We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous old style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Eros Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Red Hot Deal
Ranked #23 of 631 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Glamorous old style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

After spending nights mainly in low cost hotels while backpacking, I wanted to book a luxury hotel for me and my boyfriend for the New Year. I found a good deal from the Internet for two nights at Shangri-La's Eros -hotel. I was a bit afraid of how the staff would react and treat us, because we looked quite weary... They welcomed us very friendly, and treated us well. The hotel is very fancy, and I can imagine that it has been one of the most luxurious hotels in the world back in the days. Our room was spacious, clean and decorated nicely. The hotel has a good location, but walking around was quite difficult because of the traffic. We mainly used taxis for moving around, but remembered to be very careful with them. You always need to make sure that a taxi has a working meter and it's legal, otherwise you will get into trouble... On the New Year's Eve we decided to stay in our hotel room and order food & wine from the room service. The food was pretty good though the price didn't meet the value. We also tried the hotel's buffet dinner & breakfast, which were definitely worth the money. We enjoyed our stay in the hotel, and I can recommend it especially for couples because of the romantic atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for recommending and choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi as your preferred hotel and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.


We are also happy to learn that you appreciated the warmth extended by our staff, found the hotel centrally located and tastefully decorated with clean and comfortable rooms and enjoyed the breakfast and dinner buffet at our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    476
    120
    51
    29
See reviews for
248
360
121
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on family leisure for the wedding function.
Had a challenge at airport transfer where was left stranded with the driver as the hotel car could not take the luggage, but luckily got another car.
At arrival due to hotel being full could not get rooms on same floor.
We were disappointed with these few things and bought to the front desk attention, the answer was nothing can be done tonight ( which we understand) but no assurance given for tomorrow as well.
Bought this to the attention of duty manager and they handled and offered room move next day, which was efficient.
Had a suite reserved and hotel gave use surprise cake and flowers in room as wedding gift.
Steam in suite room is good and balcony in suite room is worth the extra amount on a sunny day, we had a great afternoon tea at balcony.
Club lounge is good and staff is helpful, great view again.
Door staff was extremely helpful and always remembered our name and car.
Breakfast at cafe uno is very good and the spread is nice - a good touch is the bread man going around tables, again staff is helpful also.
Even dinner buffet is also very nice.
Spa and salon staff is very helpful.

Hotel is in central Delhi so easily accessible with taxi and takes only 30-40 mins from airport provided traffic is not in its peak hours.
Good shopping options - staff recommended to try Khan market which was nice plus some south delhi malls were also good options.
Recommend to get a room with club access and suite with balcony - keep in mind to get a room with hotel pool or garden view as the other side is construction site and no view at all.

Hotel is old and rooms size is not so big.
Would say a bit dated and to certain extend hardware is not up to shangrila style.
But staff helpfulness is good, when hotels Director operations heard about my concerns he wrote to me and which was a good touch.
Over all a good experience at end and would return to hotel.
Staff is helpful in hotel which makes it a good hotel.

At times you might find staff over helpful, but I believe it's indian way of customer interactions so don't mind.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright feedback with us.


We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused with regard to the experience with your airport transfer and room preference on the first day of your check-in. We are pleased to know that you appreciated the efforts of our Duty Manager in handling the matter efficiently.
We are also happy to learn that you found our suite well appointed with facilities such as a steam room and a balcony to relax.


We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our Horizon Club Lounge, relished the breakfast and dinner buffet spread at Cafe Uno, appreciated the proactive and helpful services of our staff at the Spa. I am glad to know you appreciated the concern shown by the Director of Operations of the hotel.


The central locality of the hotel made it convenient for you to have an easy access to all the popular shopping areas such as Khan Market and the upscale Malls in south Delhi.


Your other constructive observations about the hotel have been duly noted and will be reviewed on priority.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, good security, comfortable beds but the hotel needs a facelift. The carpets are worn and not clean. many areas in hotel could use updating. The restaurant for breakfast has very good variety and choice but feels like a cafeteria.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright feedback with us.


Your constructive observations about the room size, the hotel decor, our bathroom amenities and the breakfast spread at our All Day Dining restaurant Cafe Uno have been duly noted and shall be reviewed on priority. Our apologies if you have felt that we fell short of your expectations on this stay. Do send us you contact details for us to discuss the observations with you personally.


We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our Oriental restaurant at the hotel and may we assure you that our restaurant pricing is at par with other Food and Beverage outlets at our competition hotels, however we will still review it on priority and take immediate action wherever required.


In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.


Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Seems a bit worn/old compared to other Shangri-La hotels where I have stayed. The breakfast restaurant is very crowded in the mornings and it felt more like a cafeteria than a restaurant. The food was decent, without being excellent.Its good place to stay .but its not cheap and the food is not that much .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest, 

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. 

Your constructive observations about our All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno and the hotel have been well noted and will be reviewed on priority. 

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

good nice awsm hotel i took a romantic bliss package with executive suite , suite is a tiny suite, everything is nice but service is very bad ,i had my breakfast lunch and diiner(dinner with my guests) at hotel and i kept on finding the waiters ,staff is jst not bothered ...........i kept on searching them for small small things. it was totaly unexpected. Service needs a huge improvement and i even complained to one of the senior manager as well.Executive suite DVD Player not working!!!!!!small small things not expected,rooms should be chkd before guest arrives!!! Bell boy asked to help in the lift for swiping the card in the lift as my card was not working ,he jst ignored and went away in another lift(THIS INCIDENT WAS A SHOCKER)!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest, 

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to know liked the overall experience at the hotel and found the "Romantic Bliss" package very attractive.  

Your constructive feedback about our service standards has been well noted and shall be taken up as a training need going forward. We appreciate your frank and forthright observations.

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi. 

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

When you stay here, make sure to meet Lucky during your morning meal. He is a real asset to the hotel. You are close to shopping and the hotel also has activities to make you stay more enjoyable. Do not over tip in India and do not expect change back.

Room Tip: Bottled water is provided in the rooms and I highly recommend that you only use bottled water in Ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest, 

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you found the hotel centrally located within close proximity to the popular shopping areas such as Connaught Place and enjoyed our hospitality and services. 

Your wonderful comments have been shared with the entire team and especially with our service associate Lucky, the Breadman at the All Day Dining restaurant - Cafe Uno. 

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi. 

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is very good, stayed in a suite on 14th floor, rooms have very different shapes not my types, the staff is very courteous. Buffet Dinner at the cafe Uno was a complete let down but I believe they have a good Thai/Chinese restaurant.

Booked the place as none of the Taj properties was available.

Not disappointing though but a bit on the lower side to Taj, in Delhi.



Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farhat J, General Manager at Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest, 

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi and for sharing your frank and forthright feedback with us. We are pleased to learn that you found the hotel's standards exemplary and our staff courteous and responsive. 

Your constructive observations about the rooms and the dinner buffet have been noted and will be reviewed on priority. 

In case your travels bring you back to New Delhi, we hope you will choose to stay with us again at Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi. 

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shangri-La's Eros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Eros Hotel

Address: 19 Ashoka Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110 001, India (Formerly Shangri-La Hotel, New Delhi)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#12 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#13 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Eros Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are looking for a hotel nestled in the heart of the city, Shangri-La's - Eros Hotel, New Delhi is well appointed to suit your needs. Situated in Connaught Place the hotel is in close proximity to most of the popular tourist attractions such as India Gate, National Museum, Humayun's Tomb, Rashtrapati Bhavan and government offices like North Block, South Block and the government ministries. Offering 320 luxuriously furnished guest rooms and suites, the rooms on the higher floor feature panoramic views of the city, which are also visible from the Horizon Club Lounge. Spoilt for choice the guests are presented with a variety of sumptuous cuisines at the All Day Dining restaurant - Tamra which offers extensive spreads of Italian, Continental, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Thai. Equipped with state of the art recreational facilities the Health Club and The Spa at Shangri-La are designed to pamper the business and leisure travelers with a host of exciting therapies and fitness activities to relax and rejuvenate the mind and body. Overlooking the lush manicured terrace, the Shangri-La Ballroom is an ideal venue for important meetings and banquet celebrations to cater to your business requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Eros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri La Delhi
Shangri-La Hotel New Delhi
Shangrila Hotel
Hotel Shangri La New Delhi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Eros Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.