We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncourt Hotel Yatri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Suncourt Hotel Yatri to your Saves list
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/33, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you're looking for a budget hotel in Karol Bagh area, I would recommend the Suncourt Hotel Yatri. While it's definitely not luxurious, it offers all the services many travellers want, eg, room service, minibar, free wifi, tourist advice, taxi, breakfast, hundreds of tv channels, etc.

Some positives:

- All staff were VERY helpful and friendly

- My room was clean, and relatively large for 3-star hotel

- Free wifi

Some negatives:

- Bedding: Mattress and pillows were very hard. And the one sheet was not enough to keep me warm. So I slept poorly.

-My room had a stench of mothballs. I got rid of this by opening the windows, but then the street noise became quite loud.

But if you're willing put up with these small inconveniences in order to save a few rupees, then this hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel.
You liked the helpful & friendly staff. room was good clean large. Wi-Fi was free
You found pillow hard & single sheet was not sufficient for you. Sir, if you had informed room service they would have changed your pillow & given extra sheets.
It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we take special care.But in your case we are sorry that we missed to understand your needs.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring to us as.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    63
    19
    7
    12
See reviews for
45
50
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first stay in Delhi (21-25th Jan), and we were a little apprehensive about what we would find....
Our worries were misplaced with this Hotel though. For a charge of 650 Rupees we were collected from the airport which was great as I had heard stories or many Hotels offering this service and not turning up! We were in room 303 which was a pleasant room with a very comfortable bed, hot water and a great range of channels on the satellite TV. The Staff were very hospitable and helpful and the food was great - we especially liked the Malai Kofta & Makhani Dhal. Breakfast was Buffet style and room service 24hrs. The location just slightly away from the centre was fairly peaceful, For Delhi, and is ideally placed for the Metro. Free Wi-Fi and internet access was also useful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You liked the pick-up facility
You have liked the rooms & comfortable beds . You liked our hospitable staff .
You also liked the food. You also liked the location near metro.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring to us a 'GREAT HOTEL"
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked the first 3 nights in Delhi at the Sun Court Yatri after seeing some positive reviews on line. We got there at 4am and the concierge allowed us for a very early check in, which was nice of him, however the room we were given on the ground floor was extremely humid, the bed sheets damp and the window gave to a side street where dogs gathered to bark furiously at each other and car fumes made it impossible to keep it open to air the room. Bathroom was ok, the hot water took a bit to come out and it was positioned in such a way that towels could get wet very easily. After spending 1 and half nights in the “swamp” we were finally moved to a room on the third floor much bigger and brighter and above all, less humid than the first but still cold. We stayed there at the end of December and temperatures are lower so make sure you ask for a heater. This room was better but there were holes in the bathroom and drafts coming from the outside wall where the AC was placed. The breakfast room is on the lower ground floor and it looks kind of morgueish with the neon lights and the tables scattered around in random order. The terrace restaurant is quite a nice surprise, with a nice view of the neighborhood from the top floor. The food was not bad, we had chana dal and some eggs, but it was tasty and freshly prepared. Overall the SCY is an ok place to stay, provided you get a room on an upper floors, but this seem to be the case all over India. Staff was nice although a bit pushy for tips, also the day we checked out they ran to the room to make sure we were not leaving without paying for snacks or drinks. We actually forgot two clementines in the room. Internet is free of charge even though it’s not always working and staff tend to stand right behind you to see what you’re looking up on the web. They’re just curious, be polite and ask for some privacy. Given a choice I probably would not go stay there again, cause I got sick from the first two days spent in the swamp room, but I am sure there are far worst places in Delhi than the SCY.

Room Tip: always ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel.
You have liked the roof top restaurant. YOU have also praised the food quality.
You also liked the rooms in upper floor. You have praised the staff to be polite & helpful.
You also enjoyed free internet. Some times there is a problem but it is not due to any of our mistake but from the server side.
You also praised the staff for allowing early check in at 4 am. Our check in time is 12 noon. When we give room at 4 am we charge one day room tariff. But we did not charge you any amount.
But We are very sorry for some inconvenience u had to face in our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are sorry to know that you were not happy with some issues in our hotel.
I want to explain my side of views.
You traveled in winters. It is very cold at that time & our hotel is not centrally heated. Because of cold you felt humid & dampness. During this time we do provide heater in every room.
Yes in India there are lot of street dogs in every city. We do our best to shoo them away from our hotel.
I personally checked bathroom of room u stayed but i could not see any holes. Our bathrooms are well equipped with latest fittings. How there can be hole in the bathroom.
Please give your name ,date of stay & room number to be sure that i have checked the correct room.
Pls do not call the breakfast room as morgueish. There is a large hall & small buffet room in lower ground portion. The tables are placed in order but some times tour leaders take a meeting in the hall & every person shifts table chair as per their convenience.
You need not pay tips to any staff. I have enquired from my staff but they all denied asking tip from you.
The stewards duty is to give bill at the reception. All payments are accepted at reception only. He must be running to make sure that he has deposited the bill otherwise it is deducted from his salary.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have done in the past.
I also want to mention here that i am unable to understand why you feel that in India every thing is not upto the mark. I can understand that your country is a developed one & we are a developing country but still we can give good service. Also you should take into account the difference in price for the same service. Our country is very cheap in service costs.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul + Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Delhi has a reputation which often proceeds it!
The Sun Court Yatri Hotel pleasantly surprised us..
Good stuff..
-Really nice staff..front desk particularly helpful
-Good quality food with no 'after-effects'
-Near (5 mins) to Metro @ Karol Bagh
-K B (or the area where the Hotel is) is a bit more laid back, than crazy other places we could mention!
-Free Wi-Fi + use of hard line Internet
-Free use of a safe in room
Bad bits..
-None really...We will be back if visiting Delhi
Dhyanabad
D+T from UK (there late Jan 2013)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You have liked the rooms, our service . You liked our staff. You have remarked "NICE STAFF"
You have liked the location .Near Metro. You have also liked free Wi-fi & free usage of safe.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.

Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the Suncourt Yatri twice on my recent visit. The first room I got was on the ground floor. It was small and basic and very noisy next to the reception area and with staff answering phones and conversations they have.
But this fundamentally improved when I was moved on the second day of my stay. And on my return visit.
The room on the second day was great. The room on my return visit was fantastic.
The time the staff were extremely helpful and friendly; expecially the 2 gentlemen taking turns to run reception. They could not do enough to help us and make out holiday great.
Walking distance to subway is convenient.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
You have liked the rooms, our service . You liked our helpful & friendly staff specially 2 guys at front desk.
We will strive to improve our services even further and we will make sure that you keep patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past.
Thank you for referring to us a 'EXCELLENT STAFF & GREAT SERVICE'
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a good hotel to stay if you are on a budget. It's good value for money considering the hotel prices in Delhi. The front desk are very helpful if you need advice or help with arranging your trip.
We had dinner here the first night as we arrived late, the restaurant it self was just an unattractive room in the basement but the food was very good.
Breakfast wasn't great but as expected for the price, we didn't bother having breakfast the other two mornings.
Unfortunately the rooms we had were quite dirty (we were travelling as 2 couples), the floor was rather filthy and all surfaces were dirty. There was hot water in the shower but one had to let the water run 5-10 min before it got warm. The bathtub looked very old, it was cracked and the base was very bouncy. One had to be careful not to loose ones balance while showering due to the floor bouncing if you moved the slightest ! The bed linen we had was very dirty (large staines that looked like blood) and had several holes. The staff changed these when requested and these were decent.
I have given a rating of 4 despite the uncleanliness as it is a budget hotel after all and the location is good with walking distance to the metro and the service is pretty good. It would be nice if more effort was taken in cleaning the rooms and keeping unstained clean bedlinen. Also the bath tubs could be replaced with ones that have a firm base !! I would consider staying here on my next visit if these changes were made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt hotel yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are sorry to know that you had some issues regarding cleanliness & bath tub during your stay at our hotel.
You liked the location. the tariff was good value for money for you. You have praised the service of staff & you have specially mentioned about the helpful front desk staff.
I want to assure u that we never use stained bed sheets. The rooms r cleaned every day. But still we respect your comments & will be more careful in future.
Regarding the bathtub i admit they are old. We are in the process of removing all bathtubs.

We will strive to improve our house keeping even further and we will make sure that you keep
patronizing our hotel as you have been doing in the past. Thank you for referring us as 'Good budget hotel'
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your reviews.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great service from Santhosh at front desk and all other staff. Rooms are clean with room service prompt and attentive. I showed up very late for a 2 night stay in Delhi, we got checked in very quickly in to our room with wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was okay. But the room service food was excellent and made to order.

The location is very close to Karol Bargh market, where you can spend full days shopping for deals. And it's also right next to the metro, which is better than driving in Delhi.

I would stay here again. Only complaint was the cold when I visited Delhi, temps went down very close to 0 degrees and the small heater provided had to work super hard.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akt1957, Owner at Suncourt Hotel Yatri, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Greetings from The Suncourt Hotel Yatri
We are thankful to you for writing a good review of our hotel. It is only the pleasure of pleasing our customers that keeps us going and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for referring our hotel as 'EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY" it gives encouragement to our staff. We are happy that you liked our PROMPT service, good room service ,clean rooms, location near market & metro,roof top restaurant & you liked the food.
Our entire team is very thankful to you for your words of encouragement.

Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suncourt Hotel Yatri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncourt Hotel Yatri

Address: 8A/33, W.E.A. Channa Market | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 608 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suncourt Hotel Yatri 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 well furnished and decorated rooms We have 2 restauramts with 24 hours service We have 2 Conference halls All rooms are Air conditioned All rooms have attached bath with 24 hours running hot water All rooms have tea kettle and mini-bar All rooms have Refrigerator and Lcd TV All rooms have free high speed wi-fi internet Travel desk with 24 hours service 24 hours full power back up Doctor on call Same day laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suncourt Hotel Yatri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncourt Hotel Yatri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.