We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yatri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yatri House
3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Pahar Ganj)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 785 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

we stayed in yatri house because of the positive reviews on this website. we found a nice and clean place, with nice garden, but nothing more. we got a ground floor room and the ac didn't work and at night we could hear the stuff talking on the phone very loud. for 5000 rs. that the place charge you can stay in a 5 stars hotel in delhi and it's going to be for sure much more nice . the next day in delhi we stayed at delhi bed & breakfast which was much nicer for 3500 rs.

Room Tip: get a higher room then the ground floor, it has to be more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
110
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The rooms are comfortable, the area quiet yet close in to everything you need. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

After som hectic weeks in India we where about to head back home. The last two days where spent in Delhi at Yatri House. It was such a pleasure to arrive there. Quiet and a bit away from the crazyness but still very central. It is right by a metro station which makes it very easy to get around town. They have a little garden and the breakfast is huge. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
At 5000 rupies a night for a double room it is a bit on the pricey side compared to rest of India but we found it worth it.
I would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Located just west of Paharganj. Very pleasant and very quiet place (it is on a minor sidestreet off Panchkuian Marg a short ways northwest of Ramakrishna Ashram Marg metro station). Nice garden / courtyard. A good breakfast, internet, and one transfer (well executed) included in the price. Rooms have some heat and are clean, but are quite modest for the price. However, unless quiet is very, very important to you, it is significantly if not spectacularly overpriced; we decided that quiet was worth it while we were trying to work through a 10 1/2 hour time difference-worth of jet lag, but not once we were acclimated to India time. A minor irritation was that, upon arriving at the usual ungodly hour, they insisted on taking our passports, and refused to return them until much later in the morning. I do not sleep well without my passport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We recently booked this hotel by email from the UK for our first three nights after arrival in Delhi with a taxi collection from the airport included in the cost. All went well and we found the accommodation satisfactory, particularly as it was centrally located close to a metro station and in a very quiet private road. Staff were friendly and helpful serving breakfast in a pleasant little courtyard. The clean room was a good size but nothing special and without style. On reflection we realised that the price we were charged was high compared to the other hotels we stayed at (including another one in Delhi where we stayed at the end of our tour of Rajasthan) .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

To be picked up from the airport at crack of dawn and put straight into our room at about 7am was a huge weight off my mind when we arrived in Delhi. We were able to get a few hours sleep before braving the streets of Delhi. This we got at no extra charge which we thought was very reasonable. We were very pleased that Yiatri house, although being central and ideally located, was infact so well set back from the main road that it was lovely and quiet. This in itself was a relief (if you've been to India you will know what I mean!).
We only met Sanjay (the owner) on our last day and found him to be very easy to talk to and very helpful and very amenable.
Although the room and bathroom were clean enough, the electrics were from the arc with power socket hanging off the wall and we were worried about turning on the bedside lamps in particular.
Nice, huge TV on the wall, for those that want and good free wireless internet access was great (only 2 of our other hotels ever charged for this so not uncommon).
Beds in India are nearly always hard, with sheets and blankets. However Yiatri house had the best soft pillows of any place we stayed in 3 weeks travelling.
Our room overlooked the little courtyard where breakfast was served. It was possible to hear people outside but by then we were up already.
Breakfast was nice. Staff very accommodating. One guy slept in the 'lounge' next to entrance and had to wake up every time someone arrived or left in the night. However was nice to know that we were safe indoors! This guy recommended a superb restaurant (Malahotras) for take away, but we decided to brave the streets (to check it was ok) and found it to be the best food we had in Delhi. We made a b-line for it on our return.
Yiatri House is very basic with no frills (much more 'guest house' than 'hotel'). Reasonably comfortable and we felt very at home there. It was easy to find our way from/back to as well.
The reason we did not return at the end of our holiday was that for 5000 rupees (for a double), it was very expensive compared to much better and cheaper hotel accommodation we subsequently found very easily. However for first time in Delhi it's probably ideal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

If Hiltonia is not your scene, Yatri House (yes, it IS a house) is the perfect staging post between full-on India and the rest of the world. It provides the perfect oasis of calm when either arriving (they whisk you safely from the airport) or as a chance to regain your composure and finish off your visit prior to flying out again. It has always been a great place, but recently the standard of attentiveness to detail has been taken up one more notch; the towels were perfectly presented in the bathroom, there was the sense that the cleaning was bordering on fanatical! In short; it was an absolute pleasure to return to. Added bonus; eat the food with complete confidence! I don't often say that...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yatri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatri House

Also Known As:
Yatri House Hotel
Yatri House Hotel New Delhi
Address: 3/4 Punchkuin Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 785 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yatri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yatri House to your Saves list