We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Karol Bagh home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SunStar Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel SunStar Grand to your Saves list
Hotel SunStar Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 626 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our Karol Bagh home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Well located in the Karol Bagh area, close to the market and metro station. We were surprised to be offered a rose and a pastry on Women's day by management. Friendly staff welcomed us and attended to our every need. I will definitely return to this hotel next time I come to Delhi.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
.Greetings from Hotel sunstar Grand
Thanks for staying in our hotel & writing a review
You liked the rooms, good location close to market,near METRO, helpful & friendly staff who looked after your needs.
Thanks for referring our hotel as OUR KAROLBAGH HOME
We will still try to improve & make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel.
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel,.
Thanks & Regards. ASHOK TANEJA 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    84
    42
    16
    23
See reviews for
94
104
71
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was the begining of my great Indian Adventure. We were greated with warm welcomes, sweet smiles and cool drinks.
Ideally located in the heart of Delhi with easy access to all of the markets and tourist attractions. Guided by the kind and generous hand of our hosts; the friendly staff of the Sun Star Grand. The staff treated us with respect and accomodated our every request.
The room was neat and clean, breakfast always hot and tasty!
A pity that I didnt get the opportunity to enjoy the swimming pool nor sauna this time.....
Give the Sun Star Grand Hotel and its warm staff a try!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
.Greetings from Hotel sunstar Grand
Thanks for staying in our hotel & writing a review
You liked the warm welcome with smiles & cold drink
You liked the neat, clean & spacious rooms, good location close to market,near METRO, helpful & friendly staff, . hot & tasty breakfast
Thanks for reffering us HOME AWAY FROM HOME
We will still try to improve so that you keep patronizing our hotel
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel,.
Thanks & Regards. ASHOK TANEJA 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We are a group of 20 people from SOUTH AFRICA who booked through ONE STOP TRAVEL&TOURS. We stayed at SUNSTAR GRAND HOTEL. The rooms were very neat and clean. Staff were always friendly and ever ready to be of service. Also enjoyed the food. Location of hotel is excellent, close to metro station and market. We felt very safe here. Swimming pool and sauna/steam bath were a bonus. Wi-fi and internet services were free and a pleasure to use. Guard at door always at door serving us. Day and night managers always accommodated any special requests any part of the day or night. From all in our group, we would like to thank all the organiser, management and staff for a memorable stay. We would definately recommend Sunstar Grand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
.Greetings from Hotel sunstar Grand
Thanks for staying in our hotel & writing a review
You liked the NEAT, clean & spacious rooms, excellent location close to market,near METRO, helpful & friendly staff, Free WI-FI ,you enjoyed the food.
You have mentioned your stay as MEMORABLE STAY
You reviewed our hotel as SWEET HOME EVERY MOMENT
We will still try to improve so that you keep patronizing our hotel
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel,.
Thanks & Regards. ASHOK TANEJA 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

best hotel having pool sonar bath steam bath very nice room and bathrooms very well maintain really nice staff but room service is not good you have to call for water 3 times then they will send u water in res. food quality is not so good as i was on breakfast plain so i experian that food quality is not good but from hotel in walking distance thr in hotel surichi thr u find best of the best dinner lunch and breakfast special Gujrati and rajesthani thali

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
.Greetings from Hotel sunstar Grand
Thanks for staying in our hotel & writing a review
You liked the clean & spacious rooms, good location close to market,near METRO, NICE staff, WELL MAINTAINED BATHROOM
You had some problem regarding room service & food.
We have taken it very seriously and warned the staff if this is repeated.
Regarding food quality we have given instructions to stewards to inform cook about the taste of guest.
Thanks for referring our hotel as BEST PLACE TO STAY IN DELHI
We will still try to improve OUR SERVICES & FOOD QUALITY
Thank you for highly recommending our hotel,.
Thanks & Regards. ASHOK TANEJA 9810104774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel while wedding shopping in Delhi. It was everything I hoped for.

1. Clean.
No bugs or dirt anywhere. Staff available at all hours to clean, but not pushy. They wait until you leave to attend to rooms. Hall ways and reception areas are spotless. Room sheets, towels and other bedding very new and clean.

2. Close to major shopping areas and landmarks.
Hotel is 40 minutes or less from anywhere you want to go in Delhi. It is tucked away from unsafe neighborhoods. In addition, it is walking distance from urban shopping districts.

3. Amazing Friendly Happy Staff.
Service in Delhi is extraordinary overall, but the Staff at Hotel Sunstar are not only attentive they are also happy. There is a family like feeling with this hotel staff that is felt through the place. They are constantly working together and cheerful. Also, they get things done. They were able to book a train for us to Punjab while we were out shopping with complete ease. Also, whenever we asked for room service it came immediately.

4. Yummy and filling buffet breakfast
Each morning the hotel served yummy breakfast which was extremely filling. It was a full buffet including unlimited Indian bread and 4 dishes and eggs and toast. Dishes were generally indian spiced cooked chick peas, oatmeal, breakfast pasta, and another Indian meal. Also unlimited tea coffee and juice. It was basically our brunch.

This delightful hotel will do the trick if visiting Delhi.


I also advice getting a driver for your entire stay in Delhi. They are affordable and needed. Taxis and Rickshas are sad and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
You liked the location, You also liked the yummy & filling buffet breakfast
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services & referring us "GREAT HOME AWAY FROM HOME".
You have mentioned friendly staff,comfortable clean rooms, clean bed sheets, clean bedding, clean towels & clean bathroom & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a good hotel within it's price range. The staff made stressful Delhi manageable and my room was well setout and attractive with marble finishing and flat screen TV. In the end, you get value for money with this place. I would suggest this for budget conscious travellers starting their trip in India.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to
You found our hotel to be value for money.
know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about us as "GOOD MEDIUM BUDGET HOTEL"
You have liked friendly service,comfortable rooms & LCD Tv
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We picked this hotel cause it was rated high on TA but it definitely does not live up to its grade. Bathrooms have flying insects and towels were dirty. Our hotel room door looked as if someone tried to break in so we demanded to change room but the new room had the same problem. We dared not sleep the whole night and put furniture against the door. There were really weird people in the other rooms (didn't look like international tourists!) and they were screaming at night. The porter was untrained and there were absolutely no service at all. The swimming pool looked dreadful and you dare not dive in. It was the worst hotel we stayed in our trip to India - but of course the price should have warned us. My advice: Only stick with the brand names and pay more because it really is not worth it to save a little bit to stay in 3 star hotels if you fall sick or luggage got stolen!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel
You have complained regarding lot of things.But i am sorry to say that your review suggests that you were unhappy about some other thing but you have complained regarding some other things .
You stayed in December which is the coolest month.In this month there are no insects at all
You have complained regarding room door that it seemed as if some body had tried to break open the door forcibly. Sir i would like to remind you that you are in a hotel & not in a lonely place. First of all we never let anyone do such things in our hotel. Moreover we have proper maintenance staff who look after all the fittings & fixtures in the hotel.
You have also mentioned that you kept your luggage against the door.You are making every body assume that there is no safety in a hotel. I would respectfully tell you that such things happen in horror films only.
Again you have said there were some wired people in other room & they screamed all the night. Again sir i can only say that we do not allow any of our guest to make noise in the hotel. You can also make a complaint to front office by intercom which u never did.
Your next complaint is regarding swimming pool.I do not know how u found it dreadful when u have not even used it. Moreover how can you think of diving in a pool which has a depth of only 5 feet. Diving is not allowed in our pool. Your complaint is based on assumptions only .
Again u are assuming that u should stay at branded hotels.You know very well that u pay almost 4 times of our tariff in a branded hotel. U r right that brand hotels are better but just consider the services we provide at such low rates. We can not give a service of 4 star hotel in a budget hotel as we charge very less..
Again u r assuming that your goods can be stolen & u can get sick. U have lost nothing & also u did not get sick but still u r complaining for things which never happened with u during your stay in our hotel.We take proper care about hyegine.
U stayed on 2 visits with us.First visit was on 22/23 dec night. Your second visit was on 29 Dec 2012
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are really sorry that u did not enjoy your stay.
You have not mentioned any thing about facilities that count the most which u have reviewed about other hotels.
U have not reviewed about location,room service, rooms size, room cleanliness, bathrooms, staff behaviour, sleep quality & food quality.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#8 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities 1)Refrigerator in every room 2)TEA kettle in room 3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom 4)24 hour room service 5)24 hour full power & water back-up 6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SunStar Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.