manager is also a bit of a businessman. We needed to book a train, but for one of the trains we had to do it through the foreign office and he couldn't book it for us. He reassured us that it would be available the next day if we just continued to do our tours (it was just really shady because there were a couple of times we asked if we should book it on that day). That being said, we weren't able to get our tickets. It just seemed like he didn't really care because he wasn't getting a commission out of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
21
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent here 3 nights in standard room . Sadly but it's not so good as it was on the web pictures. No one didn't clean and refresh the room. We had room at 2 floor so it was noisy 24/7. There is no proper shower cabin, and water take a time to get warm. It's not so far from the train station. But if you would like to see Delhi find a pre-payed taxi. So just be aware of this issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We stsyed in the family room for four which was great value, clean room with nice bedding but a little small. Breakfast was an enormous all you can eat buffet which was delicious. Good service especially from the very friendly driver, and free wifi and complementary newspaper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel location is at one of the busy street in central delhi. The area of the hotel is completly unhygenic as the area is full of dust & dirt. But the hotel was well maintained. Staff was also very helpful. Overall itz worthy for the money which has been paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

it was pleasured to be here.staff are really good in nature and according to budget its cost effective. complementary breakfast is really too good and quality food.i would love too visit in my next trip.

Room Tip: all rooms are good almost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Food is very very costly. a plate of gulab jamun costs rs 60/- which was not worth of it.
very small rooms and most of the rooms ac was not working. ONCE we also got stuck in the lift.
The staff was over friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Have used this hotel for several years on my bimonthly trips to Delhi when in the Pahar Ganj area for a couple of days at a time. The rooms are always spotlessly clean, staff especially willing to accommodate requests, and everything works except hot water which can be spotty at times. Amenities in the Deluxe room include standard items such as soap and shampoo, but also include dental and sewing kits and slippers. A complimentary package of cookies (biscuits) is provided with the first coffee service, a nice touch that I haven't seen elsewhere. Complimentary daily newspaper delivered to your door. WiFi is free and speed is very fast. Title of my review? Yes, at one time in the not too distant past, the linens were fresh and bed coverings unstained. Towels were white at one time too but now are the dingy grey that comes with age. Still, this hotel is a great value for the money. I also like that the front desk and many of the attendants know me by name.

One word of advice. Pay the minimal extra for the Deluxe room. The standard room that I was in while waiting for my room to become ready was small in size, the ceiling fan was louder than a meat grinder and I was afraid it was going to come down. Also, no window in that particular room, but perhaps this would be a plus for some as the area can be quite noisy. In contrast, the Deluxe room is spacious having both a desk and a table in addition to the bed and chair. Bathroom is standard size without a tub but drains have always worked well.

Room Tip: If you're not happy for any reason, let them know! They'll go out of the way to make things...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chanchal Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanchal Continental

Address: 8524, Arakashan Road | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Chanchal Continental 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to enjoy luxury accommodation at budget prices with other like minded travelers who start their journey into India from here. We have 53 well appointed AC Rooms with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, Refrigerator with soft drink, attached bath, 24 hrs running hot & cold water, wall to wall carpet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Chanchal Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chanchal Continental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.