We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch service, good food, spotless room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolis Tourist Home

Save Saved
You added Metropolis Tourist Home to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis Tourist Home
1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 592 hotels in New Delhi
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top-notch service, good food, spotless room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I arrived here at 3 a.m. after a 36-hour flight from Canada. It was my first trip to India and I was nervous. The folks at the front desk helped me get set up with a cell phone, the waiter taught me some simple Hindi, and the food was wonderful. Staff were exceedingly friendly and accommodating at all turns, the owner was on-site and seemed to have everything under his thumb. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe. Room was nicely appointed and spotless, with modern working shower with on-demand hot water, fridge and money safe. Now that I've traveled in India for two weeks I realize what a gem this place is - terrific value for the money and a great location. I will stay here again when I return to Delhi before my return home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
26
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the third that I have stayed at in this district, I have stayed at the Hari Piorko and my room was far superior for ten percent more money. The bathroom was beautiful, the room big and it even had double glazed glass to the street. My room had its own wifi router, great Airconditioning and flat screen tv., which all contributed to a very comfortable stay. The restaurant wasn't cheap by Indian standards but my two dinners there were of the best standard, some bread didn't turn up till after my meal and a desert wasn't available that I was looking forward to but I wouldn't downgrade the hotel for that. My grief was at the end of my stay - my airport transfer was stuffed up and I had to make other plans to meet my flight. Don't use their 'in house' driver and you'll have a better experience than me.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I had a fantastic stay here. Great value for money. I stayed in the mid priced room and felt like I was in a much more expensive hotel. This hotel is a great oasis from the main Bazaar and the restaurants in the hotel serves good food. The service was excellent. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Mid priced rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had a great stay here. The people were friendly, the food good, the location convenient, the room clean and if you book tours with them the driver is calm! What more can you ask for? I loved the chaos of the Pahar Ganj area although it might not be everyone's cup of tea.

Room Tip: I stayed in x2 different rooms of varying price and the only difference was the balcony in the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I can not understand why this hotel does not get more credit! It was by far the best hotel we stayed at while travelling in India for 1 month (we actually stayed here three times). The staff provided good service and were very helpfull and kind. The rooms were perfectly clean and everything was as it should be. The food in the restaurant was delicious and even though it was a bit pricey it was worth every penny. This is a highly recommendable hotel and we will surely come back if ever visiting New Delhi again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The Sharma family started this place 100 years ago and they take pride in their work to make their hotel a classic Pahar Ganj establishment for Indians and foreign travelers both. As a group leader bringing many college students to India I count on the " metro police" to be the first place to land on each trip to India. All taxis and rickshaws know the place so you can not get lost from it. Two chefs prepare hygienic continental and Indian dishes -- delicious, safe and clean. The service is of the highest standard with nicely dressed , very warm and friendly servers, proficient in multiple languages , who even place a cloth napkin on your lap! The new , very clean and spacious rooms have all needed and desired amenities including hot showers, super nice mattresses, balconies, fridge, tv, TP, and even a mini pull-out laundry line to dry your towel. The location so near to the New Delhi railway station is ideal. Whether you have been to India 12 times like me or are a first -time visitor , the Metropolis Tourist Home is a very good choice!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pushpesh s, Owner at Metropolis Tourist Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear mr colorador
we are very pleased by your review and thank you for your feedback.we assure you of our best services in every visit and we will continue to work diligently to provide our guests with the utmost comfort.

thanking you
best regards
pushpesh sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

They have recently had a new make over and so the pictures on here aren't true to the hotel. It was very reasonably priced for a modern well furnished room with helpful staff. Twice as expensive as heritage in hotel down the road and 100 times better!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropolis Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis Tourist Home

Address: 1634-35,First Floor,Main Bazar, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel started in 1983 with 20 rooms,it has the best location in comparison to other hotels which are in a very congested areas around.The most famous export market near by makes it an ideal place to stay for handicraft dealers from around the world.hotel is centrally located in delhi with all major tourist destinations and business centers at a radius of not more than 15-20 min,nearest metro station(tube)is at a one min walking distance.The hotel went under a major renovation for one year 2011 to 2012 and re opened on 7 th feb,a major facelift to all 20 rooms, pictures can be seen on travellers review.facilities:aircon,electronic safe,24 hrs hot shower through solar panels,refrigerator,spacious bathrooms with glass curtains,kohler bathroom fittings,spacious balconies which are usp's of our property,electronic door key card system,dedicated internet wifi routers for a perfect internet experience,a multi cuisine restaurant.the hotel is well equiped to serve business travellers and tourist as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Metropolis Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Tourist Home Hotel New Delhi
Metropolis Tourist Home New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropolis Tourist Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.