We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yatri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yatri House to your Saves list
Yatri House
3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,009 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Really nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It is a little heaven in the middle of Delhi with garden in the front and little terrace in the back. Rooms are basic, clean and spacious. Free WiFi in the front when you can figure out the password yourself. Staff is friendly and helpfull, but speaks poor english. Great breakfast, also at 1 pm. Free mineral water and afternoon tea. 20 RS for a cold coke (which can be really nice in between). Good location, 200 metres from the metro station and 1 station away from Connough Place.

Major downside is the price of 5000 RS a night. For just a 1000 more you can get a room at radisson blue hotel. After discussing we paid 4500 RS, which is better but still way too much for what you get. We found other places, but they were all booked, even off season.

For 5000 RS, a hard matrass and no cleaning of the room in between and a boiler in your bathroom, this is really nice place but OVERPRIZED

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have picked Yatry house following reading the positive postings on the website and despite the high price tag, which suits a five stars hotel.
We were expecting a well-kept place and professional service, but this was not the case. The guest house was well located, the room was big and breakfast was good. However, the walls were not painted properly, there was no dining room and breakfast was served in the yard, in a shadowless place, where the high August temperatures and the constant attacks of flies made the experience rather unbearable. The walls of the yard were black and numerous cables were hanging on the wall. The inside of the coffee cups was black from overuse.
But the main problem was no doubt the air condition unit in our room. It was a very old thing that made a lot of noise. On our very first night it stopped working every few minutes. The person in charge tried each time to fix it..
We went through the same experience on the second night as well. The person in charge was not highly impressed by the situation and claimed that the airco unit was working properly and it had been working that way for the previous 30 years. Only after arguing and insisting, did he agree to ask the owner to come and speak with us. He arrived eventually but did not offered any apology for the negative experience. The following day the airco was finally fixed. We were told however, to use the remote control only to turn it on or off and not to change the temperature setting, which was fixed on 18 degrees centigrade.
Also we asked for covers for the wool blankets, only to be told that as a guest house they have no such covers.
There was no phone in the room. Anything we needed, we had to go and search for the person in charge. This was no fun, especially when we had to look for him each time the airco stopped working.
The room was without curtain in the bathroom and had only one useable electricity socket which was located in a highly inconvenient place.
Obviously there was no justification for the high cost of this place. One can find better accommodation for similar and even lower prices.
This place was, therefore, a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keshettelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived & shown to room at front which had the dodgiest electrical arrangements I've seen for some time. The washing facilities were less than basic and the bed was a lumpy disaster. Asked to shift to a better room which was accommodated but really not much more appealing. The dingy backyard dining area was dirty and the front 'lounge' room no less appealing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Arriving in Delhi Airport, we were met by a very friendly driver who took us straight to Yatri House. Such a relief when arriving late, and he was exactly where they had said he would be.

The room itself was spotless, with air con, albeit noisy, an absolute necessity in the heat of July. If you are thinking of staying at a cooler time of year, the ceiling fan would probably suffice. Hot water was available after the flick of a switch for about 10mins.

At breakfast we were given what we thought was a fairly substantial menu...turns out it was just a list of everything they were going to provide! Brilliant! They also provide bottled water in a fridge in the room. And free wi fi. All this added to the comfort in an otherwise crazy city.

The main sell though of Yatri House is the helpfulness of the staff. The owner (I guess), on our first night, saw that we were very stressed out after our day trying to dodge scams around the city and getting lost numerous times, sat us down, brought us sodas and when we asked, organised a taxi to take us to dinner, wait while we dined, and then drop us back. He negotiated a good price before the driver saw we were three girls. Unfortunately in Delhi, it is not always so easy to be brought back to your hotel as the auto rickshaw drivers generally have money on their mind and commission from elsewhere, so this was a big relief. The other men that worked there were always so friendly and accommodating.

We stayed 4 nights altogether, about 3 too many in Delhi, but loved every minute in Yatri House which made it somewhat bearable.

One slight minus is that our trash cans weren't changed in the four days, but I'm sure if we had asked, this would have been done. I am guessing the men just thought it would be impolite to enter our room when we weren't there or even when we were, but resting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Orourkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent our last couple of days here before heading home after several weeks n India. This small hotel is not fancy, but is clean with hot water and air conditioning. It is back off the main road, so is quiet, and is a great location for seeing the sites and shopping in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

we stayed in yatri house because of the positive reviews on this website. we found a nice and clean place, with nice garden, but nothing more. we got a ground floor room and the ac didn't work and at night we could hear the stuff talking on the phone very loud. for 5000 rs. that the place charge you can stay in a 5 stars hotel in delhi and it's going to be for sure much more nice . the next day in delhi we stayed at delhi bed & breakfast which was much nicer for 3500 rs.

Room Tip: get a higher room then the ground floor, it has to be more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shlomitt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are comfortable, the area quiet yet close in to everything you need. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#217 of 664 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Hotel Hari Piorko
#52 of 664 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#58 of 664 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Arjun
#117 of 664 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Wood Castle
#9 of 664 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#88 of 664 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Address: 3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,009 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yatri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing