We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Godwin Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Godwin Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Godwin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8502 / 41 Arakashan Road | Paharganj New Delhi, New Delhi 110055, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 592 hotels in New Delhi
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Deliciously comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Helpful staff. Big rooms with amazingly comfortable beds (especially after a long flight!) Delicious food in the rooftop restaurant. We had a but of trouble finding the exact location initially but overall a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    204
    80
    49
    41
See reviews for
47
197
82
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed twice at Grand Godwin during my last Asia trip . It's well located a 10 min walk from the main trainstation . Room was clean , only the breakfast was avarage , i do prefer real coffee instead of self-to-make-Nescafe-coffee ...... Staff were friendly and helpfull . Will stay there again if i ever revisit Delhi/India

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a night before a trip to Rajasthan and a night after our trip at this hotel in Delhi - we were very disappointed with the service of the staff in the hotel.

The room itself was very nice especially for the price paid for the room - there is a nice big bed, a good shower, and is fairly clean.

The staff on another matter is awful - the website we booked on indicated free airport pickups. When we arrived at the airport there was no taxi and when we called the hotel they said just to pay for a normal taxi as the driver had left! When checking in I overheard them speaking to another customer at the airport telling them the same thing so I have come to the conclusion they do not do any airport pick ups!

We wanted to book a driver to take us around Rajasthan and we were quoted a price which was double compared to one of the local companies in the area. When the assistant manager of the hotel found out we didn't book the taxi through them he made us feel bad about it and kept saying what a bad decision we had made and will regret it later on - no customer should be made to feel this way and I was very disappointed to here these comments!

As we had already booked the hotel on our return from Rajasthan we had no option but to stay another night at the hotel. We had to get a flight very early the next morning and we asked the reception staff several times the night before to make sure we had a taxi booked for us - the next morning there was no taxi and we had to wait almost 20minutes for them to arrange someone to drop us to the airport which was extremely frustrating.

Overall the hotel is in a decent location and fairly close to the main train station however you are paying a lot (especially for India) so I think there are better options. The room is nice though and if you just want to get a good night sleep then it's not a bad option. Finally if you are looking to book any travel I would recommend getting quotes from the local companies as in my option the hotel offers a very over priced service and tries to make out you will get screwed over with the local companies which is a lie!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My room wreaked of a revolting smell. The room attendant tried on many occasions to use air freshener but nothing helped. Even more disgusting was the washroom had fleas.

The hotel manager tried to rip me off by over charging me for a Taj Mahal day trip. The saving grace was that I checked in the night before and was offered a lower rate by the night manager for the same excursion. Definitely look around before committing to the first offer.

The day tour driver was just as sneaky. He took me to all the sites closer to the hotel which took up most of the day. I was left with no option to get to the sites further out of the city. Make sure that you indicate to the driver that you would like to see the sites away from the city first.

The Taj Mahal tour guide was a piece of work too. He tried to rip me off again by saying there was only one exit to the Taj Mahal which could take hours to get through. If I agreed to tip his "friend"1300 rupees he would get me through faster. I had to squeeze through a line that locals were queued in which was embarrassing and awkward since I had to shove my way through and the women around me were upset. Luckily, I didn't have to pay the friend until the end of the visit during which, I found out there are multiple exits throughout.

The area isn't great but close to the railway station. I would recommend finding a hotel in Connaught Place which is close by and a much nicer part of time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been to India three times and this time a friend recommended I stay in this area. I usually stay at Karol Bagh and was apprehensive when we first arrived at the hotel.

Arrived a few hours before check in but the reception didn't have a big deal out of it. They checked us in and we waited approximately 20 minutes while the rooms were being cleaned and then we were up in our room. The room wasn't too big but it was nice and comfortable. The free wifi and complimentary breakfast was a huge plus. The wifi didn't work all the time but when it did it was great. My only issue with the room has to be the bathroom. When you shower the entire toilet gets wet as does the entire area. I asked for a shower curtain so at least the toilet wouldn't get wet but they didn't have it. If they put up a glass door or a shower curtain I'd give it an extra star.

The security guy and the door man were helpful in getting us autos and bargaining with them. During my stay I was told frequently the area was not a good one but be careful and use common sense. I personally preferred it over Karol Bagh because its well lit. The road has hundreds of hotels so you're likely to run into a fellow tourist which was a relief. Having the hotels all lit up at night gave me a sense of security as opposed to Karol Bagh.

I had a pleasant experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have never written a bad review before but I feel compelled the inform other travellers on my bad experience. We had arranged for a airport pickup taxi on the day of my arrival. However we waited more than one hour before the driver showed up. In the midst of waiting, I called up the hotel manager to ask them on the status of the pickup, but i was told to keep waiting. When the driver did arrive, he claimed that he was waiting at a different gate all along, at a different location as stated in my email communication to the hotel. While at the hotel, the hotel staff insisted that I pay the parking charges despite the fact that the driver went to a different arrival gate. The service of the hotel staff in Grand Godwin is downright appalling as well. During check in, one of the evening staff who requested our passports for verification actually THREW IT across the table back at my partner nonchalantly afterwards. In addition, the reception staff were never helpful as well. When asked on how to reach any destination, the reception staff bluntly told me to just take a auto rickshaw and then simply ignored us thereafter. Service aside, the facilities of the hotel was okay. Wifi is not available in the rooms but only in the reception. The doorbell of the room is electronically controlled however it kept going off on its own. The staff dismissed it as a minor technical error, but note the doorbell could go off while you sleep too. Overall this is a horrible hotel to stay in. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the main road due to the noise level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After 17 days in other parts of India, we ended up at here before leaving for our return to the US.
I was happy with the contemporary decor, the cleaniness of the room, and the quietness of the building. The street is a little scary looking but no problems at all.

The service was excellent.

Room Tip: There is a very good restuarant at the next hotel down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Godwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Godwin Hotel

Address: 8502 / 41 Arakashan Road | Paharganj New Delhi, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#85 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Godwin Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Godwin, a 4-story luxury & budget hotel is nestled in the heart of Paharganj New Delhi India and 2 mins walk from the New Delhi Railway Station. The hotel offers excellent leisure facilities, online reservation, luxurious rooms, travel inn hotel, heritage hotel india, cheap travel packages, travel to India's heritage places, guest house, deluxe rooms for conference events, Bed and breakfast, food bars, Tours guides to Agra, Jaipur, shimla, first class facilities rooms with internet, cabs, shopping malls, high standards of comfort and excellent rooms for business & leisure travellers for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Godwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Godwin
Godwin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Godwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.