We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yatri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yatri House
3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 806 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have picked Yatry house following reading the positive postings on the website and despite the high price tag, which suits a five stars hotel.
We were expecting a well-kept place and professional service, but this was not the case. The guest house was well located, the room was big and breakfast was good. However, the walls were not painted properly, there was no dining room and breakfast was served in the yard, in a shadowless place, where the high August temperatures and the constant attacks of flies made the experience rather unbearable. The walls of the yard were black and numerous cables were hanging on the wall. The inside of the coffee cups was black from overuse.
But the main problem was no doubt the air condition unit in our room. It was a very old thing that made a lot of noise. On our very first night it stopped working every few minutes. The person in charge tried each time to fix it..
We went through the same experience on the second night as well. The person in charge was not highly impressed by the situation and claimed that the airco unit was working properly and it had been working that way for the previous 30 years. Only after arguing and insisting, did he agree to ask the owner to come and speak with us. He arrived eventually but did not offered any apology for the negative experience. The following day the airco was finally fixed. We were told however, to use the remote control only to turn it on or off and not to change the temperature setting, which was fixed on 18 degrees centigrade.
Also we asked for covers for the wool blankets, only to be told that as a guest house they have no such covers.
There was no phone in the room. Anything we needed, we had to go and search for the person in charge. This was no fun, especially when we had to look for him each time the airco stopped working.
The room was without curtain in the bathroom and had only one useable electricity socket which was located in a highly inconvenient place.
Obviously there was no justification for the high cost of this place. One can find better accommodation for similar and even lower prices.
This place was, therefore, a disappointment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
110
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Arrived & shown to room at front which had the dodgiest electrical arrangements I've seen for some time. The washing facilities were less than basic and the bed was a lumpy disaster. Asked to shift to a better room which was accommodated but really not much more appealing. The dingy backyard dining area was dirty and the front 'lounge' room no less appealing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Arriving in Delhi Airport, we were met by a very friendly driver who took us straight to Yatri House. Such a relief when arriving late, and he was exactly where they had said he would be.

The room itself was spotless, with air con, albeit noisy, an absolute necessity in the heat of July. If you are thinking of staying at a cooler time of year, the ceiling fan would probably suffice. Hot water was available after the flick of a switch for about 10mins.

At breakfast we were given what we thought was a fairly substantial menu...turns out it was just a list of everything they were going to provide! Brilliant! They also provide bottled water in a fridge in the room. And free wi fi. All this added to the comfort in an otherwise crazy city.

The main sell though of Yatri House is the helpfulness of the staff. The owner (I guess), on our first night, saw that we were very stressed out after our day trying to dodge scams around the city and getting lost numerous times, sat us down, brought us sodas and when we asked, organised a taxi to take us to dinner, wait while we dined, and then drop us back. He negotiated a good price before the driver saw we were three girls. Unfortunately in Delhi, it is not always so easy to be brought back to your hotel as the auto rickshaw drivers generally have money on their mind and commission from elsewhere, so this was a big relief. The other men that worked there were always so friendly and accommodating.

We stayed 4 nights altogether, about 3 too many in Delhi, but loved every minute in Yatri House which made it somewhat bearable.

One slight minus is that our trash cans weren't changed in the four days, but I'm sure if we had asked, this would have been done. I am guessing the men just thought it would be impolite to enter our room when we weren't there or even when we were, but resting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We spent our last couple of days here before heading home after several weeks n India. This small hotel is not fancy, but is clean with hot water and air conditioning. It is back off the main road, so is quiet, and is a great location for seeing the sites and shopping in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

we stayed in yatri house because of the positive reviews on this website. we found a nice and clean place, with nice garden, but nothing more. we got a ground floor room and the ac didn't work and at night we could hear the stuff talking on the phone very loud. for 5000 rs. that the place charge you can stay in a 5 stars hotel in delhi and it's going to be for sure much more nice . the next day in delhi we stayed at delhi bed & breakfast which was much nicer for 3500 rs.

Room Tip: get a higher room then the ground floor, it has to be more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are comfortable, the area quiet yet close in to everything you need. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

After som hectic weeks in India we where about to head back home. The last two days where spent in Delhi at Yatri House. It was such a pleasure to arrive there. Quiet and a bit away from the crazyness but still very central. It is right by a metro station which makes it very easy to get around town. They have a little garden and the breakfast is huge. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
At 5000 rupies a night for a double room it is a bit on the pricey side compared to rest of India but we found it worth it.
I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Address: 3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 806 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yatri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yatri House to your Saves list