We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis Tourist Home

Save Saved
You added Metropolis Tourist Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis Tourist Home
1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 593 hotels in New Delhi
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location, short walk from New Delhi Railway station and Metro, this must be the best hotel in Pahar Ganj. Clean spacious rooms which overlook the main bazaar. We have stayed in other hotels in Paharganj but this has to be the very best. Good helpful staff, nice food , clean room and comfy bed. Also quiet at night even though situated on the main bazaar. We had a slight problem on first day with hot water due to new solar system but hotel manager sorted it for us.
Conaught Square is a short walk away..even shorter rickshaw ride.
Lively location at night but still quiet enough in our room to get good nights sleep!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
24
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived at 5:00am to a dark, quiet, street with the lit Metropolis Hotel sign giving us hope the hotel would be open. After a double ring of the bell beside the door the Night Manager, Manoj Kumar, greeted us with a warm welcome. We were not expecting rooms at that hour but hoped they would allow us to take refuge in the lobby until check-in time. They did have two rooms available (2 couples in our party) and allowed us immediate access. After breakfast we took to the streets of the Paharganj area of New Delhi and were pleased with the location of the Metropolis. Don’t fall for the touts’ line of “I’ll show you where the mall is” - enjoy the neighbourhood on your own. Head LEFT out the hotel’s main door and a short walk along Main Bazaar will bring you to the New Delhi Train Station.

ROOM 103 faces east on the floor above ground level. It is a small room with double wide bed, bedside tables, mirror above the desk, fridge, wardrobe (2 hangers), safe (not bolted down), air conditioning and balcony access through a glass door. The attractive modern bathroom had a large shower, stylish sink, hand soap but no toilet paper (available on request). Wifi is included in the hotel rate but we experienced some difficulty in strength of signal from this room.

ROOM 202 is two floors above ground. Larger in size than 103, it had 2 beds made up as 1 to give it the width of a king with the length of a double. The room’s furniture included bedside tables with wall lamps above each, a cocktail table, luggage bench, cabinet with bar fridge, wardrobe (no hangers), safe (not bolted down), desk, chair, in-room wifi, air conditioning, wide double windows opening to good size deck with a single plastic chair. [In the photo, this room is situated above the word ‘Hotel” on the lit sign]. Like 103 the bathroom was modern with stylish sink and large shower with rain head. Hot water required running the tap for a couple of minutes (we found dinner time the hottest – great for freshening up before going out).

ROOFTOP RESTAURANT & BAR offered excellent food and Rama Kant is a friendly, skilled waiter. (All the staff members at Metropolis were friendly and outgoing.) Lonely Planet and shop owners along Main Bazaar (without knowing we were staying there) recommended Metropolis as the area’s best restaurant. The hotel’s good food doesn’t end with the rooftop restaurant but continues to the breakfast room with a variety of dishes and beverages from which to choose. We had chosen to include breakfast in our room price selection and, in this particular hotel, felt it was a good decision. During one breakfast, we met a lone woman traveler (staying elsewhere) who was switching her hotel accommodations to the Metropolis because of the food, room quality and their friendly, helpful, respectful staff.

FINANCES. During checkout we were charged for an extra night for our early check-in, however, because we had confirmed no additional early-arrival charges would be levied BEFORE we engaged the rooms, they deducted the extra night immediately. They added 450 Rs for taxi fare (based on a casual inquiry) to the airport but after asking twice they removed that charge as well (taxies are cheaper and plentiful on the street).

RECOMMEND Metropolis? Oh my, yes. So much so, we made reservations for our return trip through Delhi on our way home.

Room Tip: No elevator. Breakfast room a half floor above ground. Rooftop restaurant serves good dinners at re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bareilly, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have seen a few hotels in Paharganj now and even reviewed one. Metropolis is by far the best I have stayed in . I did have a nice meal of tenderloin steak a week ago but stayed there during a stopover in Delhi coming back from a tour of Central India. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms very clean with modern fittings. The only problem though is that the place does not have a big enough lounge or a place where one can meet other tourists. It is by far the most expensive in Paharganj with rooms starting at 2000/- ( approx 24 pounds ) a night and going upto 42 pounds a night. Their specialty restaurant would also cost you upto 10 pounds with a glass of draught beer. If you can afford it , just head for it . I would recommend it highly. With bars and many other restaurants near by one can easily have a wide variety of cuisine to choose from at cheaper prices too.

Room Tip: if you are just staying for a night , the room size would not matter. If you are staying longer chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We found Metropolis in Paharganj after being sick and tired of touts and dodgy hotels and were very glad to stumble upon it. As it is only a 2 minute walk from the Metro, the hotel is perfectly situated for getting round Delhi easily.

The rooms are very modern and stylishly furnished - a welcome treat in India. It was very clean, comfortable and particularly quiet (which we were not expecting in Paharganj). After going to Rajasthan, we returned at 11pm to be greeted and our bags taken directly to our room despite the late hour. My girlfriend also felt very ill on the day of our departure and they incredibly kindly extended our check out time by 2 hours (for no extra charge) so that she could recover as much as possible. We always found the staff very kind, informative and always helpful. The restaurant is also very good and serves an exceptional cappucino!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay. the owner and the staff are fantastic and they will make all efforts to help. service is excellent, room spacious and clean, and there are all sort of facilities (AC, fridge, safe, satellite TV, hot water, broadband, telephone, taxi service, etc). not only is the place easy to reach and pleasant to stay. i enjoyed the food and the great professionalism of everybody. rooms are very tidy and everything you will need is taken care of.
a lovely experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I arrived here at 3 a.m. after a 36-hour flight from Canada. It was my first trip to India and I was nervous. The folks at the front desk helped me get set up with a cell phone, the waiter taught me some simple Hindi, and the food was wonderful. Staff were exceedingly friendly and accommodating at all turns, the owner was on-site and seemed to have everything under his thumb. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe. Room was nicely appointed and spotless, with modern working shower with on-demand hot water, fridge and money safe. Now that I've traveled in India for two weeks I realize what a gem this place is - terrific value for the money and a great location. I will stay here again when I return to Delhi before my return home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the third that I have stayed at in this district, I have stayed at the Hari Piorko and my room was far superior for ten percent more money. The bathroom was beautiful, the room big and it even had double glazed glass to the street. My room had its own wifi router, great Airconditioning and flat screen tv., which all contributed to a very comfortable stay. The restaurant wasn't cheap by Indian standards but my two dinners there were of the best standard, some bread didn't turn up till after my meal and a desert wasn't available that I was looking forward to but I wouldn't downgrade the hotel for that. My grief was at the end of my stay - my airport transfer was stuffed up and I had to make other plans to meet my flight. Don't use their 'in house' driver and you'll have a better experience than me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropolis Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Tourist Home

Address: 1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel started in 1983 with 20 rooms,it has the best location in comparison to other hotels which are in a very congested areas around.The most famous export market near by makes it an ideal place to stay for handicraft dealers from around the world.hotel is centrally located in delhi with all major tourist destinations and business centers at a radius of not more than 15-20 min,nearest metro station(tube)is at a one min walking distance.The hotel went under a major renovation for one year 2011 to 2012 and re opened on 7 th feb,a major facelift to all 20 rooms, pictures can be seen on travellers review.facilities:aircon,electronic safe,24 hrs hot shower through solar panels,refrigerator,spacious bathrooms with glass curtains,kohler bathroom fittings,spacious balconies which are usp's of our property,electronic door key card system,dedicated internet wifi routers for a perfect internet experience,a multi cuisine restaurant.the hotel is well equiped to serve business travellers and tourist as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Metropolis Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Tourist Home Hotel New Delhi
Metropolis Tourist Home New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis Tourist Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.