We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SunStar Grand

Save Saved
You added Hotel SunStar Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hostelworld.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SunStar Grand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 594 hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The room had good solid furniture and very comfortable, firm bed. In winter they provided electric heater free of charge (if you ask for one – it isn’t offered). Plug the fridge in on arrival. The breakfast was simple but nice, and the food available in the daytime was also good. There is a roof terrace to soak up the sun and the location is good for getting around in Delhi generally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
You liked the furniture & solid - comfortable beds.
We give heater in every room in winters.
You liked the location . YOU also liked the roof top where you can soak up the sun
You liked the breakfast & food was good.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services.
Thank you for referring our hotel as "GOOD ROOMS"
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    54
    28
    13
    17
See reviews for
47
48
53
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Really nice rooms that were clean and comfortable with cable tv and hot showers.Good food at the roof top restaurant and very helpful staff.When we had issues with flights they let us use their cell phones and were very obliging.Early morning taxis to the airport were prompt with no complications.Someone affiliated with the hotel only tried to get us to do a tour with him once, we weren't hassled. I think we paid more than we should have for the room but it was ok.All in all a great place to stay in Delhi

Room Tip: On our first stay we got a standard room with a window (that may be in every room) but for our secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
You liked the Roof top restaurant & enjoyed the food here.
YOU were also happy about the arrangement of early morning taxi for Airport
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services.
You have mentioned friendly service,nice clean comfortable rooms with cable T V & bathroom with hot shower. helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Got the hotel last minute and was very happy. Room was nicer than I had expected and staff was extremely helpful. They helped me fix my sim card and always checked to see what I needed. The rooms were very nice with hot water and comfy beds and the restaurant on the roof was delicious with free room service. Overall extremely happy.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring about our good services.
You have mentioned friendly service,comfortable rooms &bathroom (better than your expectation) & helpful staff.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyalami, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was told that this was a great hotel. I stayed here for 2 nights - 24th and 25th December 2013.

The location is good - quite close to the shopping markets. The front desk staff were very helpful and assisted where need be.

I think the hotel has an 'old' feel to it - i would think it needs a slight doing up in certain areas. Booked a non-smoking room - however people seem to smoke.

The food was good - however the service staff really need to brush up on some english - they took my order and brought the wrong things. Breakfast was below standard in my book.

The room i stayed in was pretty small - the bathroom and shower was quite good.

All in all - i would use this hotel again - but just as a quick night stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Greetings from Hotel sunstar grand
We thank you for patronising our hotel
We are very happy to learn that you liked our location & you found front office staff very helpful
Weare happy that you liked food.
We are sorry for the smell of smoke in the room. We are also sorry that steward could not understand what you ordered. We are very sorry that breakfast was below standard as per your books.
We do clean & cross ventilate every room before giving it to next guest.
We agree that our staff can not match a star category staff but still we keep training them
Regarding breakfast i would like to mention that same menu is liked by some & disliked by others. So we have instructed our staff to serve as per choice of customer if possible within our menu.
We will try our best to improve & match your expectations
We hope you will forgive us & recommend our hotel to other travelers
Thanks & Regards
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel Sunstar Grand is located near Karol Bag metro station and is in the vicinity of Karol Bag market as well.
The room including the bathrooms were very neat, clean and hygienic. Needless to say, the service of the staff was exceptionally good. At times, when i would feel lazy, I would call up Sanjay ji and ask him to send my food upstairs. I really relished having hot chapatis with delicious Paneer Kadai all while being tucked comfortably in my quilt and in the reach of room heater.
If you want to relax, Sunstar Grand is the best option. You get 24x7 free WIfi, the beds are very comfortable and cozy and to top it all, there is HD clarity LCD TV with more channels than you could imagine!
I loved my stay at Sunstar Grand and would recommend it to all, hands down !

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large and sunny and especially the ones at third floor are really quiet and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel
You have liked the neat room & bath room. You also enjoyed the comfortable & cozy beds
You enjoyed the food.,free wifi ,& LCD tv with so many channels.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you are enjoying your stay at our hotel.
You liked the location as it is near the shopping area & Metro.
You have reviewed that staff is exceptionally good at service.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. ' .
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

An ok hotel in a quiet residential area in Delhi, 10 minute walk to the metro. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable with all facilities and hot water. The hotel itself was a little run down, old and dark. Free wifi. Breakfast wasn't great but enough to get you going for the day. The dining room itself had what seemed to unused pool in the basement, still full of water and not the cleanest. The staff were helpful and attentive an provided an early check in which was needed after our long flight. It was a little frustrating though when we were ushered over to the tour guide office across the street (separate to the hotel) who tried to sell us various trips and tell us that the metro wasn't working or that there was no restaurants near by and we had to get a taxi with them to everywhere. Do not listen to them.! You can easily walk to the metro which has an excellent service, there is a market area 2 minutes up the road with restaurants and failing that you can pick up an auto off the street without any problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel.
You liked the location near the Metro. You found room to be spacious, clean & comfortable with all facilities and running hot water. You liked free wi-fi .You found staff to be helpful & attentive.
The staff also gave early check in without charging you anything. Normally we charge half day rent for early check in.
The breakfast was enough for the day.
You are here in winters & no body uses pool during winters as water is very cold.
You have liked all the facilities of hotel but still you have said an average hotel.
You did not like interior & dark color of passage. You know every person has a different choice regarding colors. You go to market with your best friend & i am sure you will select different design or colors.
Actually you were annoyed with the tour guide across the road.
It was none of our fault.
We are very disappointed that even after liking every thing in the hotel you have still commented our hotel as an average hotel.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are sorry to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel with a feeling of average hotel.
You like the location as it is near the shopping area.& Metro
You have reviewed that staff is helpful & attentive .
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have done in the past.We are sure you will refer us as 'NICE HOTEL EXCELLENT STAFF' .on your next visit
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Near the market and metro;big room ,comfortable beds and big bathroom,hot water,good service,and very fridndly staff.Restaurant and swimming pool and soauna bath and steem bath downstairs,all 3 star facilities are there;I recommend this hotel as a good option in Delhi.

Room Tip: Room number 106 is ver big and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Hotel SunStar Grand, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Sunstar grand
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel .
You like the location as it is near the shopping area & Metro.
You have reviewed that staff is helpful & friendly.
You described room as big with with comfortable beds. You liked the big bathroom with hot water. You also enjoyed sauna & steam.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring to us as 'VERY NICE STAFF & HELPFUL' .
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel SunStar Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SunStar Grand

Also Known As:
Sunstar Hotel
Address: 7A/17, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#47 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#57 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SunStar Grand 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms have the following additional facilities1)Refrigerator in every room2)TEA kettle in room3)Dental kit/Shaving kit/Sewing kit/comb/hair dryer in bathroom4)24 hour room service5)24 hour full power & water back-up6)24 hour running hot water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel SunStar Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SunStar Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.